We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AllYouNeed Hotel Salzburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added AllYouNeed Hotel Salzburg to your Saves list
AllYouNeed Hotel Salzburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Glockengasse 4b, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and found it was exactly what we needed as budget travelers. This hotel doubles as dorms during the school year so it is only open in the summer, which is perfect as it coincides with the height of tourist season. Against that backdrop, it is no surprise then that the rooms look like small dorm rooms. We found it quite nice to have the shelving and student desk available in our room. However, space was a bit cramped, hence this is much more budget than luxury oriented. I appreciated the free wireless access, which was only available in the lobby, but there were a reasonable amount if comfy chairs there for us. I also appreciated that a breakfast buffet was included in the room price. Breakfast included pasties, meats, eggs, fruit, yogurt, juice, and coffee - enough variety that everyone should be able to find something. Location was reasonable - on the "New Town" side of the river, maybe a 10 minute walk from downtown. We found that Salzburg in general was a very walkable city and our hotel was no exception.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    65
    33
    9
    2
See reviews for
19
62
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We have stayed at the All You Need Hotel in Salzburg twice now, once as a couple and, this time, with friends. It is very good value, in an expensive city. It provides central (walking distance of the Old and New Towns), clean, basic accommodation with pine furniture, comfy beds, flat screen TV (with BBC channels), plenty of storage and a spacious, well-equipped bathroom. The breakfast was good, with plenty of choice and a lovely roof-top patio to eat it on. The refills when things ran out were almost instantaneous and the catering staff were very friendly. Staff on reception were excellent and advised us on some lovely non-tourist restaurants to eat in. For those who need it, they are also happy to advise on trips and other local attractions and speak excellent English. Although the hotel is only open July to September, during the University holidays, it is professionally run as a proper hotel - don't be put off by the "dormatory" label - if this is a dorm I'm going back to Uni! The only negative might be the lack of air conditioning - it was very hot when we were there - but we managed very well with the window wide open and didn't have any problem sleeping. I almost forgot to say that there is maid service every day, including Sunday, and our bed was made and disposables were kept topped up and clean towels provided, as required.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We arrived at 4am after not much sleep in an overnight train - they very kindly let us check into our room early and have another sleep!!! The room was very nice and modern. The shower was a bit dirty and got clogged up - I was just so grateful to have a room so early so this didn't really bother me but it was a bit gross thinking about it now. The location was very good and close to the old town. The staff helped us arrange a trip to the ice caves which was excellent. We left again early the next morning so didn't have breakfast so can't comment on that. Considering how expensive accommodation is in Salzburg this hotel is good value for money and I would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Within walking distance to old town of Salzburg where its convenient for you to catch a bus if you are travelling to the outer edges of the town. However, it can be a little challenging to find the place if you are new to Salzburg. I had to keep asking people which bus service to catch, which bus stop to change, then figure out how to walk from the bus stop.

Good choice if you are on a budget while travelling on your own. Clean comfortable rooms, free wifi. Only problem is the wifi is only available in the common area in the ground floor, so certainly no privacy if you fancy some skype. This takes away points from value & room assessment cos its really so easy to make wifi available in individual rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Positives: Excellent location, breakfast included, helpful reception staff, very good value for a budget hotel. Wi-Fi only in public areas but very good signal.
Negatives: All floors are wooden so you will need earplugs if you are a light sleeper because the doors and footsteps echo. The shower cubicle size could be a problem for anyone with claustrophobia or who is above average size!
Details: Stayed 24-29/09/2012 (Europe Trip Hotel 3 of 15!); age range 35-40.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

It was very good value for money, very clean and comfortable with a good breakfast. Great location. Salzburg is fairly easy to walk about in. Half way between a hostel and a hotel. Will always be twin beds as it is a university accommodation. No aircon. Would recommend for budget travellers as salzburg can be pretty expensive

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nizwa, Oman
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Hotel all you need is easily accessible, if you are travelling to salzburg by train. you can take a bus to this area which drops you to a street close by... and then you can walk to this hotel. this hotel nieghbours a large public parking space (paid) so incase you are with a car, this hotel is ideal for you to stay close to the parking space.

Salzburg is expensive and this hotel is value for money. Well located and has a good breakfast spread. The staff at the reception are extremely helpful and sweet. There was a girl at the reception who really helped us book tours to the salt mines and eagle's nest and also suggested the Mozart concert that happens in the fort at night... she made our experience even more pleasant...

Rooms are small, but very comfortable and clean. and literally have all you need...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AllYouNeed Hotel Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AllYouNeed Hotel Salzburg

Address: Glockengasse 4b, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — AllYouNeed Hotel Salzburg 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AllYouNeed Hotel Salzburg is located at the foot of the Kapuzinerberg near the vivid center of the old town of Salzburg, though in quiet location. The hotel offers 69 no-smoking rooms have ensuite bathrooms, flat screen TVs with SAT connection, direct dial telephone, free toiletries, hairdryer and free Wi-Fi. A generous breakfast buffet with cold and hot dishes is served daily in the morning. On warm days you can also enjoy it on our panorama terrace which overlooks the rooftops of the city of Mozart - Salzburg. The hotel offers additional services like complimentary WiFi, dry cleaning/laundry services, complimentary "breakfast to go", extra pillows and blankets, a bicycle rack, complimentary newspapers, tour desk just to name a few. Our reception is open daily from 7am to 11pm. If you arrive after 11pm please ring the doorbell at hotel entrance to reach the night porter From hotel you can easily reach all sights of Salzburg, like the birthplace of Mozart, the cathedral, Mirabell gardens, the Festival House and Getreidegasse on foot. Further the congress and exhibition center of Salzburg is located only minutes away from the hotel. In case you prefer it more sporty, you can scale the heights of the Hohensalzburg fortress on the mountain Monchsberg or enjoy a hike through the beech forests on the mountain Kapuzinerberg - and all that right in the heart of one of Europe's most amazing cities! Be part of the city! Our season-hotel is open every year from 1st of July until 30th of September. Please note that unfortunately we cannot store luggage on 30th of September. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your AllYouNeed Hotel Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salzburg Allyouneed Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AllYouNeed Hotel Salzburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.