We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg to your Saves list
Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schallmooser Hauptstrasse 1, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This hotel was in a good location on the edge of the old town- only a 5-10min walk max to the river and the main part of the old town and about 5 mins walk from Mirabell Gardens. The rooms were somewhat dated but very clean and tidy and our room in particular was huge!!! So much space. Breakfast had a good selection with lots of fresh products. Staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    183
    71
    23
    13
See reviews for
58
210
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Stayed there at the beginning of June 2014.
The room was very nice, seemed renovated recently.
Everything was very clean.
The bathroom was very comfortable.
Beds were ok, but unfortunately their dubble bed is actually two adjacent single beds.
Parking is easy near the hotel. You can pay for up to 3 hours, and the 3 first hours of the next day can be paid in the evening including the night.
The distance to the old city is less than 15 minutes walk, and the srteet that leads you there, as well as all the neighbourhood in that direction are very nice to walk through.
Breakfast was not the strong part of the deal, but no real complaints about.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I will limit my comments to the negatives expressed by others:

1) No air conditioning - The weather was cool when we were there with highs in the mid twenties and it cooled down at night so this was not a problem. The windows do open which is not always the case in a hotel so I suspect that this hotel would be more comfortable during a hot spell than some that don't have a/c.

2) The raw eggs - Yes, they are in a big bowl RIGHT NEXT TO THE EGG BOILER. In this way you can have your eggs as you like them. Overall the breakfast was the best of any on our trip (six hotels)..


3) The service - Everyone at the front desk was very nice and helpful to us. We needed to catch a flight early in the morning and they even offered to make special arrangements for us to have breakfast before they were usually open - we were astonished. I will say however that we witnessed one of these very helpful women at the desk being very short with another customer. I know that sometimes people whose first language is not English can come across as being a bit gruff but in this case we suspected that the less than friendly service was because the couple was obviously from the Middle East and the woman was wearing a burka. Just a suspicion.

4) WiFi worked very well.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechelt
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I had a compact, comfortable, no frills room, with all the basic necessities; the hotel has an excellent buffet breakfast. The location is on a street with shops and restaurants and little car traffic (but watch out for cyclists), and is a 15 minute walk to Salzburg old town. I believe you get your money's worth at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The hotel was clean and efficent and the desk staff were very helpful to us. The location was great for walking to the old town and enjoying the Christmas market. Secure parking on site. breakfast was good. No complaints at all. Would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kokkola, Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We found this hotel to be very good value for money. It has a good location, rooms and bathroom were clean and breakfast was also good enough.The reception was friendly, but somehow the decoration/furniture there gave a bit "cold" first impression.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed at the Hofwirt for four nights and found it easy to walk to the Mirabell Gardens and the old city. The hotel rooms were clean and modern, if a bit on the small side. Breakfast was perfectly adequate to our needs and the coffee machine was a blast. Reception staff seemed occasionally abrupt but generally helpful. Internet cafe close by and useful because the hotel's wi-fi is only reliable in the lobby and the one computer available for guests was out of order. ATM across the street and lots of good restaurants very nearby. All in all, a comfortable stay!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg

Address: Schallmooser Hauptstrasse 1, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel has a 100 year old tradition of hospitality; located near the old town & attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.