We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it and hope to go back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cityhotel Trumer Stube

Save Saved
You added Cityhotel Trumer Stube to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cityhotel Trumer Stube
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Bergstrasse 6, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 59 Salzburg B&B and Inns
Erzenhausen, Germany
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Loved it and hope to go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

This hotel was nice. Unfortunately we only stayed one night in this wonderful hotel. The rooms were all decorated pink, which made my wife happy but the beds were comfortable and spacious. Very spacious for such a hotel close to the old town. The breakfast the next morning was excellent and probably one of the best breakfasts I've had in Europe. Overall a great hotel which I would definitely recommend. The daughter of the family ran the reception desk when we arrived. Her German was easily understood (for me, a non-native German speaker) and her English was incredible and very courteous and proper which left an impression on me. Very nice place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    79
    26
    10
    13
See reviews for
78
100
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

We arrived at the Trumer Stube in Salzburg a day earlier than expected but always smiling Marianne at the front desk was kind enough to find us a room suitable for 2 adults and one child. The hotel is older and charming in its own way (a kind of pastel-hued way, actually) but sometimes it is nice to not have to worry that your hotel would ever be mistaken for an international chain hotel. This one won't be. It was very centrally located - perfect for walking to all parts of the city and parking was fairly easy and not terribly expensive in a nearby and safe public parking lot.

The room itself was a bit dated and a bit plain but included most of the basics. We faced out towards the rear, which was quiet, but our low floor was near some greenery outside in the courtyard/alley area, and due to the extraordinarily warm weather we had the hotel windows open all night and were rewarded with a number of mosquito bites in the morning. Not much to be done about that as windowscreens are unheard of in Europe, but perhaps requesting a higher floor will help. While the price of the hotel isn't cheap, for Salzburg in high season, we found it to be reasonable.

Breakfast was fine - nothing special beyond Marianne's mom's treats, but at 7 euros each I think we opted the next day for a good breakfast at a nearby bakery on Mirabellplatz that served some of the best coffee in Austria and was about 1/2 the price.

Salzburg itself is beautiful but a bit overrun with tourists. Agree with other posters that the Sound of Music tour (we used Bob's) is probably not necessary - our guide was very nice but our six year old was lost between all the historical background and the shifting between the movie, the actors, and the real-life events that prompted it all ("Maria had more children with Captain Von Trapp?!?"). Bring an ipod instead with the soundtrack and let your kid listen to the songs while you walk around and conduct your own tour. We occassionally lingered under several open windows at various music schools and were rewared with some musicians and opera singers practicing - it felt much more real than all the heavily advertised nightly tourist concerts. One thing I really liked about Salzburg was that it appears traditional clothing is coming back into style for many of the locals - so don't just ask anyone you see walking by your table in a restaurant wearing lederhosen or a drindl to get you a coffee refill - they are not necessarily your waiter or waitress!

Room Tip: ask for a higher level room if you intend to keep windows open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We booked at the Trumer Stube because we had a last-minute switch and there were only two guest houses available at the time. Trumer Stube won out on location, and for that, it can't be beat. The hotel is right in the middle of downtown, essentially across the street from Mirabellplatz. You're steps from a host of great restaurants, and a short walk to the old town and Mozartplatz, the castle, churches, etc. It was probably the best-located hotel of any we stayed at on our worldwide trip.

The hotel itself is a little dated, and I swear it was decorated by my grandmother (think pink balloons and weeping clowns). The beds are fine, and our family room was plenty big to fit our family of 5. Sleep was not great, mostly because there are several eating and drinking establishments on the same street that attract a late-night crowd. If you can choose a room toward the back, do so.

The best part about the hotel was the breakfast, which went beyond the typical continental bread and tea. They had this apple-filled french toast that was so good we found ourselves trying to re-create it when we returned to the States. While it was not exactly the sort of spread that includes custom omelettes and heaps of fresh tropical fruit, it was nevertheless better than the breakfasts at most European guest houses. For what they're asking for rooms, we would rather not have paid extra for breakfast, but after dealing with breakfast charges in several other European cities, it wasn't so bad. Also, Marianne at the front desk was super-friendly and very welcoming, so that was another bright spot.

Tip #1: Don't bother paying for a Sound of Music tour. 90% of the sites they would take you to are within walking distance of Trumer Stube, and you can have a do-it-yourself tour that's a lot more fun.

Tip #2: If you have kids, be sure to check out the far side of Mirabellplatz, where there's a neat little playground with one of the coolest slides we've ever seen. It also has a free art gallery that our kids loved.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed here because recommended by Rick Steves. Unfortunately, we found a fairly mediocre hotel which was very expensive. Breakfast was an extra charge and was not the "cooked breakfast" touted by Rick Steves guidebook but was a fairly ordinary cold cereal and cheese/meat/bread breakfast. The proprietor, Marianne, was very friendly and nice but I think she is the only person in Salzburg who can tolerate all of the tourists since everyone else we encountered seemed to be bothered by our presence. Salzburg is pretty much a tourist trap with a Disneyland atmosphere riding on "The Sound of Music" (don't take a bus tour) and Mozart. Not many true Mozart lovers in the world so everybody wanders around looking lost and ends up shopping.
The front rooms on the hotel are very noisy thanks to two bars on the street below which seem to stay open all night with loud drunk customers. No A/C so can't close the windows.

Room Tip: Don't book a front (street facing) room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

This was the perfect place to stay in the beautiful city of Salzburg. It is located in heart of the old city with many things to see and do within walking distance. The hotel is family owned and run by the friendliest family in Austria. Marianne at the front desk was so helpful and fun. The breakfast was the best we had in any hotel in Germany and Austria. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We stayed here for one night and were very comfortable. The hotel is family run and rather small but this doesnt detract from choosing the hotel. The location is central and easy to walk everywhere. Breakfast is small in variety but sufficient. The only thing that could have been better for us was allowing us an early check in given our early overnight arrival on the train.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and were perfectly content with the hotel. It wasnt grand but it was clean, very friendly with really lovely service. Right in the middle of everything. Couldn't have been more convenient. Great to have free wifi. Lovely inclusive breakfast. Stairs or a lift to rooms. Happy to help. Free hairdryer to borrow from reception and good warm powerful showers. Happy customers.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cityhotel Trumer Stube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cityhotel Trumer Stube

Address: Bergstrasse 6, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cityhotel Trumer Stube 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Cityhotel Trumer Stube reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trumer Stube Hotel
Trumer Stube Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cityhotel Trumer Stube, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.