We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Carlton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Carlton to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Carlton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Markus-Sittikus-Str. 3, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 135 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Verona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good value hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed one night in Salzburg on a whirlwind trip through multiple countries. While I liked the location with respect to walking distance to sites, the traffic corner was extremely noisy - which could have been the result of road repair that was underway. Staff was great - we had a triple room because we had our 20 yr old with us. Felt private and well appointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear guest,
we would like to thank you for visiting our Hotel Villa Carlton during your family trip through Europe.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and felt comfortable in our Boutiquehotel. Our hotel is located in the city centre of Salzburg, only a few walking minutes to the historical old town. Our guests can either take a beautiful walk along the river or can use easily the public transportation or can user alternativly also our free bike rental service. Concerning the traffic corner we would like to inform you, that we can also offer rooms to the back, quiet side of the hotel.
In the end we would like to thank you for recommending our Boutiquehotel and it would be a great pleasure for us welcoming you and your family again in Salzburg.
Best regards
Anna Sunshine Sigl / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    121
    42
    11
    3
See reviews for
59
143
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The hotel may not be at the heart of Salzburg, however the city is small enough to be reached within 10 - 15 mins by foot. It is very close to the main train station, so it is a good base if you need to the train as a side trip. Deco is modern and wifi works perfectly. Service was ok depending on who is on duty.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear guest,
first of all we thank you very much for your stay in our Hotel Villa Carlton. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit and felt comfortable during your stay in our hotel.
Our hotel is located in the city centre of Salzburg, approx. 10 minutes walk to the historical city center and also approx. 10 minutes walk to the trainstation. Feedbacks of our guests are important for our further developement and we thank you a lot for taking the time to leave your positive and personal review. Concerning your comment about our service, we have spoken to all persons to assure in future a high quality service on all levels.
It would be a pleasure for us welcoming you again in our Hotel Villa Carlton soon.
Best regards
Anna Sunshine Sigl / Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed here for two nights. The location is kinda close to the center of the town (but you can still walk from the train station) and as always in Salzburg there will be a lot of traffic outside all the time. We had to sleep with open windows so it got a bit noisy.

The interior of the place is very modern and clean. The beds and rooms are also clean and nice.

Salzburg is not a cheap city and in other towns you might expect more for your money but this is reasonable priced.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear guest,
firstly we thank you very much for your stay in our Hotel Villa Carlton. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to our beautiful city and felt comfortable in our hotel.
The Hotel Villa Carlton is located in the city centre of Salzburg, only a few minutes walk to the historical old town. Our guests can either take a beautiful walk along the river or can use easily the public transportation, as the nearest bus stopp is only 2 minutes away from our hotel. Furthermore we offer a free bike-rental service.
We would like to thank you for your kind and positive feedback of your stay and it would be a pleasure to welcoming you again in our Hotel Villa Carlton soon.
Best regards
Anna Sunshine Sigl / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Romania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Hotel- good location, near city center; unfortunately just few parking spaces( it is possible to park on the street).
Room- clean, seemed refurbished. Our room was on the street site, very noisy with open window( no air conditioning), but we could sleep in the night.
Clean bad sheets and towels; no robes or slippers.
We stayed one night, it was a convenient location at fair price.
Staff- friendly
Not to many restaurant very close to the hotel( we dine at Stiegl Brau, hotel recommendation).
We did not have the breakfast there,but in the city center
I fully recommend this hotel for city break( close to Mirabel garden, Mozarteum).

Room Tip: rooms on the street side too noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear guest,
firstly we thank you very much for your stay in our Hotel Villa Carlton and we are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to our beautiful city. The Hotel Villa Carlton has been reopened after an overall refurbishment in April 2011. Every floor in our hotel is designed in a different way, from elegant and modern-traditional up to Pop-Art.
In our bathrooms we have reduced the amount of toiletries in order to protect our enviroment. Therefore we have indications in every room, that we can provide a larger assortement of products, aswell as slippers and bathrobes on request.
We thank you for recommending our Boutiquehotel to our future guest and it would be a pleasure for us welcoming you again in our Hotel Villa Carlton soon.
Best regards
Anna Sunshine Sigl / Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had a 3 night stay at this lovely hotel. We arrived in Salzburg by train, and the hotel is a 10 minute walk, and easy to find.
The room was great. It was particularly spacious, and very comfortable. It wasn't particularly hot, so the lack of air conditioning was not an issue. The bed was comfortable, and whilst there is a bit of traffic on the streets below ( the hotel is on an intersection ) this did not impact on our sleep.
We declined to pay the 14 Euro for the hotel breakfast, and the decision was vindicated with a great range of cafes only 10 minutes away as you head towards the heart of town.
It was easy walking distance to the old town, and the beautiful Mirrabell gardens are virtually next door.
The staff at the Villa Carlton were most helpful with information and were able to book us in on a tour.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear guest,
first of all we thank you very much for your stay in our Hotel Villa Carlton. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked our individual and modern design and were happy with our service.
We would like to thank you again for leaving your personal impressions for us and for our future guests. It would be a pleasure welcoming you again in our Boutiquehotel soon.
Best regards
Anna Sunshine Sigl / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

A good place to stay.Yes, the hotel doesn't have air conditioning but they don't advertise that they do. The temperatures throughout our stay were quite high but a fan was provided in the room which was adequate. We stayed in a room facing the road but even with the windows open, the road noise wasn't excessive. Some noise is to be expected when staying near the city centre. The city centre is easily reached in ten minutes via a pleasant walk along the river.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear guest,
firstly we thank you very much for your stay in our Hotel Villa Carlton and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit to our beautiful city and felt very comfortable in our Boutiquehotel.
Our hotel is centrally located, within approx. 10 walking minutes you can reach the historical city center. Our guests can also take advantage of our free bike rental to get around in Salzburg!
We thank you a lot for taking the time to leave your positive comment for our future guests and also for us.
We would be very pleased welcoming you again in our Hotel Villa Carlton soon.
Best regards
Anna Sunshine Sigl / Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in mid June. Very specious and clean hotel, about 15 minutes walk from the city center. This hotel does not have AC, but we were lucky enough not to need it while there; but it was noisy with all the windows open. It would be nice if they put a mini fridge in the suites, as they are spacious enough to accommodate one.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear guest,
first of all we thank you very much for your stay in our Hotel Villa Carlton. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked our individual and modern design.
It is right, that our rooms are not equipped with a minibar but we have already taken up on our guests suggestions and can offer a small fridge on request, of course without any extra charges.
We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your kind and personal review and it would be a pleasure welcoming you again in our Boutiquehotel Villa Carlton soon.
Best regards
Anna Sunshine Sigl / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Carlton

Address: Markus-Sittikus-Str. 3, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#19 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#20 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Carlton 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Carlton is just a few steps from the Mirabell Gardens and the Salzburg Congress Centre. Salzburg Main Train Station and the Old Town are 700 metres away. Free Wi-Fi is available. The spacious, individually designed rooms at this boutique hotel feature a flat-screen satellite TV, a safe, and an iPod docking station. Bicycles can be rented by guests of Hotel Villa Carlton between 1st May and 31st October. Theatre, concert and sightseeing tickets can be reserved at the reception. A bar is available in the elegant lounge. Private parking is available in Villa Carlton's courtyard, and a public parking garage is 500 metres away. The Kongresshaus Bus Stop (lines 1 and 2) is just a few steps away. The promenade along the Salzach River is only a few metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Salzburg
Nh Hotel Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Carlton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.