We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic 70s Themed hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cityhotel Trumer Stube

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cityhotel Trumer Stube to your Saves list
Cityhotel Trumer Stube
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Bergstrasse 6, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 60 Salzburg B&B and Inns
Billings, Montana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Classic 70s Themed hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This is an authentically themed 1970s hotel. The décor, the furnishings, the weird, like polyester sheets on the beds, the pink bathroom fittings are so faithful to the 70s you would think you had been transported back in time – they have got the theme, every detail so right. It was wonderful not to stay in one of those pre-packaged steel, glass and chrome hotels with their modern air con and sanitised toilet seats. This was a home from home (well, my grandparents home anyways). This hotel has such a 1970s homely feel to it – perfect for those themed getaways. The breakfast too had a real retro feel about it with lots of sugary pastries and pre-packed meats – so 70s – wonderful. We would come again and again to this wonderful piece of modern history. AS you Austrians would say, Wunderbar!.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    80
    28
    10
    13
See reviews for
79
106
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I'm going to write this review in my own language, as requested so kindly by Marianne :) I'll also provide a translation in English, with some further details.
Draga Marianne,
Familia noastra, compusa din cei cinci membri:Ana-Maria, Denisa, Elena, Clemansa si Victor(seful familiei) s-a simtit foarte bine in pensiunea ta romantica.Speram sa revenim cat de curand posibil.Orasul este minunat!Va iubim pe amandoua, mama si fiica.Sunteti minunate!Va dorim multa sanatate si fericire!
Multumim pentru tot,
Familia Enache


A most accurate translation would be that we really enjoyed this romantic hotel.It is centrally located, and almost all the touristic objectives are within walking distance.The rooms are really nice, the TV has a wide array of channels(totally unexpected!) and the breakfast is delicious.I especially loved the room in which the breakfast was served.You even have a small selection of books to read, if you wish.Marianne and her family are lovely people, very energetic and ready to help you in any possible way.I've noticed that many people who have stayed there wrote letters to Marianne, praising her for her hospitality.They are displayed at the reception, beyond a glass wall.

Once again, we loved this hotel to bits.And we loved Marianne and her family even more.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Mu husband and I decided to make a stop in Salzburg (having been there once before and loving it) on our way to Budapesh. It being the high season and me trying to find a place the night before we arrived led me to the Hotel Trumer Stube. What's great find-fabulous location on a windy street, historical building, comfortable rooms, priced comparitively with other hotels in the area and friendly staff. I'm going to address some of the issues brought up in other reviews in the hopes of being helpful.

Noise: Some reviewers have complained about the street noise. Salzburg is a city and cities are noisy. People live and work on every street. We had room 44 which faced the front. As it was the summer the bar down the street specializing in Belgium ales put picnic tables outside. Admittedly I am from NYC and have lived on noisy streets so my tolerance might be high but I know loud and obnoxious when I hear it. This was far from an intolerable amount of noise. It quieted down about 11 PM. Garabage trucks can be heard in the morning around 6:30 but it lasts a minute or 2. If you are worried book a room in the back.

Several reviewers complained about the church bells. Really? Perhaps they should have visited a different city.

Rooms: This pension is housed in a building that is more than 500 years old so there is not centralized AC. If you look as you walk around Salzburg (or Vienna, or small Austrian town) none of the old buildings have window AC units. All the windows are open. If you want AC stay at a hotel in a modern building. We kept the windows open and had a large fan turned towards the bed. It was quite comfortable despite being August.

The rooms are very clean and the beds firm and comfortable. It isn't furnished with antiques like some pensions or b&b's but then again it never said on the site it would be. The decorations in our room were minimal-one small watercolor of Salzburg. All the hallways have paintings of mimes. Not sure what's happening with that.

Breakfast: I'm not sure if it comes free with some rooms. It didn't with ours. My husband is coffee only in the AM. We went to breakfast one morning. It's a standard continental spread. Past reviews mention hot food but there wasn't any so maybe that has changed. They didn't have cappachino, which is what my husband wanted to drink so we went to a cafe the next morning. For us it wasn't worth the 7.50 Euro charged per person.

We found Marianne and her family to be lovely. When we checked in she mentioned she could arrange ciry tours but no hard sell as some have mentined. We never do those types of things, which I told her. She laughed and said Ok. She mentioned she could help us get music festival tickets which I probably would have taken her up on if we were in town longer.

The location is fantastic. We spent many happy hours wandering the non packed historical streets of Salzburg, looking at gardens and hiking up to the monestary. It's just across the river from the main tourist area so it's the best of both worlds.

If/when we come back to Salburg we would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Trumer Stube. It is very convienently located for walking everywhere. The furnishings are not new but they are pleasant and comfortable and the room is very clean. The Marianne's were always cheerful and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Stayedin this hotel in July 2012. The location is great but that is all I can say posistive about this hotel. It is extemely out dated, the breakfast was dismal and you have to check out a hair dryer from the front desk.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed Hotel Trumer Stube. It is in a very central area of Salzburg. The location was great to walk everywhere. The room was lovely and quiet and breakfast was wonderful. The Marianne's always greeted us with enthusiasm, had great recommendations, and made us feel very welcome. Salzburg is a must return to city and this is the hotel we would stay in!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We have been going to Salzburg every few months for over 5 years now, living in Vienna, it is close enough. It was the first time we stayed at Hotel Trumer Stube, and let me say that for half the price of the other hotels in the center, we got much more than what we are used to. The rooms are spacious, the price excellent, the building is secure, with the doors locked at night and each guest has his or her key to the entrance. Rooms come equipped with a flat screen tv of the expensive kind and open cable for Central European Channels plus worldwide. The location is the center of the center, you cannot be more central than this. It is 10 over 10 in every sense!
The Hirschbichler family is more than Amazing, they are always around, and ready to help. It is really a family friendly atmosphere with them, as the hotel is run by the owners, a couple and their daughter *who note has two PHDs in Mathematics,incase any guests have any algebraic concerns. But to get to the point, FOR THIS PRICE AND THIS SERVICE, WELCOME AND QUALITY this is the best HOTEL IN SALZBURG. Believe me, being a diplomat for over 5 years in Austria, and having stayed in almost every hotel in Salzburg, I was really impressed with Hotel Trumer Stube. IT IS TOP!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cityhotel Trumer Stube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cityhotel Trumer Stube

Address: Bergstrasse 6, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cityhotel Trumer Stube 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cityhotel Trumer Stube reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trumer Stube Hotel
Trumer Stube Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cityhotel Trumer Stube, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.