We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Berglandhotel Salzburg

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Salzburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Berglandhotel Salzburg
Rupertgasse 15, Salzburg A-5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 135 hotels in Salzburg
MN
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very nice and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

We (two couples) stayed here for 3 nights and were very comfortable. It rained the whole time during our visit, so it was nice to be able to return to a nice friendly hotel. Our rooms had a small table and chairs to relax in.

The staff spoke several languages and always seemed willing to recommend places to eat or do laundry. Parking was available for free and it wasn't too far to walk to all the sites.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    73
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
22
81
16
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cinton, TN
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

This little hotel is a hidden gem, key word being hidden. It is about a 15 minute walk from the train station. Take directions before you go, a lot of locals have never heard of it. It is on a very quiet street away form the busy streets. The desk people are fluent in English and were very helpful. The rooms are much larger than typical European hotels and the bathroom was huge and super clean. Breakfast was free and typical w/cold cuts, cheeses, and hard rolls. They have a music room w/ guitar and piano for guests. The price was very nice around 80 dollars. I could have easily given it a 5.0 execpt for the location. But, we would stay there again anytime.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steiermark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

We stayed in the family room for just one night. The room was so spacious, clean with a real homely feel. Beds were really comfortable. The library/music room is a nice touch with interesting reading material in English. All the staff were so pleasant and helpful. No need to walk into the town as there is great restaurant called Bella Vita just around the corner, fantastic menu of Italian and Pakistani food.
Breakfast was plentiful, served in the breakfast room which had a lovely ambience. This hotel would suit families, singles or couples. The artwork around the hotel is a delightful mix of old and contemporary. I would recommend this hotel to any of my friends.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

The welcome at this hotel was excellent - beginning even before our arrival with a very efficient and welcoming confirmation of the booking. Our room was large, clean and airy. The bed was comfortable. The continenetal-style breakfasts were excellent. The music room is a nice touch and the terrace where we sat for drinks in the late evening was relaxing. All the staff were great. It was easy to get to the old centre of Salzburg from the hotel either on foot or on the local bus. All this made our Bank Holiday weekend break in Salzburg thoroughly enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2009

We used Eurail throughout our 2-week vacation in Europe and all of our hotels were conveniently located *near* the train station. This hotel was very nice. After being spoiled by some of our accommodations, this felt a little bit like a downgrade because the building was old and needed some upgrades but it was by no means dingy and pretty clean. The beds were very comfortable and clean and the room was quite spacious. We had a room for 3 which may make a difference. The hotel was only a short walk from the Old City and it was also near a great hiking hill that had some wondeful views of the city. If you go to Salzburg, I recommend buying a Salzburg Card from your hotel and using it for bus transportation, as well as discounts on museums, etc. We took the bus to a mountain on the outskirts of Salzburg and because of the card, had a *free* (b/c we bought the card) trip up the mountain in a cable car to some extraordinary views. There was still plenty of snow on the ground in April which was a great contrast to the 60F warm city below!

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alkmaar
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2008

I was visiting Salzburg for the 3e time, but it was the first time in hotel Bergland.
I found it at the site from the tourist information and I loved it at once.
Small hotel, with nice photos and a reasonably price.
My stay was wonderful, good room, all facilities, simple but good breakfast and at the evening a short stay in the musicroom with some tea.
Mr Kuhn and his staff were very friendly and offered every day a nice goodmorning.
The walk to the city was just 10-15 minutes and off course the walk through the Linzergasse with the shops and restaurants was fun.
Next time I will certainly return to the hotel

Marlies van Wijk
Alkmaar
The Netherlands

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2008

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel which has comfortable and clean rooms, freindly, helpful and welcoming staff, and only 10 minutes walk into town - well placed for tourist attractions. Would definately return when back in Salzburg.

  • Liked — Location and friendly staff
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Berglandhotel Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berglandhotel Salzburg

Address: Rupertgasse 15, Salzburg A-5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Salzburg
#19 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located and convenient for sightseeng (10 walking-min. to the Pedestrian Areal). Austrian hospitality, stylish ambiance and the ideal location is what you can expect from this small fourth generation family hotel. All rooms provide modern comfort with beautiful bathrooms, safe, plasma-screen-TV, private bathroom and free WLAN. The philosophy between tradition and modern features is felt through the entire interior. Very helpful for this centrally located place is the FREE CAR PARKING! the whole hotel is non-smoking. No pets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Berglandhotel Salzburg Hotel Salzburg
Berglandhotel Hotel Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berglandhotel Salzburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Berglandhotel Salzburg to your Saves list