We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great one bedroom suite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Carlton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Carlton to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Carlton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Markus-Sittikus-Str. 3, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 137 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great one bedroom suite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in mid June. Very specious and clean hotel, about 15 minutes walk from the city center. This hotel does not have AC, but we were lucky enough not to need it while there; but it was noisy with all the windows open. It would be nice if they put a mini fridge in the suites, as they are spacious enough to accommodate one.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank all_all_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear guest,
first of all we thank you very much for your stay in our Hotel Villa Carlton. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked our individual and modern design.
It is right, that our rooms are not equipped with a minibar but we have already taken up on our guests suggestions and can offer a small fridge on request, of course without any extra charges.
We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your kind and personal review and it would be a pleasure welcoming you again in our Boutiquehotel Villa Carlton soon.
Best regards
Anna Sunshine Sigl / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Villa Carlton from 9-12 Jul. The hotel has a decent location close to the station but some distance from the old town, however it is well connected by bus to the old town and the station.
The biggest downside for us that there was no air conditioning in the rooms and it became uncomfortable due to it being summer. The reception informed that it is an old building where no changes are permitted hence no Aircon but we would have appreciated if this information was more readily available on their website to allow us to make an informed choice.
The rooms themselves were large and well done but there was some refurbishment going on in the hotel.
Breakfast was ok but nothing great with the same menu repeated each day. A couple of fresh egg preparations could be a welcome addition especially considering the price charged.
Overall a decent stay but nothing outstanding.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Akshat1179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear guest,
first of all we thank you very much for your stay in our Hotel Villa Carlton. We also thank you for leaving your feedback and are sorry that we could not quite fulfill your requirements.
It is right, that there was no an air condition built in, due to the reason that our Boutiquehotel is a building from the early 19th century. Therefore all our rooms are equipped with cooling fans.
To maintain the level of cleanness we had some paint work going on in the hotel for a few hours during the day. We always try to be as decent as possible with any repair works but do apology, if despite of this fact, you felt disturbed by it.
Our guest’s opinion is important for a hotel’s further development and we are always delighted for any suggestions. Therefore we shall consider what kind of new egg preparations we could add to our already offered fresh scrambled eggs at breakfast.
It would be a pleasure for us if you give us a second chance to convince you about our advantages.
Best regards
Anna Sunshine Sigl / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Villa Carlton was a perfect choice! The hotel is within easy walking of the train station and the historic old town. We enjoyed being adjacent to Mirabell Gardens as the summer concerts were in full swing. Locals and tourists alike were out enjoying the marvelous weather so it was easy to walk back to the hotel, freshen up and head back to the gardens and on to dinner. We were 3 sisters travelling together. Three women sharing a room can always be a problem but we had a huge corner room with a separate bedroom and sitting area! The modern room featured hardwood floors, firm beds, a spacious bathroom, good water pressure, adequate Wifi and most importantly, everything was spotlessly clean. I loved the fact the interiors featured unusual artwork and modern furnishings within an older villa. The staff were always smiling..answering any small question and offering restaurant suggestions that were all excellent.
Only a few minor problems....the breakfast was mediocre, especially for the price. There are several good breakfast options though within 5 minutes of the hotel. Most importantly, our room had no a/c and it was a corner room facing 2 busy streets. We kept the windows open in the evenings but traffic noise resonated throughout the night and construction on a neighboring building begin early every morning. The only reason I would not stay here again would be if I were travelling during the warmer summer months. Any other time of year it would be my first choice when staying in Salzburg.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theWanderingPetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear guest,
firstly we thank you very much for your stay in our Hotel Villa Carlton and we are pleased that you enjoyed your girl’s trip to our beautiful city.
We feel delighted that our individual and modern design, aswell as our service meets your expectation. Concerning the few minor complaints we would like to inform you, that we can offer also rooms, facing the quiet side of the hotel. Our guests feedback is always important for a hotel’s further development so therefore we shall consider your suggestion to enhance our breakfast.
We would like to thank your for your kind and positive review and it would be a pleasure to welcoming you again in our Boutiquehotel soon.
Best regards
Anna Sunshine Sigl / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, Ma
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Would highly recommend this hotel for amazing location on the river, huge guest rooms, and FREE use of the bikes go tour all of Salzburg! Fantastic in every way! You can easily walk here from the main train station- big perk!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank JennaKetchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear guest,
first of all we would like to thank you for visiting our Hotel Villa Carlton during your trip to Salzburg. It is a pleasure for us, that you enjoyed your stay in our Boutiquehotel and also ejoyed our free bike rental service. Thank you for your kind and positive feedback, we would be pleased to welcoming you again on our hotel soon.
Best regards
Anna Sunshine Sigl / Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed for two nights in suit of the Villa Carlton. Considering the price we paid, I felt very disappointed. Namely, wi fi was disconnecting all the time, there is no refrigerator in the room, no air condition (luckily, when we were there it was not warm, I can only imagine how it is during really hot summer days). There is no double bed in room, only two beds put together!
Hotel parking is very small and there is no possibility to make reservation, so it was full when we arrived. We were left with only choice to park on the street.
In the end, lady at front desk was not able to charge me from my credit card, so we had to pay in cash.
Location is 15 min walk from centre, so not so close.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ana881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear guest,
first of all we thank you very much for your stay in our Hotel Villa Carlton. We also thank you for leaving your personal impressions and are sorry that we could not fulfill your requirements. Also please take our excuses for the unpredictable technical problem with the credit card terminal which we had on your check out day.
We offer free WIFI to our guests and in case your connection did not work properly, we could have done something about it, if we had been informed about this circumstance.
All our rooms are equipped with 2 beds, but can be prepared as a double bed, with one big sheet, on request.
Our parking area can be used upon availability for a fee per day and unfortunately we cannot reserve any parking lots. In case our parking is fully occupied our reception staff will kindly inform our guests about the alternative parking possibilities nearby.
The Hotel Villa Carlton is located in the city centre of Salzburg, only 2 walking minutes from the Mirabell Gardens and the Congress Center. Our guests can either take a beautiful walk along the river (approx. 10 minutes) to reach the historical old town or can use easily the public transportation, as the nearest bus stop is only a 2 minute walk from the hotel.
It would be a pleasure if you give us a second chance to convince you about the advantages we offer in the Hotel Villa Carlton.
Best regards
Anna Sunshine Sigl / Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Villa Carlton in late May 2013. I selected this hotel after lots of review on Tripadvisor.

