We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Salzburg!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Stein

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Stein to your Saves list
Hotel Stein
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Giselakai 3-5, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Burnsville, MN
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Salzburg!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

This was one of our favorite hotels on our 2 week trip of Europe. This is a very nice, very clean, upscale hotel. The rooms are elegant: wood floors, rich colors (browns, silvers, purples), heavy velvet drapes, updated tile bathrooms. The windows are double paned- even though we were on the second floor we barely heard the street noise below.

The highlight of this hotel is the rooftop restaurant. It offers an AMAZING view of the city. During our one night stay, we went up there for a late afternoon snack, evening cocktails, and morning breakfast. We just could not get over the view!!! The breakfast spread was one of the most diverse, gourmet breakfasts we had on our entire trip. The coffee was excellent (this is coming from a former 10+ year Starbucks barista!).

The location of the hotel is very convenient. It is a short walk from Mozart's birthplace, the fortress, shopping, churches, etc.

I would ABSOLUTELY recommend a stay at the Hotel Stein!!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the river! Doesn't need to be on a higher floor to have a quiet room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    107
    58
    55
    54
See reviews for
45
159
24
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Stayed in Hotel Stein for one night in September while on business in Austria. It was good.

Rooms are clean and functional - couldn't really find any fault.

No free WIFI in rooms is a disadvantage although it is available in the lobby.

Breakfast was ok - nothing fancy but grand.

Lack of parking at the hotel was a disadvantage.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights, booked it solely for roof terrace and location..roof terraced closed 2 days out of 3 for private functions..no provisions made for residence...hotel room very small and extremely dark and smell of cigarette smoke...Staff very young and didnt seem to know about anything we asked...no parking or no shuttle service to parking no help with bags or no toileteries in bathroom..no tea or coffee facilities in room...Bar staff very rude we waited 40minutes for a drink..only interested if you were drinking magnums of champagne

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

This was the worst value room we have ever stayed in. Unhelpful staff verging on the unpleasant - no-one showed us to the room which was poorly sign-posted or offered to help with luggage. No lift from ground floor. Room offered two basins as well as shower in the bathroom but only one bar of soap. No shower cap. No refrigerator in which to keep water cool. Breakfast on terrace had good view but nothing special about the buffet. On this trip we stayed in 8 other hotels, all of which included free wi-fi. This one wanted 3 euros an hour. Access by car difficult and only parking offered was 500m away and cost 13 euros a day. Wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Expect very European service in the bar and restaurant -- nobody works for tips, so service is not the best. If you want good service at a table, you need to shell out a lot of euro at a higher-end restaurant. Great central location to the old city and shopping. Breakfast is good, drinks are good, views are terrific. Parking is NOT guaranteed - they will charge you for a parking spot but once you get to the lot, you may not find a free spot. They do not enforce towing like the signs say they do, so you might waste an evening just trying to get an alternative parking spot and getting the charge refunded. Save yourself the trouble and ask to park at the Mirabell Garage (no in/out privelages, but you're guaranteed a spot); the staff is younger and sometimes too cool for service, but it's a great hotel for it's location and charm.

Room Tip: top floor rooms beneath the bar are relatively quiet. only occasion hear the booming bass from djs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

no private hotel parking garage, no valet service, no bath amenities in bathroom other than shower gel and shampoo, moldy smell in the bedroom. wardrobes were dusty and the curtains had cigarette holes. don't take a room at the 6th floor as you hear the clubbing music and the after cleaning process from the rooftop bar. check out if your safe and door are able to get locked before you decide to leave the room and check if you have warm water! the only place to be is the wonderful terrace with a stunning view over Salzburg!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

I did not stay at this Hotel, l visited the Rooftop Terrace after a local told us to pop up there and get some lovely views of Salzburg over a cocktail.
Reading through all the other reviews, there is a common theme here about the staff.
They were rude, so unhelpful and completely vague.
Once we were seated they never came back to us so we had to keep getting their attention, once we got their attention, our food was ordered, only to arrive with half missing. Getting their attention again was a chore.
It is overpriced, and definately not worth sitting through the service that you could get better at McDonalds.
Very dissapointing as the rest of Salzburg was an amazing experience and people are more then helpful.

Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Stein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stein

Address: Giselakai 3-5, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Stein 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design Hotel in great location, right at the main bridge of Salzburg in the historic city center. The festival halls, as well as the congress centre are only a few minutes away. Stylish rooms and 7th floor roof top terrace with great view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Stein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stein Hotel Salzburg
Hotel Stein Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Stein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.