We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super clean and comfortable with a great breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Berglandhotel Salzburg

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Salzburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Berglandhotel Salzburg
Rupertgasse 15, Salzburg A-5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 135 hotels in Salzburg
Farmington, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“super clean and comfortable with a great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Berglandhotel for two nights and were very pleased. The staff was really friendly and helpful. The room was charming and spacious, and the bathroom was large and clean. The breakfast was amazing with a full spread of yogurts, breads, juices, eggs, tomatoes, olives, meats, cheeses, cereal, coffee, tea, etc. served in a lovely breakfast room. Nothing was lacking! The shower had good water pressure, although the shower door did leak water onto the floor. The hotel is just a bit of a walk from the historic district and located in a quiet residential area, which was a nice retreat from the city. It's about a 15-20 minute walk from the main train station. The only issue was that the WiFi didn't work in our room. There were three internet codes for each floor of the hotel, but the only one that worked for us was in the lobby, so we had to go downstairs to the entryway to check e-mails. This is really the only reason I am giving this hotel a 4 rather than a 5, as this seems like a simple thing that they can fix and offer to guests to make the hotel truly excellent. We had read that the hotel rented bikes for the day, but we were informed at the hotel that they no longer do that. Do not hesitate to book a room at this hotel! It was one of best hotels on our trip!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Berglandhotel Salzburg, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
Thank's a lot for your nice words and helpful review. I am happy to inform that the provider has been changed by end of May and all rooms provide free Wifi. We look forward to welcome you again, kind regards from Inge Brodil-Kuhn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    74
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
22
82
16
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penang
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Staying at Bergland gives one a sense that the owners upkeep the entire hotel like their own homes. Advertising was accurate - there was no misrepresentation in any of the pictures on various hotel booking websites. It was so clean, cosy and friendly.I stayed for 2 nights.

I was greeted by one of the owners, Mrs Kuhn. Reception was warm, and she obliged my request for an early check in. One of the best things about the service was all the helpful tips on where and when to go, what not to miss, and those that I could skip. The advice was invaluable!

Room was very cosy. Everything worked, and sheets, towels, etc were all hotel white and clean.

It was a ten minute walk from the old town, but it is a lovely walk, away from all the touristy hustle and bustle. On the way, one passes a lovely Indian restaurant.

There is a nice breakfast in the morning, serving the best of Austrian dairy.

Seriously, this was one of the best privately run accommodations I have ever stayed in.
I will be back!

Room Tip: Mine was 201, and it was perfect. No complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

This was our 2nd stay at the Bergland and we will be back. Its such a nice change to stay somewhere that feels like home. Its not flashy with porters and room service. The doors lock around 10pm and your electronic key allows you entrance back in. The rooms are well furnished, modern yet comfortable, and extremely clean. Internet service was sporadic in our room but we just took our computers into the lobby lounge and connected without a problem. You are greeted and cared for by the owners who offer candid advice on restaurants, activities, even driving directions. The breakfasts, included in the price, are substantial and the small dining room quaint. The location is superb as you are in easy walking distance to the old town. The Bergland is proud of its history and restoration, which shows in the quality of the hotel and staff. We're already looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Very good breakfast - hotel, friendly staff, very clean, near busstop to the centre of Salzburg
No possibility of internet in the hotel room.
In the lobby is a computer for the guests. Not free of charge

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Tastefully decorated, spacious and very quiet rooms, an enormous bathroom, comfortable bed, and an amazing breakfast! In addition, the owner was so kind and interesting, it made all the difference choosing a family-run chic hotel!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

This little pearl of a hotel is enthusiastically recommended! We stayed only one night on a longer stretch of travel across Austria and what a delightful surprise it was! I did not have such great expectations because of the way the exterior looked on the net - but this place really has personality! The room was very charming and had every amenity - what is so special in this hotel is the personal touch to the rooms and the reception and service. Delightful little breakfast. The receptionist was very charming and helped us get a reservation for our restaurant of chioce in the evening. Wonderful place!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, MD
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

We stayed at the Berglandhotel in Salzburg back in October. We located the hotel from travel sites so this was a blind chance...but it turned out to be a quiet gem. It is located on a side street about 6-9 blocks from the Mirabell Gardens of Sound of Music fame. The hotel itself is unpretentious but has a very pleasant waiting and reception area. The staff at check-in were very accommodating, allowing us to check in early so we could drop our bags and start our walking tour. We had a large corner room and it was very comfortable.

The staff was able to provide us with information to orient us to the location and we had a nice walk down Paris-London Strasse to the gardens. Mozarts second house (and museum) are located on this side of the Salzach river. The hotel is in easy walking in distance to the old city and pedestrian zones.

The breakfast buffet, included, is similar to most in Europe and fortified us for a full day. Again the staff was very accommodating in directions and questions. They also post the local happenings and music concerts that are available. They were also very helpful in arranging the purchase of some items when my German fell through the cracks! At no time did I feel that I was imposing on them, I am very indebted to Mr Kuhn for his help in this matter.

For price, location, quality of service, and general comfort this hotel is a quiet gem that we would both highly recommend and return to again. Our only complaint is that we could not stay in Salzburg longer!

Room Tip: We had a front corner room. Being a corner room we were able to use the windows to get cross-ventil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Berglandhotel Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berglandhotel Salzburg

Address: Rupertgasse 15, Salzburg A-5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Salzburg
#19 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located and convenient for sightseeng (10 walking-min. to the Pedestrian Areal). Austrian hospitality, stylish ambiance and the ideal location is what you can expect from this small fourth generation family hotel. All rooms provide modern comfort with beautiful bathrooms, safe, plasma-screen-TV, private bathroom and free WLAN. The philosophy between tradition and modern features is felt through the entire interior. Very helpful for this centrally located place is the FREE CAR PARKING! the whole hotel is non-smoking. No pets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Berglandhotel Salzburg Hotel Salzburg
Berglandhotel Hotel Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berglandhotel Salzburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Berglandhotel Salzburg to your Saves list