We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best way to see Salzburg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monchsberg Lift

Monchsberg Lift
Gstattengasse 13, Salzburg 5020, Austria
+43 662 44806285
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$28*
and up
Ranked #24 of 123 things to do in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best way to see Salzburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We were given the tip from our guide about this option to see Salzburg. Fantastic view if the city, and provided an escape from the crowds, building work and the many tourist shops. If you have had enough of shopping this is definitely worth doing. The elevator is reasonably priced. If you have time go up in the elevator and walk back down, enjoying the views along the way.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    86
    23
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
550 reviews
390 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Good view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We walked up and the paths were easy to follow , also you could stop for many different views of Salzburg.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“The Best View of Salzburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The view from the top is magnificent! Cost of going up is very minimal compared to the marvellous view that awaits you. Very quick scenic elevator and not scary at all. Don't miss it. Highly recommended.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent way to get the best view of Salzburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

You will love walking around Salzburg up on the Moenchsberg. Many very nice views from above the city

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
197 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Fantastic view - AVOID the restaurant at the top”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

The view from the top of the Mönchsberg is fantastic; it's really worth spending the couple of Euros to take the elevator up. The best is to go up just before sunset and stay for a while, until the lights come on in the city. It's a magical moment. If you have to sit at the terrace of the pretentious restaurant upstairs, do so - I sat for an hour while there were probably 5 tables occupied, and no-one glanced in my direction nor, God forbid, asked me what I wanted to eat or drink. The service here is so totally oblivious it's scary these people are even employed at all. While I sat there, I witnessed a couple of middle-aged ladies summoning the waiter four times because he brought them the wrong drink again and again. After a while, I just gave up trying to attract the staff's attention and enjoyed the view. This is what this place is for.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monchsberg Lift also viewed

Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Monchsberg Lift? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monchsberg Lift, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.