We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, quirky hotel in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Wolf-Dietrich

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Wolf-Dietrich to your Saves list
Hotel Wolf-Dietrich
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wolf-Dietrich-Strasse 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
UK countryside
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely, quirky hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for 3 nights pre Christmas and it was lovely. We were in a 'Romantique' suite which included an open plan bathroom, decorated as if we were bathing around the pyramids, complete with starlit sky and roll top bath. Unusual, but lovely all the same with fresh fruit, chocolates and biscuits provided at the beginning of our stay, and afternoon tea and cakes in the hotel lounge everyday. Starlights extended to above the bed too. Service was first class and they could not have done more for us including booking restaurants/tours and general advice about where to go. Breakfast was also good with an excellent mix of hot and cold dishes, very efficiently run. Only problems we had were that the hotel and room were extremely warm, and even with our radiators turned off we slept with a window open; fortunately the hotel is located in a very quiet street so we weren't disturbed. Other problem was the lighting system in the suite was so complicated it didn't always work. However, these were minor things more than compensated for by everything else and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Salzburg.

Room Tip: Firstly do not visit the Christmas markets at the weekends - it's manic and spoiled it for us. R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolfdietrich, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Wolf-Dietrich, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your lovely feedback. How nice to hear that you had a great time in Salzburg. We wish you all the best and happy holidays, Janine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    245
    75
    24
    5
See reviews for
189
279
38
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent 3 nights at end of November to visit the Christmas markets.

Cannot fault this hotel. We were placed in the 'annex' which is just over the (virtually) pedestrianised street. We had a huge split level room with two bathrooms (one with bath, one with shower) - sitting room downstairs, bedroom on a mezzanine level.

The staff at the hotel are very helpful and very friendly, with outstanding English. No restaurant at the hotel but complimentary coffee and cake served in the bar each afternoon. Breakfast is great....mostly 'continental' (cheeses, cold meats, pastries etc) but some hot options too.

There is a small pool / spa in the basement (steam room, sauna etc)......but note that bathing costumes are optional!

Great location too.....less than 10 minutes to the old city (via Staatsbrücke) and about the same to the Mirabell Gardens (where there are many Sound of Music photo opportunities - but the Salzburgers don't really talk about 'that film'!).

I have no hesitation on giving the Wold-Dietrich (and the staff) 5 out of 5!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolfdietrich, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Wolf-Dietrich, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Jonathan, we would like to thank you for your nice feedback. It is great to hear, that you had a great time here at the Wolf-Dietrich. We wish you a wonderful Christmas time and all the best, Janine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is ideal for any visit to Salzburg and beyond.
its central just a short walk to the old town and is surrounded by many bars and restaurants for you to enjoy. When we arrived everything ran smoothly, we were across the road in the annex but that wasnt a problem at all, the rooms are large, clean and warm the bathroom is modern, Breakfast is across the road in the main hotel and again was really good they even allowed myself to try my appaling German, thank you.
This Hotel is perfect for a short break in the centre of Salzburg and the staff are very helpfull and efficient.
Just to let you know in the few days we were there we visited Vienna and Innsbruck the train system is second to none and ollowed us to see more of Austria, Oh by the way of the the Christmas market in Salzburg was the best having visited the ones in Vienna and Innsbruck.
Thanks to all who work in the Hotel Wolf-Dietrich we had a really good time.

