We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hohenstauffen Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hohenstauffen Hotel to your Saves list
Hohenstauffen Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Elisabethstrasse 19 | Stauffenstrasse 18, Salzburg AT-5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

It was a great hotel for a short stay and especially if you are coming by train. It is just around the corner from the train station and a relatively short walk to Mirabell Gardens and from there to the old town. Service was warm and friendly, room was smallishbut clean and cosy, while breakfast was simple but appetising. While the neighbourhood is probably not the best, i think the pros outweigh the cons.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    69
    17
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
64
21
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I recently stayed here for 3 nights and chose this hotel based primarily on its location near the train station. This is a dated hotel, full of character, and run by some very nice owners. The rooms are large for European standards and baths are fine although again dated with 1970 ish yellow plumbing fixtures. We had a double which had a canopy bed and a sofa. It was actually large enough to be a suite. For 90 Euro per night, we thought it was great value in an expensive city. 15 minute walk gets you to the Mirabell Palace area. Trams are available to all areas from the rail station. Breakfast is more than adequate with the owner offering soft boiled eggs in addition the buffet breakfast. Another plus are some fine local restaurants in the area such as the Hirschen and the Weiserhof. I would stay there again based on its location and value!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Very pleased with the staff at the hotel as they were very helpful. They helped with directions to walk to town and also on which bus to take to the airport. The breakfast was very good too - extremely filling and well presented. A nice selection of cold meats and cheeses, yogurts, cereals and breads; also included fresh fruit which was nice!

The room was small and not up-to-date. I thought it seemed a bit out of the '70s. The biggest drawback to the hotel was the location. It was way too far from town - about a 20 minute walk, and I walk fast! It is important to note that the location is excellent if you want to be close to the train station as it's only a 5 minute walk away. I didn't feel too comfortable walking around the surrounding area late at night; we never ran into any trouble, but it wasn't an area I would like to visit again and I live in London which is much more urban than Salzburg. In fact, the hotel is directly across the street from a sex shop ... not my idea of a holiday!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The hotel was very nice, our room was comfortable, breakfast good and the staff was very friendly. The only thing we would have liked would be closer to old town. It was a 20 minute walk back along a somewhat deserted street after dinner.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is a very typical European hotel. Older building, but recently remodeled. Modern elevator, working plumbing, great breakfast, very good wi-fi, and comfortable beds.

The TV, which we don't even turn on while in Europe, was an oldie, which seemed out of context.

Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Convenient to bus to Altstadt-the old town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a delightful, comfortable European-style family-run hotel with nice rooms and a great breakfast. It's near the train station and only a few minutes' walk to the major attractions in Salzburg.

Most importantly, the family that runs the hotel is very nice and extremely helpful. Every recommendation they gave for restaurants and things to do/see proved correct. Linda at the front desk loaned us an electricity converter without hesitation (and without paperwork).

Four of us stayed here in two rooms while attending a wedding. We never left or returned to the hotel without a cheerful greeting.

If we are fortunate enough to return to the fascinating city of Salzburg, we will surely return to the Hotel Hohenstauffen.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmar
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by this property, especially since the price was so reasonable. The room were large and clean with modern bath fixtures. A nice breakfast is included and the staff speaks english. Andreas, greeted us and made us feel at home. The hotel is a short walk to the train station and walking distance to Mirabell Gardens. I would love to be able to spend an entire week there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hohenstauffen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hohenstauffen Hotel

Address: Elisabethstrasse 19 | Stauffenstrasse 18, Salzburg AT-5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#17 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hohenstauffen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hohenstauffen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hohenstauffen Hotel Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hohenstauffen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.