We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique Hotel in Salzburg” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Wolf-Dietrich

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Wolf-Dietrich to your Saves list
Hotel Wolf-Dietrich
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wolf-Dietrich-Strasse 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 135 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
São Carlos, São Paulo, Brazil
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Boutique Hotel in Salzburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

The central location of the hotel makes it easy to access. Even though upon our arrival from the train station, we got to the hotel by a taxi, it can be easily reached on foot as well. We stayed in the Wolf-Dietrich Residenz, which is the building just across Wolf-Dietrich Altstadthotel, both part of the same hotel. Our room was beautifully decorated in a classical style. We had a big TV screen, a comfortable bed and a nice bathtub. There was also a fully equipped minibar and we liked the bonus of the room, though we didn’t use it - a DVD player, with movies available for rent in the hall of the opposite building. We had to use the stairs to reach the fourth floor. The fact that we had to cross the street to have breakfast didn't bother us, since we got to enjoy the view of the mountain hills of Salzburg first thing in the morning. We had a variety of choices for breakfast (different kinds of cheese, ham, yogurt, fruit, juice, tea and coffee). The staff was friendly and gave us directions and maps of the city. We would consider the hotel again as our best option if we return to the breathtaking city of Salzburg.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    254
    80
    25
    5
See reviews for
195
289
39
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Check in was pleasant. The hotel is in a quite street in the old town of Salzburg abot 10 mins walk to the river . The rooms are clean, nice size and bed comfortable. There is coffee and biscuits for afternoon tea if you are around in the little lounge/bar area. The breakfast selection is small but still enough for us and the supervisor at breakfast was really friendly on the days we stayed. We got a farewell gift of gingerbread biscuits when we left - nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Very nice and noisy dubbelrooms in this location! A little very good hotel in the centre. I liked best the very clean Spa area und the procecco for brackfast. The service is very, very friendly! I will come back everytime i can!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed at the Wolf Dietrich for two nights and were very pleased with our stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful and allowed us to check-in several hours early. We stayed in the Residence part of the hotel (the building across the street) and found the vibe a great combination of historic charm and modern details. The location was ideal and it was easy for us to walk to everything. We would definitely recommend the Wolf Dietrich hotel for anyone staying in Salzburg.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We have just spent a wonderful Christmas break in Salzburg. We stayed at the Wolf-Dietrich and were pleased with every aspect of the stay. The initial reception was good and although we arrived very early (9:45am) 2 of our 3 rooms were ready and they allowed us early access which enabled us to uffload our bags. We had hired a car for the occasion and there was plenty of parking for loading and unloading at the hotel, with an overnight carpark (€15 per 24 hrs) very close by. The hotel has a great breakfast with very welcoming and helpful staff, it also has a lounge/bar with snacks. The downside was no formal restaurant, but that gave us the opportunity to sample the many fine local restaurants and the hotel helped us, prior to our arrival, with the restaurant bookings for our main Christmas Eve and Christmas Day meals. The hotel is the other side of the river from the town centre, but still only a maximum of 15 minutes walk from any of Salburg's central attractions.
DVD players in every room and a good selection of DVDs available to borrow in reception, meant that the children were entertained prior to bed. We didn't use the pool/fitness centre but that is a great plus for those who want it. Overall a great family experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

The hotel was very clean and solidly appointed in the standard rooms. We had a suite which was a "theme room" with a faux tree in it and "island theme." The tub was designed for someone 5'3" max. It didn't feel remotely European. The staff was helpful and the hotel breakfast was good. The street was quiet and the overall location was excellent.

Room Tip: Don't take a suite unless you have small children who would appreciate The Disney World accommo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chobham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We went to Salzburg for the Christmas Markets last weekend and had a perfect stay at Wolf Dietrich. The location was great as it was an easy walk to get to the old town and all of the major sights. It is close to Mirabell Gardens and transportation. The hotel staff was very helpful. When we needed to have an additional cot set in our room, they were quick to oblige. They also gave us very good instructions on getting to Hellbrunn palace and advice on what to see with our three kids along for the trip. They offered an extensive collection of videos to rent as the only channels available were all in German. The breakfast was adequate and everyone found something to eat. My youngest loved the hot cocoa each morning. One thing that was missing was English or Irish Breakfast tea. They had many other flavors, but sadly this simple tea was missing from the selection. I overheard another couple lamenting the same thing. Overall, the hotel was great, the room was comfortable. We had a suite with a loft that accommodated all 5 of us. The kids wanted to spend the weekend in the room! Thanks for a great holiday.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Wolf-Dietrich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wolf-Dietrich

Address: Wolf-Dietrich-Strasse 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Salzburg
#14 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#14 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#15 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#17 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wolf-Dietrich 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wolf-Dietrich Altstadthotel & Residenz is situated in the city centre of Salzburg and offers absolute comfort in a central location. It consists of two buildings, Altstadthotel and the Residenz, located opposite each other in a quiet side street of the city’s pedestrian area. No matter whether you are enjoying your family holiday in Salzburg, whether you are a loving couple, searching for culture and sightseeing or if you are on a business trip to this World Heritage Sight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, seekda GmbH, Hotwire, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Wolf-Dietrich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolf Dietrich Hotel Salzburg
Hotel Wolf Dietrich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Wolf-Dietrich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.