We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly & super cozy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cityhotel Trumer Stube

Save Saved
You added Cityhotel Trumer Stube to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Cityhotel Trumer Stube
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Bergstrasse 6, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 59 Salzburg B&B and Inns
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly & super cozy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We were looking for a cute and small hotel, located centrally in Salzburg to stay for a couple of nights. What we found was fantastic service, a super friendly atmosphere and a really nice room. The breakfast simply is charming in this really nice breakfast room, the team there pays so much attention to details. And you step outside on a quiet old town street where you are right in the centre of Salzburg and can reach everything by foot. We will definitely come back!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    77
    24
    10
    13
See reviews for
70
95
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Decor is dated but everything is clean, the area is quiet and an easy walk to the altstadt. Wifi worked well. We arrived mid morning and the rooms were ready. Had to park in a public lot which is a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Rooms had fans, which was very helpful because it was warm. Hiccup at breakfast was the coffee machine wasn't working so we got a bit of a late start but were very apologetic and worked hard to make sure we had everything we needed/wanted for breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed one night recently at the Hotel Trumer Stube -- the inn keepers are very pleasant and kind and worked to make our stay enjoyable. They offer free Wifi and require that you pay in cash on departure.

The room was small but managed to fit 4 beds which was a good fit for our family. Hand soap and shower gel were provided, which we have learned is not always a given in Europe. The decor is definitely from grandma's house - everything from floral designs, to lace tablecloths and pink bathroom tiles with floral etchings. There is no A/C so you must sleep with the windows open -- and this is where it all went wrong for us. There are several bars/outdoor cafes within a few feet of the hotel. The party was in the street well into the night, then things quieted down for a bit -- and when the bars closed, we were treated to the drunken revelry of several folks on their way out. It was loud and obnoxious, even with earplugs. Once things quieted down (around 2:30 am) we were hopeful for a few hours of decent sleep but then the trash pick up came around 6:30 am... Unfortunately, that was followed by a 7 am sharp start of the heavy construction equipment about 30 feet from the hotel. In fact, the street was completely blocked while we were there - forcing us to pull in to drop luggage and then back out of the street (easily 100 yards) in reverse.

The breakfast was not included but could be purchased for 7.5 Euros -- it was standard continental sweet and salty stuff but lacked fresh fruit. The breakfast room is tiny so leave your backpack in your room until after breakfast. The location was great for the sights around Salzburg, especially Mirabell Gardens. A parking garage is not too far away and the hotel provides a small discount (about 5 Euros) so be sure to tell them if you drove.

Overall, I would stay here again -- if I could get a room off the street. If you are facing the street, you should perhaps just give up and go party with the locals -- Heaven knows we thought about that (but alas, were with the kiddos!) because you sure aren't going to get any sleep!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does NOT face the street - if you plan to do any sleeping, that is. Besides th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Great location for walking around the city. Our room was small but everything was very clean and quiet, small bathroom with lots of towels. Needed better lighting by the beds for nighttime reading. Very helpful staff, good breakfast for extra 7 Euros. Only problem we had was parking which was 13 Euros/day at nearby Mirabell Garage. We drove up to hotel, unloaded luggage, then had to drive through lengthy pedestrian zone to get back out of neighborhood and drive to garage. There was a street festival at the same time and we had to drive in between booths for food, drink and souvenirs and crowds of people, very embarassing.

Room Tip: We'd stay here again, but not when driving into Salzburg.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Hotal Trumer Stube was a great find. The location is super, on a quiet street 3-4 minutes
from the old quarter. New hotelier Vivienne will try her best to help you find the best restaurants,
etc. Eat at the Wasserfalls just around the corner!! The hotel is an older, small hotel very
well kept and clean. The breakfast is adequate. ..and the place is still affordable! i do recommend the Trumer Strube.One must know though that the desk closes for the night,
so it is critical to call ahead if running late after dark!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is a very pretty, well-kept hotel in a great location. It is within easy walking distance of practically everything, on a surprisingly quiet street. Even though my window faced the street and there is a popular alt rock club nearby, I was never disturbed by noise or rowdy patrons.

The room was fairly large, and quite comfortable, and the Wi-fi worked quite well. The staff are wonderful, friendly and helpful. I purchased a concert ticket through them at nearby Mirabell Palace, which was extremely convenient, since I had just arrived, I hadn't oriented myself to the city yet, and it was pouring rain.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Vivienne and her staff are incredibly helpful, and the hotel is in a great location just minutes from the river and old town. The rooms are nicely decorated, clean, and quiet. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cityhotel Trumer Stube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cityhotel Trumer Stube

Also Known As:
Trumer Stube Hotel
Trumer Stube Salzburg
Address: Bergstrasse 6, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cityhotel Trumer Stube 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Cityhotel Trumer Stube reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cityhotel Trumer Stube, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.