We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Wolf-Dietrich

Save Saved
You added Hotel Wolf-Dietrich to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Wolf-Dietrich
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wolf-Dietrich-Strasse 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 135 hotels in Salzburg
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Loved it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I found this hotel to be perfect for my 3 night stay in Salzburg last week. A great location in a very nice area and just a short walk down to the river. Breakfast was excellent and couldn't ask for more. The room was clean and well looked after and the staff were always friendly and helpful. If I had any complaint it would be that my room was hot and uncomfortable but that's only a minor thing. I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    314
    223
    69
    22
    5
See reviews for
178
251
36
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This was recommended to us by friends so we were pleased it lived up to its hype! Only real downsize was staying in the annexe (despite booking confirmation stating we were in the main building) as we got soaked walking across road to breakfast. Spacious room with bath in bathroom.
Breakfast was great - hot and cold choices, something for everyone!
Afternoon tea/coffee and cake a lovely idea - we missed lunch a couple of times owing to large breakfast so this saw us through to dinner.
Great location away from Aldstadt, about ten minute walk away but close to many restaurants and shops.
A good size local SPAR saved us form the dear mini-bar prices!
Free use of internet Pc enabled us to book further hotels for our trip and keep up to date via email with the family. Free wifi in room too. Large tv but few English channels, loved the livecam of Grossglockner on channel on 209, made up for the fact that we couldn't go up there owing to bad weather.
Parking is only 2 blocks away undercover for the princely sum of 15 euros per night.
Cons - hard towels, small bath towel, no toiletry top-ups, no bar atmosphere, small swimming pool.
Try local Altur Fuchs restaurant just around the corner - great local food and plenty atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchorage
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Very comfortable stay, easy walking distance to good restaurants and sites. It's and easy 5 minute walk to the Danube with several shops and restaurants along the way. Then across the river is the main "tourist" walk way with more shops and restaurants.

Rooms were very comfortable. Breakfast was sumptuous. Very Nice Spa. Would stay here in a heart beat. People were friendly and helpful

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Wish we could have stayed more than 2 nights at this hotel! The room was very comfortable - clean, comfortable bed, nice bathroom. And the breakfast was really good with plenty of choices. The staff was very friendly and helpful, with two great suggestions for dinners the two nights we were there. The only disappointment was that they did not have any TV channels in English, which I thought was odd, given that they had so many English speaking guests. not even the BBC was available. Other than that, we had no complaints. We were in the annex across the street, which was perfectly fine and did not cause any inconvenience. The hotel is not right next to the Alt Stadt and pedestrian area, but close enough to make for a very pleasant walk, with some nice shops, restaurants, etc. close by. Great value and would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The location of the hotel is good. It is not within the old town but 10 minutes walking distance to all locations. We stayed in a family room,which was quite spacious. Interestingly only problem was the double bed staying in the living area of the room and three single beds were in a private room. We left our luggage at the reception but when we came back we recognized they lost one of the bags. Though the experience was not good, they and we managed the situation calmly and the luggage was found within 20 minutes

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed here in early October. Easily walkable from the station and even nearer to the old town. We arrived mid morning but that was no problem - we could leave our bags securely in reception and were free to explore the town. On return later in the afternoon, we were shown our room (which was across the street in the Residenz) and our bags were already there. Nothing was too much trouble. Coffee and cakes available in the lounge area every afternoon until 17:00. The room in the Residenz was excellent - clean, modern and spacious with a very comfortable bed. All in all an excellent stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our train arrived from Vienna at 4am and we were able to walk to the hotel. They even accommodated an early check-in at that hour! The apartments are a block away from the hotel. They are stylish and the bed was extremely comfortable. Walking distance to all attractions. Absolutely loved our stay here. Reception is very very helpful and gracious. Don't forget to check out the sauna and the pool. They were added bonus. Oh, also, breakfast buffet was free when we were there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Wolf-Dietrich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wolf-Dietrich

Address: Wolf-Dietrich-Strasse 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Salzburg
#10 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#15 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#16 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#18 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wolf-Dietrich 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wolf-Dietrich Altstadthotel & Residenz is situated in the city centre of Salzburg and offers absolute comfort in a central location. It consists of two buildings, Altstadthotel and the Residenz, located opposite each other in a quiet side street of the city’s pedestrian area. No matter whether you are enjoying your family holiday in Salzburg, whether you are a loving couple, searching for culture and sightseeing or if you are on a business trip to this World Heritage Sight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Wolf-Dietrich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolf Dietrich Hotel Salzburg
Hotel Wolf Dietrich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Wolf-Dietrich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.