We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good But Not Outstanding” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cityhotel Trumer Stube

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Cityhotel Trumer Stube to your Saves list
Cityhotel Trumer Stube
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Bergstrasse 6, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 59 Salzburg B&B and Inns
Seattle
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Good But Not Outstanding”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Our second visit to Trumer Stube did not match our first experience (which was outstanding). The hotel is under "new" management, and trying very hard. I'm unsure when the management switch occurred.

Hotel is in a great location - walking distance to all sights. Salzburg lodging is expensive, and the room price was reasonable (Extra for breakfast @ 7.50 Euros for our visit; see below). Location and reasonable price are the two big pluses for this place.

Other things to know: linens and towels fine but furnishings feel worn. Hotel has no A/C and rooms are dark. Staff are pleasant; some were reluctant to speak any English but manager spoke English well. Plenty of restaurants nearby. Parking is not on site - you use the Mirabell Parking garage at 15 Euros/night (with a 3 Euro hotel discount). If you're using your car as we did, this can be a hassle... WiFi was fine.

On the negative side: we had a single, very disappointing breakfast experience. The fresh milk was sour (really sour, not just left out for a few hours sour). The two staff members on duty were busy and chose to ignore us, so we were not offered hot beverages. Instead of using napkins, tongs or gloves, staff used their bare hands to place and arrange foods at the buffet for guests, as well as wash dishes and remove dirty dishes from tables to restocking the food buffet (no hand washing in between activities). A Rick Steves' group was eating at the same time and had mostly filled the small breakfast room; the staff was very concerned about them. After we had loaded up our plates and returned to the table, we discovered the sour milk on our cereal and in our drinking glasses - yuck!!! We should have walked out right then. Instead, we ate lightly and carefully with non-milk options for this one breakfast, and afterwards spoke to staff and voiced our complaints about the meal, including that one of us felt ill from a big mouthful of sour milk. The manager apologized profusely and "refunded" 7.50 Euros for one meal, but still insisted on charging breakfast for the two others in our group. After this lousy experience, we felt that the entire breakfast should have been erased from our account (we ended up going to another cafe for breakfast anyway). However, the manager insisted that we pay for two of the breakfasts (15 Euros) at the end of our stay when we paid the bill. We were disappointed with her non-negotiable stance on this point, but oh well.

For the next Salzburg visit, I'm unsure if we would stay at Trumer Stube. My plan is to read Trumer Stube reviews very carefully and consider other hotel options as well.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    79
    28
    10
    13
See reviews for
79
102
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife, daughter and I spent two nights in this lovely hotel. The facility and staff met all our expectations. We really liked this hotel overall.

Pluses:
Breakfasts were extra but were very good, lots of muscli, breads, cheeses, meat, eggs, sausage and coffees, teas, cappuccinos etc. Very friendly wait staff.
Elevators and stairs make it easy to get to your room, we usually used the stairs but the elevators worked well.
Helpful staff at the desk who spoke good English.
Good neighborhood for running, a riverside running/biking path is nearby.
The room and bathroom were clean and comfortable.
Excellent location near the castle, lots of good restaurants,bars and shopping.
An excellent farmers market about three blocks away.

Minuses:
The hotel is located on a restricted traffic street, easy to located on a GPS, but barriers stop you about a block away. We parked illegally (no problem) and found the hotel, know locally as CityHotel, not Trumer Stube. Staff may be able to provide key codes to lower barriers so you can load and unload in front of the hotel. Ask in advance. Parking lot conveniently located three short blocks away.
A little noisy at night due to nearby bars, no problem with windows closed and earplugs in.

