We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We liked it a lot!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ganslhof

Ganslhof
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ganslhof to your Saves list
Ganslhof
Vogelweiderstrasse 6, Salzburg A - 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“We liked it a lot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

I stayed with my family (of 7) and we all had a great time. Excellent location close to bus stop and city center. The owner was friendly and gave us directions. Free parking, good breakfast, comfortable and very clean rooms. I would totally recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    22
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
14
28
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The rooms were ok and breakfast ok but I agree with other reviews the staff were so grumpy to the point of been rude and by no means do you receive a welcome or even a smile. If the Internet is important to you do not stay here for what ever reason it's rubbish. On the first day it disconnected ever couple minutes, on the second day would not connect and when I asked I was definatly given the look that I should have known you need a new password each day, but still no good. On the positive note big car park and a easy ten minutes walk in to Salzburg.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becej, Serbia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Location is the only positive thing about the hotel Ganslhof. Of course,
if you can call it a hotel. I do not know who gives three stars to hotel like
this.
Ganslhof at a glance:
Triple room is the smallest double room in the world with extra bed.
TV progam in the room can only be viewed if you take a
magnifying glass.
Bathroom is small and with one little soap and small shampoo
Breakfast prepared by a chef who is the same person that fixes electricity
in the rooms and welcomes guests at the reception.
Welcome to new guest consists of throwing the key to the room and explain
how to get to the room.
To my objection that the room 22 is not a triple room, but double as it is written
at the door, I was told that I could check out. That next day I did and
when I asked for the company invoice, I got a half letter size paper with
payments in handwriting. "This is it" - he told me the man and went
outside reception.
It remains only taste of bitterness and the feeling that I was cheated
I do not know if someone from the Austrian tourism organization reads
this, but they should definitely go and see how it does not work well in
Ganslhof

Room Tip: Don't book any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Very good location, free parking place, very quite during our stay, and walking distance to to city center and all important sites. Rooms are ok, bed are comfortable and overall hygiene is very good. Breakfast was exellent, in newly decorated space. I cannot understand WiFi only in reception, and only with key. We has good room for kids, which are welcome there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Good location, 15 min walk to downtown. The room was avg at best. It was dark with little in the way of lighting. The staff was grumpy even German and Austrian standards. Free parking but WiFi only in the breakfast area and the staffed looked put out when I had to ask them for the username and password.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are ok. But there is so air conditioning, no wifi, they are noisy... Too noisy but the most amazing thing of this hotel is that the owners hate their job! Never met so unfriendly people! They must have a very sad life! Breakfast poor...hard bread but at least there is nutella.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This hotel is a good option if you are travelling by car and want a location not too far from the centre and with parking. The room was basic but clean - breakfast was ok but we were very disappointed with the service. We were 5 minutes late for the 11am check out and were given a bit of a lecture from the reception staff which I found to be over the top..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ganslhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ganslhof

Address: Vogelweiderstrasse 6, Salzburg A - 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ganslhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ganslhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.