This small boutique hotel is a great value and well located. It is only a short walk down and across the river to the city center. Room was spacious and clean. Staff very friendly and accommodating.

We requested advice for a good Austrian restaurant, and their suggestion was Zum fidelen Affen. It is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. It was outstanding.

We were traveling by car, and the hotel has a convenient small parking lot right on site.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rj2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear guest,
first of all we thank you very much for your stay in our Hotel Villa Carlton. We are happy that you enjoyed your vacation and that we could live up your expectations concerning our hotel and our restaurant recommendation.
We thank you for taking the time to leave your positive impressions about your stay for all our future guests an it would be a pleasure for us, welcoming you again in our Hotel Villa Carlton soon.
Best regards
Anna Sunshine Sigl / Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is a very nice boutique hotel about 10 minutes from the train station and 10 minutes, through the Mirabell Gardens (where buses also leave to many of the outlying attractions), to the old town. Handy for the Augustiner beerhouse too! We had a big room (although the TV was quite small in relation) on the pop art floor. There was a second door between the main room and the bathroom which is good if one of you wants to go out early. The staff were friendly and efficient. Breakfast was very nice, especially the coffee.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MartsAndMarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear guest,
firstly we thank you very much for your stay in our Hotel Villa Carlton and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit to our beautiful city and felt very comfortable in our Boutiquehotel.
Our hotel is centrally located, within approx. 10 walking minutes you can reach the historical city center. Our guests can also take advantage of our free bike rental to get around in Salzburg!
Feedbacks are always important for a hotel’s futher development so we thank you a lot for leaving this positive comment for our future guests and also for us.
We would be very pleased welcoming you again in our Hotel Villa Carlton soon.
Best regards
Anna Sunshine Sigl / Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.5 mi away
Hotel Auersperg
Hotel Auersperg
#5 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 835 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#17 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#34 of 137 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 1,047 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Goldgasse
Hotel Goldgasse
#3 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Salzburg
Sheraton Salzburg
#15 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Carlton

Address: Markus-Sittikus-Str. 3, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#17 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#21 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Carlton 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Carlton is just a few steps from the Mirabell Gardens and the Salzburg Congress Centre. Salzburg Main Train Station and the Old Town are 700 metres away. Free Wi-Fi is available. The spacious, individually designed rooms at this boutique hotel feature a flat-screen satellite TV, a safe, and an iPod docking station. Bicycles can be rented by guests of Hotel Villa Carlton between 1st May and 31st October. Theatre, concert and sightseeing tickets can be reserved at the reception. A bar is available in the elegant lounge. Private parking is available in Villa Carlton's courtyard, and a public parking garage is 500 metres away. The Kongresshaus Bus Stop (lines 1 and 2) is just a few steps away. The promenade along the Salzach River is only a few metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Villa Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Salzburg
Nh Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing