We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with character” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu

Save Saved
You added Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kaigasse 33 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 135 hotels in Salzburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nice hotel with character”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The room was spacious with nice furniture and comfortable. The hotel was very clean and the spa area was nice also. The breakfast buffet provided good choice and staff in the hotel were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    114
    63
    29
    16
See reviews for
63
130
21
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lyneham
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We were given room no. 216, which I am sure must have been a childrens' room. Poorly equipped, tiny, bathroom was so small that when you shut the sliding door, there was only about 30 cm between the sink and the door. For slim people only. No aircon, no fridge, two single beds and a large wardrobe and a small table were the furniture. We stayed there one night and did not sleep a wink, the pillow was lumpy and only one, the bed too short for my husband who is 6'3. I asked to be moved the same evening but was told the hotel is full. Strangely, in the morning, a room was found for us, not ideal but a lot better.
The breakfast was OK but the coffee machine, although plumbed in, delivered a strange tasting coffee.

Room Tip: There are several rooms of poor quality and small - particularly on floor 2, when booking, ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The rooms of the hotel were nice and large, the furniture are wooden giving it a nice feel. However, there are bits and pieces starting to come apart like bathroom fixtures, and a little more effort needs to be taken on a more regular basis to turn this still good hotel into something a little special. The hotel staff are trying hard and are friendly, but the interior of the rooms are losing their edge very quickly. Location wise, the hotel is on the correct side of the river, well priced, and close by to the main attractions and shopping street.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelmsford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

as a lone traveler its important to be made welcome and the staff were really lovely , lovely breakfast , nice room , location could not have been better , to be honest i could not fault it and i def hope to return in dec for the xmas atmosphere and market tours , i really would recommend this hotel , once again all the staff reception, breakfast , maids could not have been more helpful and i thank the hotel for my wonderful stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanzimtoti, South Africa
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Room 500, the Deluxe room with a lovely bathroom en suite and in crawling distance to the great breakfast buffet. Being in the heart of the Salzburg Altstadt, one is awakened by the tolling bells of the various churches located there. Everything is a hop, skip and jump from the hotel, which also houses a charming kino (said to be the oldest in Salzburg!). Charming decor, accompanied by thought-provoking, philosophical phrases adorning some windows and mirrors. Easily accessible from the main route, yet quietly located in Kaigasse. A gem in the heart of the Salzburg Altstadt!

Room Tip: The deluxe room is definitely spacious with good quality furniture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We did have have a terrible time when we reached the hotel in Salzburg. The room they showed us to was the worst with a leg of one of the two chairs broken and the room so small we could barely turn. But after complaining to the wonderful staff who by the way was the best, they changed us to an excellent room which was spacious and very comfortable. The hotel is very centrally located and easily accessible to all the main sight seeing places and the staff speaks enough English to help you with everything. The breakfast was also great. We wished we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Please do not choose a room facing the street. Too much noise till late in the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during our stay in Salzburg and LOVED it. We wished we could have stayed longer. This hotel is located in central Old Town, and within walking distance to anything and everything you'd want to do.

It was clean, cute, and has a great view of the fortress. The bathroom was probably the nicest of our trip and their breakfast was fantastic with tons of options. The staff was friendly and offered to book us tours or give us directions to anywhere we wanted to go. They will also start up the sauna for you if you want to take advantage of that.

Loved this place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu

Address: Kaigasse 33 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Salzburg
#4 Spa Hotel in Salzburg
#24 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#27 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#35 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, seekda GmbH, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altstadthotel Kaisererbraeu Hotel Salzburg
Altstadthotel Kasererbrau Salzburg
Altstadthotel Kasererbrau Hotel Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.