Room Tip: If you can get a room not facing the street it might be less noisy at night (a minor detail), ask at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at this hotel from Sept 12 till 14.
Probably because of rainy days my review is not so much optimistic.
Hands down- location is great- quite area and pretty close to everything (10 min- to Old city, 20 min- to Train Station). Stuff is friendly and helpful; breakfast (not included) is good.
But room (at least where we stayed) certainly is small and outdated. There is no fridge or coffee maker, some furniture (like our love seat) ASAP required to be replaced (or seriously cleaned if possible). Probably because of rainy summer/fall one can feel musty smell entering the room and as there is no AC one needs to keep your window (balcony door) opened to get rid of smell but adding more humidity at the same time (during the rain)
Not sure but maybe give it (hotel) 2-nd chance during sunny days?!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrightwood, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Beautifully located hotel with extremely friendly and knowledgable staff. The owner was exceptional as well. Comfortable, clean rooms. Good EU breakfast to start your day. Nice little discount if you pre book in advance. The owner helped us plan a nice tour of her country based on our time and needs. Needless to say It was "awesome" I would be happy to stay at this establishment again if ever in the Salzburg area again. This is a beautiful and scenic country

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

As other reviews have noted, the location of this hotel is what makes it so special. Driving into Salzburg is a bit harrowing, with all the construction and traffic. But once we parked at the Mirabell garage we did not need our car again. The hotel is on a lovely pedestrian sidestreet, away from the main traffic/touristy area, so we found it to be very quiet and peaceful. There are a couple of tables and chairs out in front of the hotel that are nice to relax in, as well as a cute beer pub a few steps down the street where we started each evening with an unusual beer. Yes, the rooms and bathrooms are small, but it didn't bother us because we spent very little time in our rooms. We had two rooms on the fourth floor, facing the back of the building so we had very quiet nights. It was a bit warm in Salzburg the first week of August when we were there, but opening the window helped, as well as the tabletop fan that was already provided. We liked that the hotel was small. It was easy to get in and out by elevator or stairs, and Vivienne and her team could provide more personal attention dealing with fewer people. We did run into a Rick Steve's group at breakfast, but it wasn't too large and we enjoyed meeting them and comparing notes. The breakfast was good, but we opted to try a neighborhood cafe on the second morning for a new experience. We walked all over Salzburg for two straight days and nights, and were glad for the ability to pop back to our room for a break or something we forgot. Just around the corner are numerous restaurants, shops, etc. Easy city to walk. Looking forward to a return trip.

Room Tip: rooms at back are quiet. We were on 4th floor. Get Salzburg card at hotel (wish we had--waited in lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

This hotel was in a great location, easy to get to sights throughout historic Salzburg. Its placement on a pedestrian street made it tough to navigate on foot with our luggage on the way in and out, so just be prepared for that.

We had the misfortune of being given one of the rooms on the top floor, which was very small and had slanted ceilings- good thing we are both short! If you are over five foot seven or so, you may be very uncomfortable in these top floor rooms. While everything was clean and nice, sleep was nearly impossible thanks to the 5am church bell chorus and the 6am street sweeper. We were out and about most of the time so the small size of the room and few amenities didn't bother us, but not being able to get a good night's sleep definitely knocks the rating down a bit.

Also, this hotel closes up the front desk and lobby around 8pm. If you will be returning later, don't forget the code to the front door or you'll be locked out!

Room Tip: Rooms 50 and 51 have low, slanted ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

You can't have it all. If you want a clean room with spotless bathroom and quality beds in the center of the city, on a small street with pubs beneath and the old city at 4 minutes distance, then you should accept the relatively small room's size and the separately charged breakfast (which was excellent in choice, quality & quantity).
If you check-in in the evening, the street is closed with a barrier but you can directly call the hotel clerk from the barrier toll, and she will give you the code. Better to take it in advance just in case.
There is a small fan in the room, we left the windows opened wide when we left for strolling in the evening, with the fan on the window to throw colder air in the room. We returned around midnight (since the hotel is so central, we felt safe to walk until late) and it was very pleasant inside.
A place to return.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cityhotel Trumer Stube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cityhotel Trumer Stube

Address: Bergstrasse 6, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cityhotel Trumer Stube 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cityhotel Trumer Stube reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trumer Stube Hotel
Trumer Stube Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cityhotel Trumer Stube, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.