We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Romantic Suite in Austria!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Wolf-Dietrich

Save Saved
You added Hotel Wolf-Dietrich to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Wolf-Dietrich
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wolf-Dietrich-Strasse 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 135 hotels in Salzburg
California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Most Romantic Suite in Austria!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We stayed in the magic flute suite and it was the most romantic room I have stayed in, and we travel a lot. There was rose pedals and chocolates on the bed, special lighting, comfy bed, spacious room. The hotel has a nice pool/spa area as well, which was very enjoyable. The tub is romantic looking, but not practical for a shower (Hand held). That is the only negative I could say about this suite. Everything else was fabulous, including the staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    319
    226
    70
    23
    5
See reviews for
182
256
36
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, Ca
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

Jorg Scuhr, (I think he is the manager) at this hotel provided four weary travelers with the best service we received anywhere during our 2-week trip to the Czech Republic and Austria. We arrived before check-in, were allowed to store our bags and took off to explore. We knew that we were in the annex across the street with no lift, but that was all right. Well, when we returned, our bags had been taken to our room for us-what a delightful surprise! The complimentary snacks in the afternoon were also a great touch. One of the travelers used the pool and sauna and said they were pristine and very relaxing. Any question or request was handled most professionally by each staff member we encountered. Finally, when we asked what time the buffet would open on the day we were to leave, we discovered it would be after the time we need to get to the airport. Jorg, however, said they would fix some small sandwiches for us to take with us. Instead, one of the staff arrived early, made coffee and juice and provided fruit and sandwiches. Amazing.
I should also mention that our room was large, recently renovated (?) spotless and comfortable, and the hotel is in the perfect location for exploring Salzburg. I highly recommend Wolf Dietrich!

Room Tip: Our room was very quiet even though it fronted on a street. We were in the annex across the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW JERSEY, USA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011 via mobile

Beware tho
They have an annex across the street.six flights of steps to get to third floor. No elevator
You gave to cross the street back to main bldg to eat their great breakfast. Great location
Walkable to all main Salzburg sites.
Front desk friendly but cold

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

We stayed at the Wolf-Dietrich Hotel in Salzburg, Austria for 4 nights in late September 2011. The location was in the new town section of Salzburg but we found that it was convenient to all tourist sites, the railroad station, and to buses to Berchtesgaden. We liked the location better than the old town section.
The cost was reasonable, the room and bathroom clean and comfortable. Once in a while there was some street noise from people but we had the windows open. We stayed in the annex section and the room was very good. We were on the third floor (4th floor in U.S. terms) and there was no elevator. The was the only major drawback of this hotel. After a long day of walking the trip of 4 flights of stairs was tiring and sometimes daunting. We tried to avoid going back to the room after breakfast or after a trip to the local ATM. The reception did carry our heavy bags up the stairs when we checked in in the afternoon and they did carry our bags down the stairs when we checked out. There is a safe in the room.

The breakfasts were wonderful. They had the standard meat cold cuts, cheese, cereals, bread, good coffee and other drinks, and a sweet roll of some kind. However, they also had scrambled eggs made from real eggs, soft boiled eggs and lox. The orange juice was fresh and they had fresh fruit (including mangoes, pineapple, apples, etc.) cut up for a fruit salad. It was better than the breakfast we had in our Vienna hotel (which did not have scrambled eggs or lox or fresh cut up fruit) and far better than the breakfast we had at our hotel in Prague (which had canned fruit salad, hard boiled eggs and a coffee machine).

There was an ATM one block from the hotel. We were 1/2 block from Linzer Gasse which has lots of shops and restaurants including bakeries with fresh, beautiful and tasty pastries. It was a short walk to Mirabell Palace which has very good evening concerts, Mozart's house which was interesting, and Steingasse which is a wonderful street for a stroll with a local restaurant near the end that was simply delightful.

Although they missed a waked up call for us early in the morning of our departure, the desk clerk apologized explaining that the night clerk had failed to advise him of the need to make the call. It didn't matter because we had set our alarm. The clerk then advised us we didn't need to get to the train station as early as we had planned, made us coffee even through it was prior to the regular breakfast hours. He then called us a taxi for the trip to the train station and brought our bags down the four flights of steps from the annex.
The clerks at the reception desk answered our questions about local transportation and even gave us some good suggestions regarding catching a public transit bus for our trip to Berchtesgaden for the Eagle's Nest tour. We also took the afternoon Lakes and Mountains tour offered by Panorama Tours and we caught the tour bus right by the Mirabell Palace.
Other than the lack of an elevator, we really liked this hotel and its location. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in late July after driving in from Ingolstad. We had just picked up our new Audi, so secure parking was important. The location is in a pleasant commercial area that's an easy walk over the bridge to Salzburg's old town and we never had to drive anywhere once we arrived. The room we had was somewhat nondescript but quiet and large and on the back side of the hotel that afforded a terrific view of the old town across the river. The bath was and separated from the bedroom by a short hallway (still within the room.) There was plenty of storage space, a sofa, coffee table and two large windows. We knew that we took a chance with a hotel that didn't have A/C in July, and it was uncomfortably warm late in the afternoon. Even though we closed the curtains, it was too sunny to nap. We enjoyed the breakfasts with lots of food choices, waitresses that brought coffee or tea, and plenty of seating. The front desk staff was very pleasant, and the room was cleaned thoroughly each day.The first night we stayed, we had a wonderful dinner at the Stiftskeller St, Peter -- the oldest restaurant in Austria, dating back to 803! This hotel is a good choice for the money and we would definitely stay here again, but not in late July!

Room Tip: The rooms on the back side of the hotel offer a spectacular view of old town Salzburg.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

This is a really lovely hotel with larger suites across the road for families. Shame there are no stairs especially if you are on the top floor. If you have problems with stairs ask for the lower level. The breakfast is lovely. The offer a good supply of DVDs for guests which is good for the kids and free afternoon tea as well.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Great hotel, excellent location and good value for money. Friendly people and good breakfast.

Can recommend this hotel - especially the Romantic rooms....

Room Tip: Choose the Romantic rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Wolf-Dietrich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wolf-Dietrich

Address: Wolf-Dietrich-Strasse 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Salzburg
#10 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#14 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#15 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#16 Business Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wolf-Dietrich 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wolf-Dietrich Altstadthotel & Residenz is situated in the city centre of Salzburg and offers absolute comfort in a central location. It consists of two buildings, Altstadthotel and the Residenz, located opposite each other in a quiet side street of the city’s pedestrian area. No matter whether you are enjoying your family holiday in Salzburg, whether you are a loving couple, searching for culture and sightseeing or if you are on a business trip to this World Heritage Sight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Wolf-Dietrich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolf Dietrich Hotel Salzburg
Hotel Wolf Dietrich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Wolf-Dietrich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.