We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but could be better overall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg

Save Saved
You added Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schallmooser Hauptstrasse 1, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 135 Hotels in Salzburg
Parma, Italy
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great location, but could be better overall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

The location is very good: close to city centre and main attractions. The hotel has free parking (a big plus in Salzburg in high season) but you cannot book your place. We had to park in front of the hotel for the first night but many places were available the next morning.
WiFi is free but very slow (except very early in the morning, 6am or very late at night). Breakfast is fairly basic, one would expect a bit more for the price paid. Overall a good hotel that could be much better but probably doesn't need to thanks to its good location and high tourist density.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    175
    67
    23
    11
See reviews for
53
203
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

This is a well situated hotel opposite the top of Linzergasse, an interesting 10 minutes walk from the old town. Being that close in, it was rather noisy both inside and out. The building is 100 years old (as can be seen from the sloping floors) but has been done up in a rather severe modern style. I did like the artwork, though. The room had everything you would expect and was comfortable enough.

The hotel only serves breakfast, no other meals, but there was plenty of choice for a continental breakfast and the quality was good.

I can't rave about this hotel but I would say it was a decent quality B&B in a very good location for exploring Salzburg.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights and were very pleased with the standard of the rooms and how clean they were. They are a bit on the small side and we only found CNN as an English speaking channel on the TV. The breakfast area is big with plenty of space, good standard of food, clean and bright as is the reception part where the staff are very helpful. Its certainly in a great location only 5 minutes walk from the centre part of Salzburg. Certainly a hotel to be recommended!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, USA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Hotel has been remodeled and is very bright and colorful.
Our room was very small and no room for one's toiletries in the bathroom at all. The bed was marginally comfortable, a mattress on a wire frame. We saw another room had regular bed with a box springs. Also, the tv only had German channels, something I've never seem before anywhere in European hotels. When we asked if we could change rooms, we were told no, as we booked through a large online site instead of direct with hotel.
Reception room had plenty of seating and very bright. Staff helpful.
The breakfast room was lovely, very bright and airy with a good choice of food. Great coffee machine, lots of tea choices, nice orange juice, etc. Meats, cheese, cereals, various breads and cakes, yoghurts and fruit. All attractively displayed. Staff in this room were excellent and cleared tables immediately. Lots of space in here.
Hotel at top of pedestrian street, but very noisy as our room was on the corner of a busy regular street.
All in all I liked the hotel and would stay again, butin a different room.

Room Tip: English speakers make sure you have English on tv and make sure you get a BOX SPRING BED
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Small 3 star hotel but comparable to some other 4 star European hotels. Very tiny rooms. Good buffet breakfast. Good, central location.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

I stayed in this hotel because it was on the same street as a customer I was working with for the week. From a location perspective it was great, 1 minute walk to the office but also right on the doorstep of the city centre. My room was located on the first floor right next to the stairs, unfortunately the hotel bar is at the bottom of the stairs which made for a couple of very sleepless nights. The Room didn't have air conditioning and leaving the window open was out of the question so every night was a very hot uncomfortable time. The rooms were small but adequate. On the plus side the shower was fantastic. The most frustrating part of the stay was the wifi, which was insanely slow, I wouldn't rely on it for much at all. Nice enough hotel but I wouldn't stay again

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

The location of the hotel is about 10 minutes walking distance to the Salzburg old town but approximately 20 minutes walking distance from central railway station. Many hotels in Salzburg are not air conditioned, we have one twin bedroom without air conditioning. The room is big but the toilet and bathroom is small. Our room is facing Schallmooser hauptstraße street and have to bear with noise from the street during sleep. The room has a safety deposit box which is good for us to keep our passports safe. The WiFi is free of charge, however, the signal strength from our room at second floor is extremely poor! The WiFi signal strength is good in the lobby, many people come down to the lobby to go online with their devices. There is wired LAN cable in the room, unfortunately we don't carry laptop during our trip. There is also a "huge" TV in our room, a 14" CRT TV, my goodness. The breakfast is basic with local varieties of cheeses, jams, homemade yogurt. The hotel serves good coffee during breakfast. The staff are helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for the room not facing to the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg

Address: Schallmooser Hauptstrasse 1, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 135 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel has a 100 year old tradition of hospitality; located near the old town & attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel, HotelsClick, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.