We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hohenstauffen Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hohenstauffen Hotel to your Saves list
Hohenstauffen Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Elisabethstrasse 19 | Stauffenstrasse 18, Salzburg AT-5020, Austria   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 136 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

It was a great hotel for a short stay and especially if you are coming by train. It is just around the corner from the train station and a relatively short walk to Mirabell Gardens and from there to the old town. Service was warm and friendly, room was smallishbut clean and cosy, while breakfast was simple but appetising. While the neighbourhood is probably not the best, i think the pros outweigh the cons.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    82
    19
    3
    1
See reviews for
32
81
29
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I recently stayed here for 3 nights and chose this hotel based primarily on its location near the train station. This is a dated hotel, full of character, and run by some very nice owners. The rooms are large for European standards and baths are fine although again dated with 1970 ish yellow plumbing fixtures. We had a double which had a canopy bed and a sofa. It was actually large enough to be a suite. For 90 Euro per night, we thought it was great value in an expensive city. 15 minute walk gets you to the Mirabell Palace area. Trams are available to all areas from the rail station. Breakfast is more than adequate with the owner offering soft boiled eggs in addition the buffet breakfast. Another plus are some fine local restaurants in the area such as the Hirschen and the Weiserhof. I would stay there again based on its location and value!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Very pleased with the staff at the hotel as they were very helpful. They helped with directions to walk to town and also on which bus to take to the airport. The breakfast was very good too - extremely filling and well presented. A nice selection of cold meats and cheeses, yogurts, cereals and breads; also included fresh fruit which was nice!

The room was small and not up-to-date. I thought it seemed a bit out of the '70s. The biggest drawback to the hotel was the location. It was way too far from town - about a 20 minute walk, and I walk fast! It is important to note that the location is excellent if you want to be close to the train station as it's only a 5 minute walk away. I didn't feel too comfortable walking around the surrounding area late at night; we never ran into any trouble, but it wasn't an area I would like to visit again and I live in London which is much more urban than Salzburg. In fact, the hotel is directly across the street from a sex shop ... not my idea of a holiday!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The hotel was very nice, our room was comfortable, breakfast good and the staff was very friendly. The only thing we would have liked would be closer to old town. It was a 20 minute walk back along a somewhat deserted street after dinner.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is a very typical European hotel. Older building, but recently remodeled. Modern elevator, working plumbing, great breakfast, very good wi-fi, and comfortable beds.

The TV, which we don't even turn on while in Europe, was an oldie, which seemed out of context.

Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Convenient to bus to Altstadt-the old town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a delightful, comfortable European-style family-run hotel with nice rooms and a great breakfast. It's near the train station and only a few minutes' walk to the major attractions in Salzburg.

Most importantly, the family that runs the hotel is very nice and extremely helpful. Every recommendation they gave for restaurants and things to do/see proved correct. Linda at the front desk loaned us an electricity converter without hesitation (and without paperwork).

Four of us stayed here in two rooms while attending a wedding. We never left or returned to the hotel without a cheerful greeting.

If we are fortunate enough to return to the fascinating city of Salzburg, we will surely return to the Hotel Hohenstauffen.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmar
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by this property, especially since the price was so reasonable. The room were large and clean with modern bath fixtures. A nice breakfast is included and the staff speaks english. Andreas, greeted us and made us feel at home. The hotel is a short walk to the train station and walking distance to Mirabell Gardens. I would love to be able to spend an entire week there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#18 of 136 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 720 reviews
0.1 mi away
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
#23 of 136 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 615 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#28 of 136 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 570 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Wolf-Dietrich
Hotel Wolf-Dietrich
#21 of 136 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 762 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Auersperg
Hotel Auersperg
#5 of 136 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hohenstauffen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hohenstauffen Hotel

Address: Elisabethstrasse 19 | Stauffenstrasse 18, Salzburg AT-5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#22 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hohenstauffen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming, small, family run hotel, near the railway station, in a quiet side street. 1902 founded by our family. 31 rooms, all decorated individually, 5 of them with four poster beds. We offer parking free of charge, also a garage for bicycles. The sights of Salzburg you will reach by walking or taking the bus in front of the railway station. The bike tracks next to the Salzach river are only a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hohenstauffen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hohenstauffen Hotel Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hohenstauffen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.