We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for family holidays” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg

Save Saved
You added Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schallmooser Hauptstrasse 1, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 135 hotels in Salzburg
Warsaw, Poland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good place for family holidays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

We stayed in Hofwirt in the end of August for 8 nights. It's very nice hotel - very clean, staff is helpful, etc. - I can confirm past, positive reviews. We were with baby (6 months) and I asked about quiet room with baby bed - we got quite, huge room with windows to the courtyard, not to the street, so there was no problem with noise even with windows open. The hotel is not cheap, but good location compensates it.
I definitely recommend this place!

Best Regards
Martin

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    178
    68
    27
    13
See reviews for
50
190
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

The hotel was excellently situated, immediately next to the pedestrianised part of central Salzburg - so all the sites were within walking distance, or a quick hop on the excellent trolley-bus. Everything was very clean - nothing fancy, rather like an upgraded hostel really, but we stayed in two twin rooms with our teenage children for 3 nights, and were very happy with it. Even though it was extremely hot - 35 degrees celsius one day - the rooms weren't unbearably hot, despite no air-conditioning. The receptionists were friendly and helpful, the breakfast buffet was fine (if nothing spectacular), and when our son was ill one day and couldn't go out sightseeing, they were very helpful about allowing us to take him some breakfast in the room. The only downside was that at night, with the windows open, it was very noisy from the street - not so much traffic, but late-night revellers shouting into the early hours. Apart from that, it was a good stay.

Room Tip: Request the newly-refurbished 'design' rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We had a great 3 night stay at Hotel Hofwirt. Very comfortable, clean room served as a great base for our the Salzburg part of our 3 week, 10 hotel European adventure. If I was to find a criticism at all it was that the front desk staff always treated you as if you were interrupting something important they were working on. Also after staying in many small hotels in 4 countries, we were probably spoiled by front desk staff saying goodbye to you as you left and hello as you arrived back again. This didn't happen at Hotel Hofwirt.. not even once. But as far as the room and breakfast were concerned, it was a top-notch stay.
BTW. Sound of Music Tour with Bob's Tours was way better than expected.. even for me, the husband. The tour took us outside the city to the Lake District and to a couple of quaint little towns, as well as an exciting luge run. Stopped for a snack at a small restaurant with a spectacular view.. really quite a pleasant tour even though I didn't care about the gazebo... and could have done without the soundtrack playing!!

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Good value and in a great location. Be warned that while they have free parking for guests it fills quickly. We ended up having to pay 12 Euro a day to park in a parking station nearby. This was a special rate through the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Italy
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

The location is very good: close to city centre and main attractions. The hotel has free parking (a big plus in Salzburg in high season) but you cannot book your place. We had to park in front of the hotel for the first night but many places were available the next morning.
WiFi is free but very slow (except very early in the morning, 6am or very late at night). Breakfast is fairly basic, one would expect a bit more for the price paid. Overall a good hotel that could be much better but probably doesn't need to thanks to its good location and high tourist density.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

This is a well situated hotel opposite the top of Linzergasse, an interesting 10 minutes walk from the old town. Being that close in, it was rather noisy both inside and out. The building is 100 years old (as can be seen from the sloping floors) but has been done up in a rather severe modern style. I did like the artwork, though. The room had everything you would expect and was comfortable enough.

The hotel only serves breakfast, no other meals, but there was plenty of choice for a continental breakfast and the quality was good.

I can't rave about this hotel but I would say it was a decent quality B&B in a very good location for exploring Salzburg.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights and were very pleased with the standard of the rooms and how clean they were. They are a bit on the small side and we only found CNN as an English speaking channel on the TV. The breakfast area is big with plenty of space, good standard of food, clean and bright as is the reception part where the staff are very helpful. Its certainly in a great location only 5 minutes walk from the centre part of Salzburg. Certainly a hotel to be recommended!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg

Address: Schallmooser Hauptstrasse 1, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 135 hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel has a 100 year old tradition of hospitality; located near the old town & attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.