We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Salzburg” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Wolf-Dietrich

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Wolf-Dietrich to your Saves list
Hotel Wolf-Dietrich
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wolf-Dietrich-Strasse 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Toronto
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Super Salzburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We really enjoying Salzburg, it is a beautiful little city between the mountains and a river. The millenia old Fortress stands above the city watching over her. This city is so much more than the "Sound of Music" tour. And the Wolf Dietrich is a nice period hotel in a great spot, handy to downtown and the old city. Great service, very friendly and very helpful. Great value, very nice breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    244
    74
    24
    5
See reviews for
187
279
38
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Wolf-Dietrich for a short break in February 2012 and it was brilliant, we had the suite that was decorated with parrots and trees and had fairy lights in the ceiling, it was so off the wall but totally brilliant. It wouldn't be for everyone but if you have a sense of humour and like quirky than this is for you! The hotel is situated just around the corner from the main town but it's in a very quiet location. Breakfast was amazing but the highlight was the free afternoon cake and tea every day, especially as Salzburg is always so cold it warmed you up a treat! I'd stay here again in a heart beat, infact I've already started looking in to when I can go!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

Hotel Wolf- Deitrick 

Wow what a GREAT Hotel. 
Where do you start. 

Staff are amazing. 

Hot Breakfast Buffet 10/10.  

Brand new rooms where they spared no expense in quality of furnishings, air conditioning, bathroom fixtures etc. 

Cake and coffee included every afternoon

Hundreds of DVDs for the evening if to much touring in the lovely city of Salzburg. 

Location to the walking streets GREAT.  

I spend alot of time in Hotels with my day job and I can easily say best value for the dollar I have spent on vacation. 

The Un-believable great staff was just and added bonus. 

9.75/10

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney,Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I actually found this place through Trip Advisor.I gave it 4 stars because it is very clean and the staff are friendly and helpful, even though my single room was quite small.It has a small pool, but you can turn the jet on if you want to do "laps",also steam room and sauna.There is a nice area to relax near the bar.The breakfast is excellent and included in the room rate. You can easily walk to the "Old Town",the station is about 15 minutes walk but a taxi is only around 8 Euros.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Wolf-Dietrich Hotel in Salzburg. The location is very good---in a pedestrian only zone right off the Staatsbrucke bridge across the river from old town. It's a bit quieter and less hectic there than in old town--so it depends on what you like. The value for the money was very good---we had a split level two bedroom two bath family apartment for our family of four for a bit over 200 euro---not bad. It was on the top floor with views of the city. The breakfast was pretty basic. As an added bonus the hotel had a pool and spa(steam room, sauna, massage) which we also enjoyed.

Room Tip: Family apartment in top floor of annex (room 401) is very good for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed here on the advice of some friends who stayed in the family suite. It was not available, so we stayed in two superior double rooms with our teen daughters. Charming ambiance, smaller hotel close to mirabell park for tours. Quick 10 minute walk to everything. No ac, but as Americans living in Zurich, we are used to this and the fan with windows ajar was perfect. Clean, spacious for Europe. And wifi! Important with kids! Breakfast was wonderful with American and european standards covered. Great service, helpful restaurant advice, and parking around the block. Will recommend to all our friends and would stay gain.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

The hotel location is very nice. Close to the train station, easy to access public transportation and everything is walkable. It's on the far north end of town, but it's close to Mirabell Palace and some of the tour starting points. The room, however, was very strangely laid out. The bathroom was huge, but unnecessarily so. The bedroom wrapped around a corner somehow. The bed was not comfortable and the pillows TOO soft. Beware that there is no AC and the summer temperatures in the mountains are usually cooler, but erratic. The room needs painting, the walls need patching and the decor needs updating. We looked at the swimming pool and it seems that all of the capital was put into this area. It looked very nice, but was empty. Be prepared for the bells from the neighboring chuch ringing early in the AM. The breakfast was good and the service was terrific. The staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Wolf-Dietrich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wolf-Dietrich

Address: Wolf-Dietrich-Strasse 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Salzburg
#13 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#14 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#15 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wolf-Dietrich 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wolf-Dietrich Altstadthotel & Residenz is situated in the city centre of Salzburg and offers absolute comfort in a central location. It consists of two buildings, Altstadthotel and the Residenz, located opposite each other in a quiet side street of the city’s pedestrian area. No matter whether you are enjoying your family holiday in Salzburg, whether you are a loving couple, searching for culture and sightseeing or if you are on a business trip to this World Heritage Sight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, seekda GmbH, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Wolf-Dietrich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolf Dietrich Hotel Salzburg
Hotel Wolf Dietrich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Wolf-Dietrich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.