We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family hotel in Salzburg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cityhotel Trumer Stube

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cityhotel Trumer Stube to your Saves list
Cityhotel Trumer Stube
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Bergstrasse 6, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 60 Salzburg B&B and Inns
Newport, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful family hotel in Salzburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

My wife and I were on a driving tour through Austria last spring. Hotel Trumer Stube was a wonderful place to stay for our (sadly only one) night in Salzburg. The staff was amazingly friendly and helpful (perfect English spoken). They provided us with a lovely room with a king-size bed and a nice balcony. The location provided easy walking access to all the sites in the City Center. The breakfast options provided at the hotel were tasty and plentiful. We are looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    80
    28
    10
    13
See reviews for
79
106
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

this is a family run motel, friendly host, room is avarage, good size, bathroom slightly small, might be difficult to use if you are a big person, there is a noisy bar downstairs but if you shut the windows you hardly hear anything, its within walking distance to town centre and about 10-15 mins walk to train station. overall its ok for a short stay.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We stayed here in last summer and we came back because we loved it so much. The Hotel is amazing and perfect in every way and the gorgeous and beautiful Marianne was so perfectly helpful and wonderful in everything she did and said – we did not want to leave. We were made to feel so welcome by her beautiful and willing smile – nothing was too much trouble – absolutely nothing – if you could bottle up what Marianne has then you could make so much money. The hotel rooms are perfect in every way and the breakfast (served by the lovely warm people) was so tasty and such good value. We will come again and again and again. Wonderful and beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

My family and I travelled across Europe last summer (London, Paris, Salzburg). i must say, Marianne's hospitality was the absolute best of the lot! The service was excellent. Marianne makes you feel right at home and her mother's home cooked breakfast buffet is fantastic. We were travelling with a family of 5 and the 3rd floor room was very spacious and comfortable.

The Hotel Trumer Stube is right in the middle of the city center, perfect for walking everywhere you want to visit.

When I travel to Salzburg, I will stay with Marianne at the Hotel Trumer Stubbe. Thank you Marianne...I am only sorry it took me so long to write this review. All the best to you!!

Room Tip: 3rd floor family suite is the room we had. was great for our family of 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

When I began to inquire about staying at Trumer Stube and learned that my mom and sister share the name, Marianne,with the owner and her daughter I felt it was a good sign.

I choose Trumer Stube in large part because it is entirely non-smoking. It also has an elevator, was close to town and within our budget. I wanted something that felt like Salzburg and not a glass and chrome chain hotel that could be located anywhere.

Our stay there just before Christmas was wonderful. It was a short cab ride from the train station and even though we arrived late everything was arranged as promised. Anything we needed from directions to cab rides was arranged by the owners.

The breakfast buffet in the morning, complete with homemade apple strudel, as well as other holiday specialities, was a perfect way to start the day. The coffee was plentiful and delicious.

Hotel Trumer Stube is is comfortable, quaint and white glove clean. When we returned home from sightseeing the beds were made up and our pj's arranged for us, a very sweet touch. Outside our window we could see a church bell tower and got to hear the bells in the morning, it was everything I hoped it would be for our stay in Salzburg.

There are shops and places to eat all around and the sights, like Mirabell Palace, are a very short walk away. We didn't hear any noise at night even with the elevator nearby.

The owners were lovely and we felt sad to leave, exchanging hugs and best wishes all around. I hope to return someday and spend some more time in Salzburg. Send me a PM if you have any questions.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor and looked out to a church bell tower other than bells we heard no noise. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

This is a wonderful place to stay. We would definitely come back and stay here again. The host, Marrianne, is so kind, friendly and caring, as is her mom, who makes a fabulous breakfast. It is like you came home for Christmas. They both speak german and english. They let us book in early and showed us a map of the sights of the city we should see. They also marked out the Christmas markets for us. Free WIFI was available and they were willing to book any tours for us. Our room was a double and quite large. It included a bathroom with shower, full length mirror and several desks and cupboards. For two nights, we paid 274 euros and around 30 euros for breakfast. The breakfast was very tasty. There was homemade baking every morning and never ending coffee. There is a selection of cereal, meat, cheese, eggs and fruit. While we ate our breakfast, our room was being cleaned. Amazing. We were on the third floor overlooking the street. The street is quiet and we had a great sleep. From our window we could see the Christmas lights on the streets. The hotel is easy walking distance to the old town. The walk is short but filled with lots of stores that slow it down.

The Christmas markets are wonderful. The atmosphere is comforting. The crowds are huge on the weekend and make it hard to walk around, but on a week day, it is manageable. The castle and town are lit up with amazing lights; it is just beautiful.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh scotland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Just read some of the reveiws and do not get it. It is a great location, 5 minutes from most places and 10 minutes from everywhere. Marianne was helpfull at checkin, offering info on tours and breakfast ( she did not force us into anything) If you book a tour with Marriane you will get picked up from the hotel, we booked on line so had to find our own way. Our room was quite high but a good elevator walls quite thin and looked out onto church with bells ringing but not at night. Walk to old town 5 minutes which was fab in the early morning. There is a rock bar almost next door bit loud (inside) but very freindly kids. The staff, room, location all fab.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cityhotel Trumer Stube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cityhotel Trumer Stube

Address: Bergstrasse 6, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cityhotel Trumer Stube 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cityhotel Trumer Stube reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trumer Stube Hotel
Trumer Stube Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cityhotel Trumer Stube, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.