We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location meets with nice design” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Carlton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Carlton to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Carlton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Markus-Sittikus-Str. 3, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great location meets with nice design”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The hotel is new, recently renovated from a villa design and at a great location.
The check in and our speed is perfect. They provide free wifi internet which increases the satisfaction.
We stayed at the ground floor and did not feel any problem. The room was clean, bog enough and suitable for family stays.
I recommend to the families with a long weekend vacation also. You will not need to use the cathering so much due to its location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear guest,
first of all we thank you very much for your stay in our Hotel Villa Carlton.
We are happy that you enjoyed your vacation and that we could live up your expectations concerning the modern design and the cleanliness of our Boutiquehotel. We reopened our hotel after an overall refurbishment in April 2011 and all our floors are designed in a different way, from modern-traditional over elegant style and even Pop-Art.
We thank you for taking the time to leave your positive impressions about your stay for all our future guests and it would be a pleasure for us, welcoming you and your family again in our Hotel Villa Carlton soon.
Best regards
Anna Sunshine Sigl / Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    108
    40
    11
    3
See reviews for
51
133
10
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

It's a nice experience staying at this hotel. Its worth its four stars status. The rooms are of different designs, clean and modern. The size of the room is just nice as well. The free internet access is pretty stable. It's a 15 to 20 mins walk to the old town and probably around 10 mins drive to the train station. We took cabs to and fro the train station to the hotel as it's pretty reasonable at around Euro 6. It is also near the Mirabell gardens which has a bus stop where you can catch bus 25 to Bad Ischl and then Hallstatt. It's one block away from the river if you fancy the river view.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear guest,
firstly we thank you very much for your stay in our Hotel Villa Carlton. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Salzburg and in the surrounding country. With pleasure we read, that you felt very comfortable in our Boutiquehotel and we thank you for your kind and positive review.
It would be a pleasure for us welcoming you again in our hotel soon.
Kind regards
Anna Sunshine Sigl / Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Loved, loved, loved visiting Salzburg for the first time, and the Villa Carlton contributed to that. We got one of the suite rooms, which was a nice break to give everything a little extra space and privacy in the room. Great to hang out in the lobby and have a beer at the end of a long day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your stay in our Hotel Villa Carlton. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your first time visit to our beautiful city Salzburg and that you felt comfortable with your accomodation and had a good time in our bar in our lobby.
We thank you for taking the time to leave your positive feedback for us and all our future guests and we hope to welcome you again in our Boutiquehotel soon.
Best regards
Anna Sunshine Sigl / Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed in a suite on the second floor with our 16 month old son who loved the hotel as much as we did. The furnishing and decoration are absolutely amazing - Anna Sunshine Sigl is a master in keeping the Austrian alpine tradition and giving it a modern spin. She and her staff are sweet, friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful.
Our suite was very spacious with beautiful hardwood floors and plenty of closet and drawer space.
The location of the hotel is perfect - just a very short walk to the Mirabell Castle and the Old Town.

Room Tip: This is the perfect hotel for anyone who appreciates chic and thoughtful design over traditional hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear guest,
first of all we thank you very much for your stay in our Hotel Villa Carlton.
We are very pleased that you felt comfortable and liked the modern and individual design of our Boutiquehotel. Once more we thank you for leaving your lauding words concerning the decoration and our service.
It would be a pleasure to welcoming you and your family again in our Hotel Villa Carlton soon.
Best regards
Anna Sunshine Sigl / Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Great location within Salzburg, walking distance to most all area attractions. On site parking was a plus at minimal expense. Working wifi within the room was also a bonus!!
Comfortable, clean and very accommodating. There were 3 in our party accommodations were 2 twins and a double. Nice size room for all.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear guest,
we would like to thank you for visiting our Hotel Villa Carlton during your trip to our beautiful city. It is a pleasure for us that you enjoyed your stay and felt comfortable with your accomodation.
Thank you for mentioning our free wifi, furthermore we also offer a free bike rental service, so our guest can either take a 10 minutes walk along the river to the historical city center or can use a bicycle to get around in the city.
In the end we thank you for leaving your positive feedback and we would be pleased to welcoming you once again in our Boutiquehotel.
Best regards
Anna Sunshine Sigl / Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Really like this hotel. The location is perfect for walking to all of the sites. From the outside it is a beautiful 4 story building with a delighful porch. Inside, it is modern and sleek with bright candy colors. The rooms are very comfortable and quite spacious. Dreamy beds with luxurious bedding, nice bathroom with roomy shower. Service was super friendly and helpful. My only complaint is the soundproofing. I could hear the phone conversation occuring in the room next to me and the guests as they walked down the hall outside my room. I did love that they are dog friendly, so expect to see a few furry friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear guest,
first of all we thank you very much for your stay in our Hotel Villa Carlton and for your kind review.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit to our beautiful city and that you liked our modern design and were intirely happy with our service. Our hotel has been reopended after an overall refurbishment in 2011 and every floor in our Boutiquehotel is designed in a different way. The styles are from Pop-Art and modern-traditional up to elegant. Concerning the soundproofing we would like to mention, that the hotel is a building from the 19th century with really thick walls. Despite of this fact, we shall keep an eye on your indication.
Pets are very welcome in our hotel so therefore it would be a great pleasure to welcoming you again at your next trip to Salzburg with your furry friends.
Best regards
Anna Sunshine Sigl / Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed in a suite for 2 nights in September.

The ups: Great location (5 min from the city centre), good decoration, parking right next door for 9 euros a day, brand new hotel, excellent bedding and excellent shower even though you would expect a bath in a suite.......

The downs: The soundproofing of the wall could have been better (we were right next to the lift and every time somebody came out of it talking, we could hear their conversation, also, in the morning when our next door neighbour had his shower, we could hear the water like if there was no wall), and last but not least, if you are going in the summer, be aware that there is no airco! It did not affect us but I can not understand for a brand new hotel with suites under the roof not to have it....

Overall, great little hotel if not too hot... with ideal location.... on this occasion, for my personal experience, rate very good

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear guest,
we would like to thank you for your stay in our Hotel Villa Carlton! We are pleased you enjoyed your rainy weekend in Salzburg and that you felt comfortable in our Boutiquehotel. All our floors are decorated in different styles and our rooms and suites are all equipped with either shower or bathtub and some of them with bath and shower.
The reason why we do not have any aircondition is, that it was not allowed to build in an ac whilst the overall refurbishment, because the hotel is a building from the early 19th century. Therefore we provide cooling fans in all our rooms.
We would like to thank you for your kind and positive review of your stay in our Boutiquehotel. It would be a pleasure for us welcoming you again in our Hotel Villa Carlton soon.
Best regards
Anna Sunshine Sigl / Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Carlton

Address: Markus-Sittikus-Str. 3, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#17 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#18 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Carlton 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Carlton is just a few steps from the Mirabell Gardens and the Salzburg Congress Centre. Salzburg Main Train Station and the Old Town are 700 metres away. Free Wi-Fi is available. The spacious, individually designed rooms at this boutique hotel feature a flat-screen satellite TV, a safe, and an iPod docking station. Bicycles can be rented by guests of Hotel Villa Carlton between 1st May and 31st October. Theatre, concert and sightseeing tickets can be reserved at the reception. A bar is available in the elegant lounge. Private parking is available in Villa Carlton's courtyard, and a public parking garage is 500 metres away. The Kongresshaus Bus Stop (lines 1 and 2) is just a few steps away. The promenade along the Salzach River is only a few metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Salzburg
Nh Hotel Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Carlton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.