We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good confort but not so good breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Centre to your Saves list
Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fanny-von-Lehnert-Strasse 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Browse Deals & Discounts
Ranked #37 of 135 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Aveiro, Portugal
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Good confort but not so good breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

Well the hotel was very confortable and very elegant. The room was one of the best rooms i ever stay in terms of confort...The bed was like a SPA, and the room itself was very cosy. The location i think was not soo good.It was away from the historic center, and at night we had a little afraid to walk very far from the hotel.
We had a view for the Alpes :)

Negative: Well , the restaurant wanst that good, at least for our group. And the Breakfast was a deception. We came from Prague, then Vienna and had very good breakfasts and in this Salzurg hotel was a deception.Come on...we had stay on 2 and 3 star hotels with way batter breakfast then this. Well i dont know what protocol our tavel guide had with the hotel but i think the hotel have to maintane their standars and have the minimal quality.
The breakfast consisted on : milk, 2 juice flavours, 2 tips of bread, cheese, ham , and cereals...!?!? And we saw on others tables a magestic breakfast for others groups....
I dont care about the Protocol with the travel agency...a 4 star hotel have to maintaine their standars and have at least a 4 star breakfast. Very wrong policy.
If you go for this hotel check out about the protocol of your travel agency .
By the way, Salzburg is a romantic city and a hidden gem.Maybe on off the best in the world...and its MOZARTs home :)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    303
    119
    39
    27
See reviews for
155
215
35
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Lancashire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2009

I stayed here with my famly for a few days before Christmas, ideal for the markets and a shot of culture.

I normally stay at Marriot hotels - the Renaissance is partnered with the Marriot group so you know what standards to expect.

I managed to get a 3 nights for the price of 2 which included full breakfast - a great package as the charge for a breakfast alone is 19 Euros.

The rooms were spacious and the bedding luxurious; bathrooms are in need of updating but were spotlessly clean and well equipped.

The breakfast quiality was great, good quality and lots of choice.

Car parking (below the hotel) is 16 Euros a day - convenient especially as it was snowing and minus 15 at the time!

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Although the hotel is a 20 minute walk from the Old Town taxis were plentiful and only 7 or 8 Euros each time into the city centre.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deanshanger
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2009

This hotel is immaculate. Extremely clean and the hotel staff were very helpful. The breakfast was substantial and really set you up for the day. Rooms were really comfortable so much so you found it difficult to get out of bed. No evening meal facilities at the hotel and not many retaurants on the doorstep, so you need to make the 10-15 minute walk into the City Centre. A must is the goulash soup, delightful on a cold day

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2009

Chose this hotel as we had a very early train the day we left. Staff friendly enough and helpful about providing maps etc.
No tea/coffee facilities in room, complementary teaa and coffee availble first thing in loby but we didnt realise this until last day. