We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but hotel better to stay in the Winter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu

Save Saved
You added Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kaigasse 33 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 135 hotels in Salzburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Palo Alto, California, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice, but hotel better to stay in the Winter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We are a younger couple and we stayed here for 3 nights on our 3-week trip to Europe in July. We really enjoyed the location. It's in old town, next to several great restaurants and next to all of the main churches in Salzburg. The location is great.

The e-bikes we rented were also amazing! We loved that we could do that. It really made our stay so much enjoyable.

The breakfast was great, but there are only two workers and so the food seemed to always run out (though they would replenish it). There was always a line for coffee and it was a bit crowded. The spread was fantastic though.

The hotel has a nice spa, with sauna/massage/steam room but I don't think it's really "up and running" during the Summer season. It was deserted when I was there (I used the sauna) and it looked like it hadn't been used for months.

I think this hotel would be PERFECT if you are planning a ski/winter vacation in Salzburg, especially if you have a family (they have some cool loft rooms I saw), but for a young couple in the summer, it wasn't the best hotel choice for us. Rooms were nice and big, but the bed had a lip over it, so you couldn't sit up in bed, unless you had 2-3 pillows behind you. Yes, a small nitpick thing, but really annoying when you want to work on your computer/iPad in bed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    111
    59
    25
    14
See reviews for
67
133
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Kaisererbrau is brilliantly located in the old city just up from Mozartplatz and under the Fortress. The rooms are comfortable and traditional with windows that open! Bathrooms large with good fittings. The reception staff are very helpful and full of information and ideas about where to go and what to do. There are many good restaurants and shops nearby including a very good Indian place down near Mozartplatz. The hotel has two electric bicycles available for rental at reasonable rates cheaper that at Mozartplatz. Rent a bike and ride up to the Fortress (or at least part of the way) and around the old city, and surrounding straze and platz. Ride down to the river and along the great bike paths on each side. Ride back to Mozartsteg and back up to the Hotel Stein to another platz where you might hear a band playing rockabilly and blues... Not to mention Mozart playing at at least two or three places most nights...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estepona Spain
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This very old building has been altered many times over the centuries and now houses two movie theatres and the hotel, complete with modern sauna/steam bath, and breakfast terrace. Our room was large, facing the front and we were slightly disturbed by early morning deliveries and late night diners at the adjacent restaurant. These objections were overcome, however, by the helpful staff and the fabulous location. All the tourist sights were close enough for us to walk and there were many good cafes and restaurants nearby. Breakfast at the hotel was more than ample in selection and quality. We liked this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oradea, Romania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I spent only a night in Salzburg, but it was a great experience. We chose this hotel because of its good positioning, in the middle of the old town, under the fortress. All tourist sights are very close, by foot. The reception staff was friendly and helpfull. The room wasn't too large, but with enough space to move around. The furniture was old style, but good looking and in good shape. The bathroom was bigger than in other hotels, with a big bathtub, planty towels and hair dryer. The breakfast was good and diversified. On the ground floor there are a cinema (KIno Mozart) and an italian restaurant (Trattoria Domani). Also, there is a parking posibility (even if the hotel is situated in a walking area). It costs 12€ / day, but needs to be reserved in advance by phone or email. Most of the sights are very close, excepting Hellbrunn Schloß and the Red Bull Hangar-7.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Intersting hotel. Some rooms opened on to a terrace where one could have breakfast and that could be noisy. Also not secure - our friends commented that if they left the window open someone could climb in! We did not have that problem.
Every room had different furniture. We had an armoire in the room instead of a regular clothes cupboard but it was fine for the clothes. One of the better hotels for adequate rinsing of clothes and stringing a line to hang them to dry. A fan was provided instead of AC and that was adequate for us as the weather was not extremely hot.
Breakfast was excellent - a perfect location for touring the city.

Room Tip: Try for a room which does not open towards the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Being in the limited traffic area of the old town it is an excellent position to see the sights. The room we were given was basic and a bit tired looking, not what I would call a Superior Room. The bedhead and cupboard, etc looked liked pine, but on closer inspection we found it was actually wallpaper with rose motifs (very cheap looking). After checking the bathroom which was also quite ordinary, in hindsight we should have asked for another room, as we also found there were 'squeaks' everywhere - the bed squeaked evertime you moved, and if you got out of the bed to go to the bathroom, every floorboard squeaked, which of course woke up my wife.
The buffet breakfast was reasonable as it had hot and cold choices, but they were always running out of scrambled eggs, and the replenishment was always coming but not arriving!
They have an excellent Italian Restaurant (Tratttoria Domani) next door, you can actually go direct from the hotel. In the building of the hotel is the Kino Mozart Cinema which is the oldest continual working cinema in the world ( the first movie performance being in 1904) - this was of fascinating interest to me.
There are many sights to see such as Mirabella Gardens, a bit of walk to the other side of the river.Close to the hotel is the fortress at the top of the hill overlooking the town, we walked which is okay if you are fit, otherwise there is a cable train which will take you up there. Once you get there it is like a village inside and is very well maintained, and they also have a cafe there. The views are great, especially looking over the town.
Except for the faults listed earlier I would have to say if you get a good room this hotel has good service, reception are very helpful, and it is in a perfect position o walk and explore.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights towards the end of June. Booking was easy, and the hotel provided good instructions to find its location (its within a restricted zone), no problem driving in, dropping luggage and parking. It is in a very central location, minutes from the Salzburg museum, Hohensalzburg tram, and the main shopping street. Plenty of good dining options all around the hotel.

We had booked a family room which was large and a split level. The room and beds were clean, but relatively basic. There was no airconditioning, which we were aware of, but even at the end of June, before it gets really warm, it was getting uncomfortable to sleep in the evening. The breakfast was generous with a good variety.

Overall the location and sizeable rooms make this a good option for family travel, but only for the cooler months!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu

Address: Kaigasse 33 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Salzburg
#5 Spa Hotel in Salzburg
#24 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, seekda GmbH, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altstadthotel Kaisererbraeu Hotel Salzburg
Altstadthotel Kasererbrau Salzburg
Altstadthotel Kasererbrau Hotel Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.