Room Tip: Its pot luck you can only know the room that you stay in so i cant comment on the others
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolfdietrich, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Wolf-Dietrich, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. It makes us very happy that you enjoyed your stay here at the Wolf-Dietrich. Thank you also for mentioning our team so nicely. It would be great to welcoming you again someday. Have a great Christmas time and all the best, Janine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tedb
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a great one night stay at the Wolf-Dietrich in December while visiting the Christmas Markets. The front desk staff was cordial and got us checked in very quickly. Our room was very clean, bedding was very comfortable and bathroom/shower were well equipped. Breakfast was delicious and had a great selection. The hotel is in a great location on a quiet street about a ten minute walk to either the train station or the center of old town Salzburg. Would not hesitate to stay here again the next time we visit Salzburg.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolfdietrich, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Wolf-Dietrich, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Ted, we would like to thank you for your nice feedback. We are glad that you liked our breakfast and the room. It makes us very happy when our guests feel comfortable during their stay. Wishing you a nice Christmas time and sending you best regards from Salzburg, Janine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very Friendly, helpful staff. Good location in new area of Salzburg. The hotel was quiet; rooms were modern and clean. The breakfast was very good and changed a little daily. They offered complimentary tea in the afternoon which was nice.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolfdietrich, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Wolf-Dietrich, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear guest, Thank you very much for choosing us for your stay in Salzburg and for your wonderful feedback. We are happy you enjoyed our breakfast and the complimentary afternoon buffet with coffee, tea and cakes. We hope you had a safe journey home. Have a nice Christmas time. All the best, Janine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here in November to visit the christmas markets. Salzburg is absolutely beautiful and the hotel charming. Location was good, walking distance to the larger market. The buildings and scenery are amazing. Most of the staff were very helpful and lovely especially Rosa in the restaurant she couldn't do enough for you and was so pleasant and happy all of the time. The receptionist was also so very helpful. The older barman, would have been nice if he smiled or looked like he wanted to serve you. He actually challenged us on how many drinks we had one night, quite rudely, we knew how many we had, only 3 and the next night as he served us counted them as if to say we had lied! The breakfast was delicious and as I said before the service couldn't have been better. The room we stayed in didn't have any tea and coffee facilities which is strange, the hotel don't do this however they did offer free tea and delicious cakes every afternoon but I still like a cuppa when I first get up. There were only 4 hangers in my superior double room and 3 pillows, I'm sure if I had asked they would have rectified this but I didn't think I should have to in a 4 star hotel. The only other issue was the room we were in, we could here a murmuring of an extractor fan that was outside we think that I found disturbed my sleep a bit. Overall we loved the hotel and food and would go again. If you do go although I am not a fan of sound of music the tour was lovely so I would recommend it and the lake christmas market tour was superb, it make seem expensive but you go to 3 beautiful markets in very old traditional villages, get 2 gifts that weren't naff and a boat trip, I would highly recommend this, the villages, markets and scenery are beautiful.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolfdietrich, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Wolf-Dietrich, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Tina, Thank you very much for staying with us and for the nice feedback. We also want to thank you for your improvement suggestions. It is very important to us, that our guests feel comfortable during their stay. We are glad you had a good time at the Wolf-Dietrich and it would be great to welcoming you again soon. Have a nice Christmas time. Best regards, Janine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here in November, it is very well situated, very close to Old Town sites. My favorite though was the spa downstairs. Start with a dip in the small pool with a current that allows you to swim against a stream. Then head over to the spa (sans swim suit) and enjoy the steam sauna, dry sauna and/or the whirlpool. I had to encourage my timid wife, but once inside (in the steam sauna) she enjoyed it. At 8:00pm, the spa only had two other users so it was very quiet, almost intmate.

Room rates for November very reasonable, fabulous buffet breakfast. Definitely recommend this hotel, it will be my first choice for my next visit to Salzburg.

Room Tip: good value for money and nice amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolfdietrich, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Wolf-Dietrich, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear guest, we would like to thank you for your stay and your very nice feedback. We are happy you enjoyed your stay here at the Wolf-Dietrich, and especially our SPA. We are already looking forward to welcoming you again. Best regards and have a nice winter time, Janine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Wolf-Dietrich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wolf-Dietrich

Address: Wolf-Dietrich-Strasse 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Salzburg
#13 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#14 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#15 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wolf-Dietrich 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wolf-Dietrich Altstadthotel & Residenz is situated in the city centre of Salzburg and offers absolute comfort in a central location. It consists of two buildings, Altstadthotel and the Residenz, located opposite each other in a quiet side street of the city’s pedestrian area. No matter whether you are enjoying your family holiday in Salzburg, whether you are a loving couple, searching for culture and sightseeing or if you are on a business trip to this World Heritage Sight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, seekda GmbH, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Wolf-Dietrich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolf Dietrich Hotel Salzburg
Hotel Wolf Dietrich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Wolf-Dietrich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.