We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but service could be better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Wolf-Dietrich

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Wolf-Dietrich to your Saves list
Hotel Wolf-Dietrich
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wolf-Dietrich-Strasse 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 136 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good hotel but service could be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is a lovely property. The location was very nice, close to many of the sites of Salzburg and near some great restaurants. The room was very clean, was well decorated and was unusually roomy for a European room. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. My biggest issue with the hotel was the service. The staff at check in was very nice. But after that, the least little request seem to be a complete bother to them. They were not very helpful with directions or restaurant recommendations. They seem annoyed when we asked for a taxi. I would also add that the breakfast selection was rather mediocre. One other issue to note...keep your windows closed. Otherwise you will wake up each morning to the cacophony of church bells. It's not something that can be helped because of all of the surrounding churches, but something to be aware of. Overall, I would recommend the hotel for a nice room and great location.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    268
    90
    29
    5
See reviews for
214
321
43
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Hotel Wolf-Dietrich was wonderful surprise with spacious rooms and a great location in an amazing City. Being located just over the bridge from the Aldstadt it made for lovely, short strolls to all the sightseeing spots. Happy to have stumbled upon this hotel and hope to be back very soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed here in Sept 2013. The hotel was very attractive - our room/bath was much larger than expected, clean, & had comfortable beds. Staff was very helpful, friendly, & spoke good English. Breakfast was tasty with a good variety. The location was great, easy walking distance to all of the sights in historic Salzburg. If you do rent a car, they can hook you up with a parking garage also located within walking distance. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed here with our teenage daughter and had a large 2 bedroom apt. The bathroom was large and modern. We had a TV that we could rent free movies downstairs and watch. It was very nice and comfortable. The Hotel is centrally located and were able to walk everywhere. Breakfast was included and was very nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Lima, MG
Level Contributor
164 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The hotel is in a good location, near the historical center of Salzburg, about ten minutes across the river. The staff is professional and helpful, the breakfast good and the rooms quite comfortable. All in all, it is a very pleasant choice.
One strong point in the hotel is its spa. Hotel saunas tend to be minuscule, but not this one, with dry and steam saunas and infra-red booth. It is textile-free, as usual in Austria (the indoor swimming pool isn't).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I found this hotel to be perfect for my 3 night stay in Salzburg last week. A great location in a very nice area and just a short walk down to the river. Breakfast was excellent and couldn't ask for more. The room was clean and well looked after and the staff were always friendly and helpful. If I had any complaint it would be that my room was hot and uncomfortable but that's only a minor thing. I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This was recommended to us by friends so we were pleased it lived up to its hype! Only real downsize was staying in the annexe (despite booking confirmation stating we were in the main building) as we got soaked walking across road to breakfast. Spacious room with bath in bathroom.
Breakfast was great - hot and cold choices, something for everyone!
Afternoon tea/coffee and cake a lovely idea - we missed lunch a couple of times owing to large breakfast so this saw us through to dinner.
Great location away from Aldstadt, about ten minute walk away but close to many restaurants and shops.
A good size local SPAR saved us form the dear mini-bar prices!
Free use of internet Pc enabled us to book further hotels for our trip and keep up to date via email with the family. Free wifi in room too. Large tv but few English channels, loved the livecam of Grossglockner on channel on 209, made up for the fact that we couldn't go up there owing to bad weather.
Parking is only 2 blocks away undercover for the princely sum of 15 euros per night.
Cons - hard towels, small bath towel, no toiletry top-ups, no bar atmosphere, small swimming pool.
Try local Altur Fuchs restaurant just around the corner - great local food and plenty atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#5 of 136 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 907 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Auersperg
Hotel Auersperg
#4 of 136 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 742 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
#1 of 136 in Salzburg
5.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#17 of 136 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 736 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Elefant
Hotel Elefant
#14 of 136 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wolf-Dietrich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wolf-Dietrich

Address: Wolf-Dietrich-Strasse 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Salzburg
#16 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#16 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#17 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#18 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wolf-Dietrich 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wolf-Dietrich Altstadthotel & Residenz is situated in the city centre of Salzburg and offers absolute comfort in a central location. It consists of two buildings, Altstadthotel and the Residenz, located opposite each other in a quiet side street of the city’s pedestrian area. No matter whether you are enjoying your family holiday in Salzburg, whether you are a loving couple, searching for culture and sightseeing or if you are on a business trip to this World Heritage Sight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Venere, Agoda, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Wolf-Dietrich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolf Dietrich Hotel Salzburg
Hotel Wolf Dietrich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Wolf-Dietrich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.