We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very little to complain about!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Carlton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Carlton to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Carlton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Markus-Sittikus-Str. 3, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 136 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very little to complain about!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two nights in December. It's located in a beautiful old building with an updated, modern interior look. It's about a 15 minute enjoyable walk along the river to the old town. The walk, however, did get a little cold in December but that was expected. Beautiful stroll at night with all the lights. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet even though there was street construction outside. In our room the bathroom layout was not a favorite in that the w/c is in a closet by itself and the shower and wash basin are roughly 4-5 feet away through another door. So after using the w/c we had to walk to the shower/wash basin area to wash hands. The staff was friendly and helpful. There is parking for a fee in a typical small parking lot. Also available is a comfortable lobby with sitting area.We never tried breakfast but found a Cup&Cino out the door to the left about a block away. Great breakfast choices (ask for menu) at very reasonable price. We also liked Cafe Mozart in the old town for dinner. In the future we will not rule out the The Villa Carlton. It's a good bang for the buck but we may consider staying closer to the old town.

Room Tip: Stay on higher floor on back side away from street exposure.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear guest,
first of all we thank you very much for your stay in our Hotel Villa Carlton in Salzburg.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked our individual an modern design. All our floors are decorated in different styles, from Pop-Art to elegant aswell as traditional and modern design. Please consider, that If your bathroom layout was not your favourite one, we also offer rooms with a different layout.
The walking distance to the historical city center of Salzburg is approx. 10 minutes. In the warmer season our guests can take advantage of our free bike rental service, so they can reach the center in a few minutes.
In the end we would like to thank you for your positive and kind review of your stay in our Boutiquehotel and it would be a pleasure to welcoming you again in our Hotel Villa Carlton soon.
Best regards
Anna Sunshine Sigl / Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    137
    44
    12
    3
See reviews for
66
159
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North East England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Managed to get a bargain break here, although we only paid for a normal twin room we were given a free upgrade to a suite without asking. There was a living room, separate bedroom & shower room, all beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean. A good selection of breakfast foods (continental style, and not included in the cost of the room) and helpful English speaking receptionists. A free map of Salzburg was provided along with information on how to get around the city. A 10-15 minute walk along the riverbank gets you to the city center. Hot drinks are available at reception, although no drink making facilities are available in the bedrooms (perhaps this is normal for Austria, but unusual for UK visitors).

Room Tip: 110 is a nice suite, whilst overlooking the road the double glazing cuts out the noise & a priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear guest,
first of all we thank you very much for your stay in our Hotel Villa Carlton. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit aswell as your free upgrade and felt comfortable during your stay in our Boutiquehotel and were interely happy with our service.
We would like to thank you for your positive and kind feedback of your experience in our hotel and it would be a pleasure for us welcoming you again in our Hotel Villa Carlton soon.
Best regards
Anna Sunshine Sigl / Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
116 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Booked our room (suite) and was pleased when we arrived. Check in quick, room clean and neat, bathroom nice (BYO small wash cloths -- none are provided) hotel facilities nice and modern. Breakfast was fine but overpriced for quantity - we preferred to walk to city to cafes each morning. If walking is an issue this may not be the best choice --getting to city center requires approximately a mile hike each direction. Rooms could use a little more soundproofing just be aware if you are a light sleeper. Also ask for a room not facing the street if noise bothers you.
Our major complaint - there are no full size beds simply two twins together - don't care if they do tell you they will provide a sheet for the crack between the beds - it doesn't work. They should pony up and purchase full size beds and people would stop rehashing this complaint again and again! Also wi-fi is very iffy so be prepared to be kicked off constantly.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear guest,
first of all we thank your very much for your stay in our Hotel Villa Carlton. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and felt comfortable in your suite. We have already reacted to your request of a small wash cloth, they are now available upon demand.
Our hotel is centrally located, within approx. 10 walking minutes you can reach the historical city center. When the weather allows it, our guests can also take advantage of our free bike rental to get around in Salzburg!
Concerning your complaint about the beds, we would like to explain, that all our rooms are equipped with 2 beds. This way our rooms can be turned into a twin or into a double room. When prepared as a double, we try to find a solution fort he crack in between, promised!
Our wi-fi is usually quite stable, so if it was not in your case, we could have done something about it if we had known.
In the end, we would like to thank your for your positive comment and we would be pleased welcoming your once again in our Boutiquehotel.
Best regards
Anna Sunshine Sigl / Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We picked the hotel after having read the great reviews. While our stay wasn't too bad, this is clearly not a 4 stars hotel. First of all, there is neither a mini-bar nor a tea maker/coffee maker in the room. Yes, there is one down-stairs, but for a supposed 4* you would expect to have something in the room.
After our first night they also didn't make up the room, so we came back to a messy room and no fresh towels. We told the front desk and they gave us a drink coupon, but still... you'd expect to have your room made.
In the room there was only 1 pillow per person - again would have been nice to have 2 each.
Didn't have breakfast here, so can't say how that is.

The location isn't too bad, but it is around 10-15 minutes walk into the centre of Salzburg, so not right in the middle of things, but in a more residential area.

For what you pay it's ok but from a supposed 4 stars hotel I would expect more.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear guest,
first of all we thank you very much for your stay in our Hotel Villa Carlton.
We appreciate for pointing out the good value for money, although there were a few points you complaint about. It is true, we do not offer a mini-bar or tea making facilities in our rooms, but upon request a little frigde or a water kettle are available at no extra cost.
Furthermore hot and cold drinks are available around the clock from the bar downstairs in our hotel lobby.
Once again we would like to apologize, because your room was not made up after the first night. We gratefully acknowledge your critic in this matter, which of course we take as an oppportunity to take action to avoid such a situation in future.
One pillow and one blanket per bed is the standard equipment in our rooms, but you are welcome to have more of them, please just ask for it.
Once again we thank you for your feedback of your stay in our Boutiquehotel and it would be a pleasure if you give us a second chance to make your stay a perfect one.
Best regards
Anna Sunshine Sigl / Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Highly recommend this boutique hotel which has tons of charm and is very clean. The hotel is an easy ten minute walk from the train station and is another ten minutes to the old town. The hotel has the European flair that most people crave but the rooms don't have the European size that you often find. The hotel lobby is a great place to relax after a day of walking around Salzburg. I've stayed in dozens of hotels in Europe and this is definitely one that I would go back to.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear guest,
we would like to thank you very much for your stay in our Hotel Villa Carlton. With great pleasure we read that we could meet up your expectations and we thank you for leaving your positive impressions about your stay for all our future guests. It would be a pleasure for us welcoming you again in our Boutiquehotel soon.
Best regards
Anna Sunshine Sigl / Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

This hotel was lovely with very spacious and modern rooms and lovely helpful staff. They also had free wifi which was so welcoming after the larger hotels such as Hiltons and intercons donot offer free wifi in their rooms. They also have parking on site at a very small cost. They also had bikes to take for free to ride to the town centre.

Room Tip: Spacious, modern rooms, Free wifi and parking on site
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear guest,
firstly we thank you very much for your stay in our Hotel Villa Carlton and we are very pleased that we could fulfill your expectations. We thank you for your lauding words and for your positive feedback about your stay for all our future guests and it would be a pleasure for us welcoming you again in our Boutiquehotel soon.
Best regards
Anna Sunshine Sigl / Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful rooms. Between us we had a suite and superior double rooms. One of the corner superior rooms was much bigger than the other! Lovely rooms although very hot in the hotel even though cold outside. We opened the window and it was fine.

Lovely breakfast and friendly staff. Walking distance to town along the river.

Such a beautiful stay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear guest,
first of all we thank you very much for your stay in our Hotel Villa Carlton in Salzburg.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and were intirely happy with your rooms and with our service. We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your positive feedback for all our future guests and it would be a great pleasure to welcoming you again in our Boutiquehotel soon.
Best regards
Anna Sunshine Sigl / Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.5 mi away
Hotel Auersperg
Hotel Auersperg
#4 of 136 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 744 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Markus Sittikus
Hotel Markus Sittikus
#58 of 136 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 stars 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
#26 of 136 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 635 reviews
0.5 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#28 of 136 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 581 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Am Dom
Hotel Am Dom
#17 of 136 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Carlton

Address: Markus-Sittikus-Str. 3, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#15 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#20 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Carlton 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Carlton is just a few steps from the Mirabell Gardens and the Salzburg Congress Centre. Salzburg Main Train Station and the Old Town are 700 metres away. Free Wi-Fi is available. The spacious, individually designed rooms at this boutique hotel feature a flat-screen satellite TV, a safe, and an iPod docking station. Bicycles can be rented by guests of Hotel Villa Carlton between 1st May and 31st October. Theatre, concert and sightseeing tickets can be reserved at the reception. A bar is available in the elegant lounge. Private parking is available in Villa Carlton's courtyard, and a public parking garage is 500 metres away. The Kongresshaus Bus Stop (lines 1 and 2) is just a few steps away. The promenade along the Salzach River is only a few metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Venere, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Villa Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Salzburg
Nh Hotel Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Carlton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.