We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hohenstauffen Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hohenstauffen Hotel to your Saves list
Hohenstauffen Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Elisabethstrasse 19 | Stauffenstrasse 18, Salzburg AT-5020, Austria   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 135 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nantwich, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Just stayed at the hotel for 2 days. We had a great time in Salzburg and the hotel was good for us - a 20 min walk into the centre of the old town along the river so great for being close but not too close to the centre.

A really authentic hotel - the rooms were good size and very clean - all of the staff were really friendly and helpful. Great breakfast. Free and safe parking.

We would definitely stay again and reccomend the hotel to others.

Simon/Julie Hall

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    75
    19
    3
    0
See reviews for
28
76
25
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Wonderful hotel close to the train station. Breakfast is great and the staff helpful. Apart from giving us a map with great walking tour, the manager advised us to use the Westbahn train service to Vienna which saved us more than half the cost of an OBB train. Can definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as the only negative was a some noise from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL, USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The Hotel was terrific, its a short walk to the train and bus station. From the Hotel you can take a great walk down the river to the city center. Salzburg is beautiful, even in the rain. The Hotel owners, Familie Reichl are great, Linda and all her staff were very helpful with everything, including restaurant recommendations near by. Our room was very nice and kept clean. The breakfast in the morning was also great, we particularly love the strawberry yogurt and brotchen. The Hotel has a good reputation and it certainly deserves it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I luckily found this hotel after deciding to move from another hotel in Salzburg and stayed three nights. This hotel is a delight. It is in close easy walking distance from the station and on a quiet street. It was even an easy walk into the old city. The hotel staff were very friendly and extremely helpful and had a great sense of humour. Nothing was too much trouble. There is a lift and the rooms are very nice, roomy and very clean. We also had a nice big bathroom. The breakfast was great with the eggs boiled to your liking. They told us about the Salzburg card and had them for sale. They rearranged some pre booked tours and arranged for a tour to pick us up from the hotel. We also found some good, cheap places to eat close by. I will stay here again when I next visit Salzburg.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This place is a great find in Salzburg, the owner (Familie) is really very friendly, giving us advises on itineraries, which buses to take, what to look out for and where to go.. Her recommendation for me and my wife to travel up to Untersburg was really a great one indeed. The hotel is situated within a stone throw's away from the main train station. Also pretty close to the salzech river.. the walk along the river also make the trip very pleasant. The room is clean, breakfast is great! nice and cosy place. Will definitely return to Hotel Hohenstauffen in future trips to salzburg :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

A nice and cosy hotel. Upon arrival, the owner immediately helped us on our queries. She even try to help us to save money by suggesting a few changes to our travel itnerary. The hotel is uniquely designed and gives a homely feeling. Breakfast selection is not wide but has all the main items you need. The hotel is conveniently located 2 mins by foot from the main train station and bus stop.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I would highly recommend this hotel as a place to stay. 10 minutes walk to the old town through the beautiful Mirabell Gardens and 2 minutes from the train station. The room was clean and spacious. This is a family run hotel and the hosts were extremely welcoming and helpful. When we arrived my daughter had a bad cough and we were especially allocated a twin room with the beds on either side of the room which I thought was extremely thoughtful. The breakfast was excellent and I would definitely like to return for another stay. The staff couldn't have been more welcoming and hospitable,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hohenstauffen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hohenstauffen Hotel

Address: Elisabethstrasse 19 | Stauffenstrasse 18, Salzburg AT-5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hohenstauffen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming, small, family run hotel, near the railway station, in a quiet side street. 1902 founded by our family. 31 rooms, all decorated individually, 5 of them with four poster beds. We offer parking free of charge, also a garage for bicycles. The sights of Salzburg you will reach by walking or taking the bus in front of the railway station. The bike tracks next to the Salzach river are only a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hohenstauffen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hohenstauffen Hotel Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hohenstauffen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.