We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girl's trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Carlton

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Carlton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Villa Carlton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Markus-Sittikus-Str. 3, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 135 hotels in Salzburg
Edinburgh, Scotland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Girl's trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We enjoyed great trip to Salzburg as a girl's getaway in the Villa Carlton. Very nice hotel, we had a triple room and there was loads of space for us to spread out. The hotel is very clean, the staff were extremely helpful and the breakfast was plentiful. The croissants were especially good! The Villa Carlton is a short walk from the old town and about 10 minutes from the train station. It has a lovely front terrace where we had a drink in the sunshine on our first afternoon. On our final evening there was a huge thunderstorm, we didn't want to have to go out so the staff were happy to arrange take out, and even supplied plates, cutlery and glasses. I would recommend the hotel, it might not be right in the centre of the old town but considering the price it is worth the extra 10 minute walk.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear guest,
firstly we thank you very much for your stay in our Hotel Villa Carlton and we are pleased that you and your friends felt comfortable with your accomodation and were intirely happy with our service.
We would like to thank you for your positive and kind review of your stay in our Boutiquehotel and it would be pleasure for us welcoming you again in our hotel soon.
Best regards
Anna Sunshine Sigl / Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    82
    30
    11
    2
See reviews for
34
99
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a 3 night stay in April in a suite, from the moment we checked in we felt right at home. The room was faultlessly clean and tidy and we loved the modern chic decor!The staff were all friendly and helpful. Complementary wifi access was very useful as I was sending daily journal emails to my mum back home. I'm glad we spent just that tiny bit extra for a suite; we had just come from Paris where our room was tiny so to have the luxury of a suite this size was a welcome bonus! We didn't have breakfast included however did go down for breakfast on our final morning. We were leaving for a full day's journey by train to Prague so the buffet breakfast was a great way to start the day. I cannot speak highly enough of this hotel and if we are ever fortunate enough to visit Salzburg again in the future this would be our number one choice! Thank you for making our stay so relaxing, comfortable and enjoyable!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear guest,
first of all we thank you very much for your stay in our Hotel Villa Carlton.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked our individual and modern design. Furthermore we thank you for pointing out the cleanness of our Boutiquehotel and the friendlyness of our staff.
Last but not least we thank you for leaving your positive impressions about your stay and it would be a pleasure for us welcoming you again in our Boutiquehotel soon.
Best regards
Anna Sunshine Sigl / Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

So happy when we got here, had a few roughy hotels in Germany and Paris and this hotel was a great find! Very modern, quirky but extremely clean with a friendly front staff, easy/inexpensive (9 Euro) parking in the courtyard and a nice front patio to sit at with a full bar available if you want. We've been in Europe for almost 2 weeks and this hotel exceeded expectations! Thanks!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear guest,
firstly we thank you very much for your stay in our Hotel Villa Carlton and we are very pleased that our hotel was a positive experience for you.
We thank you for leaving your impressions about your stay for our future guests and it would be a pleasure for us welcoming you again in our Boutiquehotel soon.
Best regards
Anna Sunshine Sigl / Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed with our 4 years old son for 2 nights in this hotel during our trip to Salzburg in May.
Modern design, spacious rooms, very clean. Good breakfast. Free wifi.
Located in a calm area, near a lovely park (Mirabellgarten), 15 minutes walk to the old town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear guest,
first of all we thank you very much for your stay in our Hotel Villa Carlton in Salzburg.
We are very pleased that you and your family liked our individual and modern design and were happy with our service.
It would be a great pleasure for us welcoming you and your family again in our Boutiquehotel and we thank you again for recommending our Hotel.
Best regards
Anna Sunshine Sigl / Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Not your usual ‘mass’ hotel.
Staff was very helpful, always with a smile on their face. We got a deal where Breakfast was included, it was a cold buffet, nothing too fancy, but nice and enough choices to give you a good start to the day.
Very clean. Beds are a little hard, but still comfortable.
15 minutes from the old town, main sights are in walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear guest,
first of all we thank you very much for your stay in our Hotel Villa Carlton. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit and felt intirely comfortable during your stay in our Boutiquehotel.
It would be a great pleasure to welcoming you again in Salzburg and we thank you again for recommending our Hotel to our future guests.
Kind regards
Anna Sunshine Sigl / Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I booked this hotel during my honeymoon. It was very interesting because you kinda feel like staying at a house. A fancy house that is.

We took the suit. The living room was nice. The bedroom was small but still nice. There was also a balcony but we couldn't stay outside because it was very cold.

One funny thing I noticed is that there was no fridge, but we used the balcony as a fridge since it was very cold outside.

A nice surprise was that the wireless wasn't only in the lobby, but also in the rooms. The staff were extra friendly as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear guest,
we thank you very much for your stay during your honeymoon in our Hotel Villa Carlton. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked our individual and modern design. All our floors are designed in a different way, from modern-traditionell to Pop art and even an elegant style. Furthermore some of our suites and superior double rooms are equipped with a balcony or an oriel.
It ist true, that our rooms are not equipped with a fridge, but our guests can leave their things to cool in a frigde at the reception. Apart from this we offer hot and cold drinks from our bar in the lobby which is open 24hours a day.
Thank you for leaving your positive impressions about your stay in our Boutiquehotel for all our future guests and it would be a great pleasure to welcoming your again in our Hotel Villa Carlton soon.
Best regards
Anna Sunshine Sigl / Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed here for one night enroute to Vienna. Very pleased with it. This family run hotel was chic, modern and adhered to very high standards of cleanliness. We were in the superior room and the size was good enough for us. I love the generous wardrobe area and the clever idea of full length mirrors gave an illusion of more space. Even though our room faced the road, we didnt hear any traffic noise.

It was about 3 minutes on foot from Mirabell Gardens where you can walk through it and reach the Salzburg city centre. Of course it isnt as close to the other main sights like those hotels in the city centre but a taxi should solve the problem if you dont want to walk - which we took after our dinner at the St Peters Stiftskeller Restaurant. It cost about 7 euros.

Breakfast is the usual European fare of croissants, cold meats, cheese, fruits. Staff were friendly and definitely lives up to its 4stars.

Pet friendly and parking onsite is 9 Euros per day. Will definitely stay here again when we come back to Salzburg.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your stay in our Hotel Villa Carlton! We also say thank you for taking the time to leave your positive comments about our hotel and our service.
We feel delighted that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and and it would be a great pleasure to welcoming you once again in our Boutiquehotel.
Best regards
Anna Sunshine Sigl / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Villa Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Carlton

Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Salzburg
Nh Hotel Salzburg
Address: Markus-Sittikus-Str. 3, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#15 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#18 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Carlton 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Hotel Villa Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Carlton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.