We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moenchberg Lift

Moenchberg Lift
Gstattengasse 13, Salzburg 5020, Austria
+43 662 44806285
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$15*
and up
Ranked #19 of 85 Attractions in Salzburg
Type: Landmarks & points of interest, Sights & Landmarks
Attraction details
Glasgow, Scotland
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
169 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Good view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We walked up and the paths were easy to follow , also you could stop for many different views of Salzburg.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    54
    11
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philippines
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“The Best View of Salzburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The view from the top is magnificent! Cost of going up is very minimal compared to the marvellous view that awaits you. Very quick scenic elevator and not scary at all. Don't miss it. Highly recommended.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent way to get the best view of Salzburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

You will love walking around Salzburg up on the Moenchsberg. Many very nice views from above the city

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“Fantastic view - AVOID the restaurant at the top”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

The view from the top of the Mönchsberg is fantastic; it's really worth spending the couple of Euros to take the elevator up. The best is to go up just before sunset and stay for a while, until the lights come on in the city. It's a magical moment. If you have to sit at the terrace of the pretentious restaurant upstairs, do so - I sat for an hour while there were probably 5 tables occupied, and no-one glanced in my direction nor, God forbid, asked me what I wanted to eat or drink. The service here is so totally oblivious it's scary these people are even employed at all. While I sat there, I witnessed a couple of middle-aged ladies summoning the waiter four times because he brought them the wrong drink again and again. After a while, I just gave up trying to attract the staff's attention and enjoyed the view. This is what this place is for.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
751 reviews 751 reviews
648 attraction reviews
Reviews in 152 cities Reviews in 152 cities
656 helpful votes 656 helpful votes
“In 30 seconds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

The elevators have a large size, even a large mobilityscooter does fit in and it takes less than 30 seconds to reach the top of the Mönchsberg (through the Mönchsberg). One ends up at the Meseum fur moderne, from there on to the Humbold terasse where one can enjoy the panorama over Salzburg. At the Humboldterasse is a restaurant located so one can wine and dine enoying the panorama. From here one can walk to the wehrmaur and so on. The waiting hall is decorated with mosaics.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moenchberg Lift also viewed

Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Moenchberg Lift? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moenchberg Lift, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.