We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Carlton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Carlton to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Carlton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Markus-Sittikus-Str. 3, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Hyderabad, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 2 days. The hotel was responsive to our emails and queries. A special thanks to Alexandra for her help on the many things.

The rooms were adequate (the typical 20sqm of European hotels) and comfortable. The hotel is in a quite area but its a 5 - 7 minutes walk to the Bus stop which you can use to get around town.

The hotel went out of its way to courier my camera Charger which I had carelessly forgotten in my room when leaving in a hurry, they readily agreed to help. The gesture is much appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    108
    40
    11
    3
See reviews for
51
133
10
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Russellville, Arkansas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Location: the location is WONDERFUL! It is less than 3 minutes walking time from Mirabel and about 10ish minutes to Old Towne (depending on how fast you walk). It is like a 5 euro cab ride to the train station and a 20ish minute walk to the train station.

Hotel Staff: VERY nice and they helped with everything we needed.

Room: Water pressure in the showers were excellent. The bathtubs were great - I am 5'11" and I fit perfectly! (: Daily room cleaning. Beds were extremely comfortable. We had a room on the first floor next to the street - yes, it is a busy street so if you're a light sleeper, ask to not be in a room next to the street - it didn't bother us one bit though.

Breakfast: cost extra but it was good. Don't expect to get American-style breakfast, but the service was great - very friendly and good food.

We were there for over a week and we needed to do laundry. There is a nice laundromat about 15 minutes down the street (walking). It is called Green Clean. Very easy to use the machines. People in there were very nice and willing to help if you need it. It's a little pricier than laundromats in the states but it is quick and great quality machines. Was worth it to us.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper - ask for a room that's not next to the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The hotel is very charming, with a modern decor in a classic villa.
It is very close to the old town and directly next to the Promenade along the river. The Mirabell gardens and the Congress Center are just round the corner.

Room Tip: My room was on the first floor, directly overlooking the street, but was very quiet. It was a corne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights without breakfast. Walked about 10-15 mins from Salzburg HF to hotel as there was construction everywhere. Check in was easy and quick, reception was warm and informative as she showed us where to go in Salzburg. Impressed by how big the room was, with the separate lounge area and a different room as ensuite. WIFI was complimentary; Room was decorated exactly like the pictures shown, quirky but modern. Shower power was amazing. Temperature in the rooms were just nice, i always like opening windows and having natural air. Was lucky to get the insider court garden view, very quiet even in the mornings. Hotel amenities were provided and rooms were serviced daily

Walking distances to cafes, restaurants, banks, atms, even a very nice garden to chill out. For the price we paid on booking.com , i think this is the golden deal. Please keep this up !
Highly Recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the insider courtyard are quieter. Facing main street are noisy. Salzburg generally pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear guest!

Thank you very much for your warm words! We're glad you've enjoyed your stay!
We would be glad to welcome you to our hotel again.

Kind regards,
Anna Sunshine Sigl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

I feel like unless the location of Salzburg was some tropical paradise, a hotel attempting to appear so modern should headline the lack of A/C. The repeatedly offered defense from hotel staff was that they never claimed to have A/C. Fair, but that's like saying they never claimed to have toilets in the bathrooms. It is 2014 in a Western European city that thrives on tourism like Branson, Missouri (where, I assure you, A/C is standard). I mean, I've payed under 20 euros for hostel dorms with A/C. Our cancellation cost 100% of the price of the rooms … which we payed to move after the heat, even with fans, was too much to bear. The derisive attitude of the hotel staff over our complaint was merely salt to the wound.

I am not in the business of deriding cultures or people and this is not Salzburg, Austria, or Europe's problem. It is this hotel's problem. You should not stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear guests,

We thank you for our stay in our hotel!
We kindly want to adjust your words a bit: As you wrote this review, you were still guests in our hotel, you also did not check our earlier. Unfortunately it is no standard in Western Europe for hotels to have A/C. As our receptionist tried to explain, it is a bit more complicated in our case. Due to our refurbishment 3 years ago we planned to build in an A/C, but the building is over 100 years and protected, we were not allowed to.
We are sorry that you could not enjoy your stay the way you should, when you are on holidays and hope you accept our apology!

Kind regards,
Anna Sunshine Sigl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Good location. Easy walking distance to the main tourist attractions. Right around the corner from Mirabell Palace and Gardens. Good sized room and ensuite. Breakfast was ok but a little pricey for what it was. Staff were helpful. Clean, modern hotel and rooms.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your stay in our hotel and thank you for your nice words!

We would be glad to welcome you to our hotel again!

Kind regards,
Anna Sunshine Sigl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monza, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Very disappointed by our stay! The hotel has been recently refurbished: rooms are nice but not at the level of a four stars hotel as it pretends to be. No frigo bar, no air conditioning, no noise proof windows which should have to be a must, considering that the rooms are on one of the most busy roads. You can hope to sleep only from three to five a.m otherwise noise is too disturbing.
Service is at bottom level, all the personnel had no attention to guests need. The first morning the lady in the breakfast room was upset with us because the reception has not informed her that we would have taken breakfast in the hotel and she was disturbed that she had to prepare some more croissants that were served us after 20 minutes.
The next day my son forgot a jacket on the hotel chair, just outside hotel door, we phone to ask to pick it up. When we came back in the hotel after two hours the jacket was still there. They had taken into no consideration our request.
Last night I was forced to park outside notwithstanding I inform them that I intended to park inside all nights. The only answer they could give me was the on fb page it was clearly specified that the parking was offered on first-in first-serve basis ! I wish I knew that at my arrival at the receptionist. All in all I would not recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: If you really want to stay in this hotel, absolutely avoid rooms facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your stay in our hotel!
Hotels get categorized every year in Austria, also the Villa Carlton. According to that we have and always had 4 stars.
Air conditioning is not standard in Austria, as our climate is not very warm. Admittedly we had some hot days this year already. Apart from that we were not allowed to build in an A/C as our building is over 100 years old and is under preservation of Salzburg. In summer months we provide fans in every room.
Our windows were built in 3 years ago and are triple noise proof, we are sorry that you were disturbed by noise.
We are also sorry about the incidents at the breakfast and at the reception we informed our staff and apologize for them.

Kind regards,
Anna Sunshine Sigl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Carlton

Address: Markus-Sittikus-Str. 3, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#17 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#18 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Carlton 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Carlton is just a few steps from the Mirabell Gardens and the Salzburg Congress Centre. Salzburg Main Train Station and the Old Town are 700 metres away. Free Wi-Fi is available. The spacious, individually designed rooms at this boutique hotel feature a flat-screen satellite TV, a safe, and an iPod docking station. Bicycles can be rented by guests of Hotel Villa Carlton between 1st May and 31st October. Theatre, concert and sightseeing tickets can be reserved at the reception. A bar is available in the elegant lounge. Private parking is available in Villa Carlton's courtyard, and a public parking garage is 500 metres away. The Kongresshaus Bus Stop (lines 1 and 2) is just a few steps away. The promenade along the Salzach River is only a few metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Salzburg
Nh Hotel Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Carlton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.