We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price, good service, great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu to your Saves list
Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kaigasse 33 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 136 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good price, good service, great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This hotel has a great decoration. The room number 324 (two single beds) is ample and quiet, with a good bathroom (but needs some adjustment in the glass door of the box/tube). Breakfast is ok. Internet is free. Great location. The front desk team is helpfull.

Room Tip: The room number 324 (two single beds) is ample and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    159
    76
    30
    21
See reviews for
95
192
28
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We booked this holiday through British Airways holiday deals and so expected a standard double room, but were given one of the hotel's three Suites, a gloriously opulent and large room with queen size bed, beautiful old furniture and a massive spa bath. It was ideally located in the old town of Salzburg and within easy walking distance of all of the key tourist attractions, as well as the central train station, which was useful because we took a day trip to Werfen to visit the ice caves there. The hotel staff were exceptionally friendly and always happy to help us, including finding me the train timetable for the next day, printing out our boarding passes once we had web checked in. We will recommend this hotel to all of our friends and family. It was up there with the best we have ever stayed in during our considerable travels through Europe. Thanks very much!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsdale, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

A historical well kept hotel within walking distance of everything in old town, because IT IS old town.
We had a great bi level room that could have accommodated 4. Big and airy. Private parking a few meters away.

The hotel is a museum in its own right. Great breakfasts in magnificent room. It actually boasts the oldest cinema in the city, and it doesn't disturb guests in floors above.
If you want more than a room..... this is the place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaysville, Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We loved waking up in the morning and swinging open the window to see a view of the fortress above us and hearing the clock tower down the street. The shower was nice and hot with great water pressure and a blow drier was provided. While it should have been non-smoking, the room did smell a bit of smoke, but it was comfortable. We enjoyed the little touch of gummy bears on our pillows and absolutely loved the delicious breakfast of breads, cheeses, veggies, eggs/sausage, sweet bread, tomato/mozzarella, and juice! We were there during the big flood (June '13) and the concierge was extremely helpful calling around to help us find out if any roads were open so we could drive to Hallstatt as we had planned (all were closed). Also, there is parking provided for the guest (a rarity!) across the street which is very convenient if you have a car. We appreciated the close proximity of our hotel to the charming old town of Salzburg and would stay there again on our next visit.

Room Tip: We didn't see what views other floors had, but ours (room 329) afforded us a view of the Fortres...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The hotel rooms were typically European, very small with no A/C and we were in the middle of a heat wave, open windows then let in street noise. The hotel didn't have an iron, shower was very good so was bed. Location was excellent right next to public mall which went down to the river

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Walking distance to many great restaurants, shopping spots and sites. Very close to Mozartplatz. The parking is private. Great breakfast. Very pleasant & helpful staff. The antique furniture is terrific throughout the hotel. Our suite (#3) was beautiful and quite large. The only caveat was our room overlooked the front street and the hotel sign is lit up at night. Since we were there in August, we left the windows open at night requiring eye masks. The church bells toll early and for a long time & large trucks come by early as well. Ear plugs remedied this our 2nd night.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Hotel staff were helpful and friendly, room was small, no aircon or fan, no fridge, coffee/tea facilities, breakfast was sufficient, location faultless, great stay, could be improved with left out facilities!!!!

Room Tip: Be parred for sacrifices for location!!!'
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldgasse
Hotel Goldgasse
#11 of 136 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Am Dom
Hotel Am Dom
#15 of 136 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Elefant
Hotel Elefant
#14 of 136 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 613 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Wolf-Dietrich
Hotel Wolf-Dietrich
#20 of 136 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 771 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#17 of 136 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu

Address: Kaigasse 33 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Salzburg
#5 Spa Hotel in Salzburg
#26 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#32 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming Salzburg hotel steeped in tradition is located at the heart of the historic city centre of Salzburg. Hotel Kasererbraeu is part of the Old Town of Salzburg and therefore an architectural treasure itself. Your host the Giebisch Family has taken care of this unique treasure at 33 Kaigasse Alley for four generations. Experience a history of 600 years in the rooms of the Salzburg hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Venere, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altstadthotel Kaisererbraeu Hotel Salzburg
Altstadthotel Kasererbrau Salzburg
Altstadthotel Kasererbrau Hotel Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.