We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg to your Saves list
Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schallmooser Hauptstrasse 1, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Moose Jaw
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Super place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed here with a group from our Archaeological society in June of this year. The rooms were very inviting ,clean, a decent size with a safe in the room and the bathroom was very modern and clean.
The breakfast was extensive with eggs, meat and most anything you would want.
The location was excellent , very near the pedestrian area, within walking distance of eating establishment, shops, bank, laundry, and near the Gardens. The taxi stand is outside the door.
Most important , was the reception staff,exceptional. They were most helpful. I had an injured knee and the lady on duty the first evening helped with advising regarding medical attention ,personally directed the taxi where to take us, and on subsequent days got ice for me.and did what ever she could to be of assistance.

Room Tip: There is a bar in the reception area so it might get noisy in the late evening , but just ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    193
    78
    24
    16
See reviews for
58
227
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I stayed here with a friend for one night in July. The hotel was clean and the décor was appealing. The room was comfortable. The location was really convenient; just a few minutes walk to the river or to the Mirabelle Gardens. It's not too far to walk to and from the station either if you're fit and have backpacks rather than suitcases.
The staff were friendly and we were even able to check in early after arriving on an early bus. They provided us with plenty of information and maps but I felt a little like they were trying to sell us some of the tourist passes and tours a bit too vigorously.
The breakfast had a great variety.
My only criticism would be the temperature of the rooms. It was 32 degrees C outside but its a shame they couldn't have done a bit more to cool them down!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The location is good, if you have 4 person and go from train station take taxi will cheaper than bus (2.2 each), and there have a taxi station just next to hotel. There also have supermarket really closed to hotel, but it was noisy at night, many cars will pass street till 11 or 12 pm. Staff are friendly, give us a lots of suggestions. They gave me a small honey when asked at 10 pm. I also saw others borrow tableware from reception at night.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

although not in the center of Salzburg, I think the location is second best. It was not a very long walk to the center (maybe 10 minutes). the street the hotel
is on is a very nice one, with shopping, cafes, bars, an old church, etc. Make sure you visit the church where mozarts family is buried and the kaputziner church which requires a stair climb. these are all on the same street as the hotel . The breakfast was also amazing with plenty of food, eggs, coffee etc Overall great deal if you don't want to pay 200-300$ to stay in the center
the rooms are small, modest and clean. more than adequate for my money

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, CT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Pros -- price was good, location convenient (it wasn't in the old town, but very close and actually easier to reach since it was on a bigger road, breakfast quite extensive for the price
Cons -- very hot, no A/C or temp controls, busy road so too noisy with window open. Maybe ask for room away from main road? Bathroom has glass door, so if someone uses it during the night, it's very bright, room is tiny. Free wifi, but it really only works in the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

After reading the reviews, I was a little concerned, but I am pleased to say the hotel was very good value and in a excellent position. We were in room 322 and we had no problem with noise. The room was very spacious with a free safe. Breakfast was very relaxed, my only comments being more fresh fruit would have been nice. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, especially the lady from Panama. While we were there we had heard that the trip to the lakes was only four hours and that not much time was spent at the lakes. So we took the local bus 150 to St Gilgen and the boat over to St Wolfgang, this was cheaper and we spent a lot longer at the beautiful lakes, well worth a visit. Also the Sound of Music tour is a must!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Travelled with our teenage daughters. We were on the 3rd floor which was quite stuffy. Why do hotels ask us to recycle our towels yet insist on cranking up the heat? There are no heating controls in the room.

Anyways, rooms were clean and the windows opened. Value was OK, but traveling as a family of 4, we had to rent two rooms. Breakfast was OK as was the location. Secure parking is a plus.

Our daughters are solid sleepers and had no problem with sleep noise, but I slept with earplugs due to having to have the window open to evacuate the heat.

The staff were exclusively using the single elevator in the mornings which may make staying on higher levels challenging for anyone with difficulties using stairs.

Room Tip: Avoid street side. Rooms on levels below 3 are probably cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg

Address: Schallmooser Hauptstrasse 1, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel has a 100 year old tradition of hospitality; located near the old town & attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.