We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value and Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Wolf-Dietrich

Save Saved
You added Hotel Wolf-Dietrich to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Wolf-Dietrich
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wolf-Dietrich-Strasse 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #17 of 135 hotels in Salzburg
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Value and Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I was a guest at Hotel Wolf-Dietrich in December 2012. Our room was in the Residence across the street from the main hotel building. The room was clean and nicely decorated. The bed and pillows were comfortable which is my biggest issue with a lot of European hotels. The only complaint I might have is that the only mirror in the room is in the bathroom which is tiled with black tile making the room extremely dark even with all the lights on. This wasn't that big of an issue to me but it might bother some people. The breakfast buffet was served every morning in the main hotel building and had a good variety of foods from which to choose. The hotel was across the river from the Old Town but all tourist attractions were still a walkable distance. We did not have to use public transportation the entire visit. The hotel receptionists were very polite and helpful. I would recommend the Hotel Wolf-Dietrich if you are looking for a moderately price hotel that is comfortable but don't want to spend the money for luxury accommodations.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    336
    237
    80
    23
    7
See reviews for
171
242
36
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Michigan
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My family (myself, husband & 14 year old daughter) stayed here right before New Year's Day. The hotel was right around the corner from the Neue Stadt shopping district, which was lovely. The hotel has two parts - one on each side of the street. We were in the Residence section. The room was clean when we arrived, but only towels and glasses were replaced the next two days. It was difficult to have anything but scalding water in the tub, which had seen better days. Furnishings were rather a mix of pieces - some contemporary but showing their age. A hot & cold breakfast buffet was provided, but was very minimal. The desk staff was great though, and overall I'd probably stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

My favorite hotel on a 16 day European trip. Spent 3 nights in the main building, very comfortable with a great central location and nice breakfast and dining area, with afternoon tea. Staff was very knowledgeable and extremely helpful setting up activities, The only hotel where they took me to my room and carried my luggage! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outside DC
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed in the family suite (Room 402) in the Residence for one night. The room was clean and comfortable and we enjoyed the stay. The decor (especially the bath) is a little dated but that is an appearance issue only.

Room tip: This room has a loft that is not closed off to the lower level where the sleeper sofa (which served as the only other bed) was located. So, there isn't a separate closed private area (such as a bedroom) in this room. No big deal for us but it could be for others.

The location of this hotel is excellent and the staff were generally friendly and helpful with one minor exception where one of the persons working the front desk wasn't all that friendly. He wasn't unfriendly, though.

Overall 4 stars.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, VA USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Here for my annual holiday trip to Salzburg and my annual stay at the Wolf-Dietrich. It's home for me. The staff, the breakfast buffet, that glorious sauna ... it's all part of Christmas here.

I'm sure there are fancier hotels in Salzburg, more modern and more trendy, but the Wolf-Dietrich is the place for me, filled with Old World charm (the afternoon tea and cakes) and complete with a staff, each of whom makes you feel special and welcome.

You won't regret deciding to stay here. In fact, you may never want to leave.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Great location and decent price within walking distance of everything.
Charming old world charm. Our room had a painted ceiling with little lights like stars at night. Quite charming. Since it was on a side street off the main boulevard, it was quiet. Yet we were very close to everything.
A very nice buffet breakfast is served in the morning.
Enjoyed my stay here very much.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Wolf-Dietrich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wolf-Dietrich

Address: Wolf-Dietrich-Strasse 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Salzburg
#9 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#14 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#14 Business Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wolf-Dietrich 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wolf-Dietrich Altstadthotel & Residenz is situated in the city centre of Salzburg and offers absolute comfort in a central location. It consists of two buildings, Altstadthotel and the Residenz, located opposite each other in a quiet side street of the city’s pedestrian area. No matter whether you are enjoying your family holiday in Salzburg, whether you are a loving couple, searching for culture and sightseeing or if you are on a business trip to this World Heritage Sight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel Wolf-Dietrich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolf Dietrich Hotel Salzburg
Hotel Wolf Dietrich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Wolf-Dietrich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.