We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, plus kind customer service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg to your Saves list
Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schallmooser Hauptstrasse 1, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 135 Hotels in Salzburg
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great location, plus kind customer service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My family stayed at the Hotel Hofwirt in Salzburg the week before Christmas, to enjoy the Christmas Market and all that Salzburg affords. Check in was simple and efficient, with kind hospitality. I would find out later how thoughtful the staff was. We headed out to the market and later dinner. Sadly I took ill with the flu that night, and the person at reception kindly supplied me with large mugs of tea, honey and lemon, as well as their concern.

I can tell you that the bed is very comfortable as I had to stay in the entire next day! My family enjoyed the breakfast and were able to bring me tea and toast to the room. And more tea later in the day. Check out the following morning was swift, and more concern was shown for my health (which slightly improved). The location of the Apotheke across the street was very convenient. The hotel borders the pedestrian only zone and the walk was short to the main tourist area - an ideal location.

I hope to return to Hotel Hofwirt, and remain in good health, so I can enjoy their efficient staff and comfortable, convenient facilities.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    208
    83
    25
    16
See reviews for
66
235
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights, leading up to Christmas 2012. Location at this time of year was fantastic - just a short stroll to the beginning of the pedestrianised old town so very easy to get around on foot. The English speaking receptionist was very efficient and professional, the best check-in service we have ever had! Wi-fi was free and usable from our room. Breakfast buffet was very good - everything from cold meats and cheeses, yoghurts and cereals, scrambled eggs and boil your own, a full range of breads to choose from and cake, plus a few coffee machines dotted around to give you a cappucino or espresso should you need one. the room was modern and functional although no heating control! the shower was fantastic! Everything was very clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Not only did we have a unexpected amazing time in Salzberg but this hotel was great too, with the amount of stars and cost I expected it to just be a standard hotel to recover after the long walks around the town.

The rooms are modern and elegant, fantastic bathrooms and heated flooring!
The breakfast was better than expected and had lots of continental options.

The only downfall was that the Internet was terrible, we could get connected to the wifi but had no internet access, which these days is a must have for hotels. We mentioned this to staff on the first day of our visit and nothing was done to resolve it.

The staff in the hotel were friendly and informative, one of them explained a trip out in meticulous detail!

Salzberg is a great city to visit especially in the snow season! Go for the Christmas market and you'll have your breath taken away.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the car park are quieter but don't have a decent view like the ones facing the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Not a bad stay here, but reviewing it is a bit difficult as the modern, minimalist design and furnishings sometimes work and sometimes don't: While the reception & bar look trendy, the breakfast area has a distinct back-packers' hostel feel to it.

The rooms, while very clean & comfortable, are a bit on the small side. Breakfast is a self-service buffet, with scrambled eggs, cold meats & cheese, cereals and various other standard fare.

The location is very good - on the edge of a main shopping/restaurant street that takes you to the old centre in a few minutes' walk.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipswich
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed at the hofwirt for 4 nights, reception was manned 24hrs everyday by very friendly helpful staff. we were in room 305 which was spotlessly clean & had all the usual facilities except tea making, but you could get this from reception. bathroom was excellent with a great power shower plenty of hot water. My only criticism, would be that you cant adjust the heating in your room, the heat during the night was almost unbearable. Breakfast was in a large room near reception & was the usual continental fayre, tasty & plentiful. The hofwirt is in a great location no more than a 10 min walk to the old town & christmas markets & another 5mins to get the funicular railway to the top of the castle or if you are feeling energetic like we were its about a 10 min walk up the winding path to the top, where you get the most spectacular views of salzburg. If like us you have a car there is limited parking at the hofwirt cost 12 euros per night in a secure car park, on one night when we returned the car park was full, we asked at reception about where we could park the receptionist gave us a ticket for a nearby car park & they paid for the nights parking 17.60 euros & we only had to pay the 12 euros that we would have paid to park at the hotel (bargain). there was a supermarket opposite the hotel if there was anything that we needed during our stay. Plenty of places to eat & drink on the way from the hotel to the old town including 2 good irish pubs in the old town. We would definately stay at the hofwirt again when next in salzburg.

Room Tip: rooms to the rear of the building are very quiet although there is traffic going past the front of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Fantastic location, 10 min walk max across bridge to old town with Christmas markets. Hotel Hofwirt is on corner right at start of pedestrian area, Christmas lights and pleasant well lit walk past lovely quality shops, restaurants etc to the bridge.
Useful Spar shop opposite + yummy bakery nearby. Old building but recently totally modernised in a minimalist style,(but comfortable) loved the powerful hot showers and very warm rooms. Our double room had 3 beds, so loads of room. Sachets of shampoo etc, hair dryer, free safe, tv. No teamaking in room (usual in Austria) We had room 201 facing back courtyard, so really quiet, but we didn't think road corner of hotel was very busy or noisy anyway (taxi rank outside). Many Austrian hotels have dark heavy old style ornate furnishings, Hofwirt is very simple and modern which we preferred.
Very helpful friendly staff, .Great varied breakfast, my cousin loved their tea and didn't use the teabags she'd brought! Bar area in reception for drinks, tea/coffee etc - can take them up to room if preferred. Very good quality for the money and we will return.

Room Tip: We were in 201 on second floor overlooking back courtyard, just view of roofs, car park and flats, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here in May 2011. Room was nice, bed comfortable, shower was really big (unfortunately I can't find the photo of our shower at hotel photos at Tripadvisor. those seems too small). The room was soundproof except the door. We heard all voiced from the corridor. Breakfast was ok.
Hotel is close to the Altstadt and aprox 20 min from the HBF.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg

Address: Schallmooser Hauptstrasse 1, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 135 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel has a 100 year old tradition of hospitality; located near the old town & attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.