We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Wolf-Dietrich

Save Saved
You added Hotel Wolf-Dietrich to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Wolf-Dietrich
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wolf-Dietrich-Strasse 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #17 of 135 hotels in Salzburg
Outside DC
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Good Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed in the family suite (Room 402) in the Residence for one night. The room was clean and comfortable and we enjoyed the stay. The decor (especially the bath) is a little dated but that is an appearance issue only.

Room tip: This room has a loft that is not closed off to the lower level where the sleeper sofa (which served as the only other bed) was located. So, there isn't a separate closed private area (such as a bedroom) in this room. No big deal for us but it could be for others.

The location of this hotel is excellent and the staff were generally friendly and helpful with one minor exception where one of the persons working the front desk wasn't all that friendly. He wasn't unfriendly, though.

Overall 4 stars.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    336
    237
    80
    23
    7
See reviews for
171
242
36
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lynchburg, VA USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Here for my annual holiday trip to Salzburg and my annual stay at the Wolf-Dietrich. It's home for me. The staff, the breakfast buffet, that glorious sauna ... it's all part of Christmas here.

I'm sure there are fancier hotels in Salzburg, more modern and more trendy, but the Wolf-Dietrich is the place for me, filled with Old World charm (the afternoon tea and cakes) and complete with a staff, each of whom makes you feel special and welcome.

You won't regret deciding to stay here. In fact, you may never want to leave.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Great location and decent price within walking distance of everything.
Charming old world charm. Our room had a painted ceiling with little lights like stars at night. Quite charming. Since it was on a side street off the main boulevard, it was quiet. Yet we were very close to everything.
A very nice buffet breakfast is served in the morning.
Enjoyed my stay here very much.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We had a great stay...can´t say enough of this lovely hotel. We arrived Sep/30/2012 and stayed in the main building, in a room facing the back of the hotel, with a very nice view (see photos). The room was small, but well furnished and very clean, with a flat TV and DVD player, and a comfortable bed. Please note there is not bath tub, just a small shower. The hotel, even as it´s located in an old building, looks new inside. The staff was very friendly, smiling all the time. A great breakfast was included and served in a really nice buffet area. The hotel is located in a beautiful zone within walking distance of Old Town and most attractions, including the Hohensalzburg Castle, Mozart home, the Dom and other churches and lots of restaurants and stores. The free Wi-Fi worked flawlessly. The hotel is on a dead end street, so it´s very quiet at night. We paid USD$130 daily, worth every penny. Really had a fantastic stay, I highly recommend this hotel, specially for romantic getaways.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room in the main buliding - I read some complaints regarding the residence bulid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Salzburg can be pricey on hotels and despite the Wolf Dietrich not being the cheapest (averages 152 euros a night if booked on a walk in basis) you do get a damn good nights sleep with big rooms a huge hearty buffet breakfast and access to the lovely sauna, steamroom and pool between 8am and 10pm. Located on the Linzergasse which is next to Mozarts grave site it is an ideal spot. It is about a five minute walk down the road to put you in the centre of Salzburg. We have stayed here on many occasions and .......don't forget cakes, apple strudle and coffee served at 3pm for free !!!

A very nice hotel !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We had a fantastic stay in May 2011. We stayed in the residence across the road with our 3 yr old. Lots of stairs to get to our room but for us this was not a problem as no buggy, I don't recall a lift so would be worth checking on this before booking if this would be important to you. Our room was lovely and our daughters single bed was set into a recess which was perfect for her (no worries about her falling out). The electric black out blinds (once we figured out how to use them) we're excellent to fool our daughter into thinking it was still dark to get an almost lay-in.

The staff were always friendly and helpful, with excellent English. Breakfast was good, staff were great with our daughter and introduced her to the delights of hot chocolate with breakfast, making her feel very included and grown up to have a hot drink! the DVD library were free to borrow and a good selection available.

The swimming pool was very quiet while we were there and felt like a private pool. Very nice.

This hotel gave fantastic service at a very reasonable price.

The short walk into town was a nice stroll (we had good weather for the duration of the stay) and we felt the hotel had a good location. We had to rearrange our trip planned for Christmas markets to the following May but still found lots to do.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Wolf-Dietrich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wolf-Dietrich

Address: Wolf-Dietrich-Strasse 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#14 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#14 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#17 Spa Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wolf-Dietrich 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wolf-Dietrich Altstadthotel & Residenz is situated in the city centre of Salzburg and offers absolute comfort in a central location. It consists of two buildings, Altstadthotel and the Residenz, located opposite each other in a quiet side street of the city’s pedestrian area. No matter whether you are enjoying your family holiday in Salzburg, whether you are a loving couple, searching for culture and sightseeing or if you are on a business trip to this World Heritage Sight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel Wolf-Dietrich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolf Dietrich Hotel Salzburg
Hotel Wolf Dietrich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Wolf-Dietrich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.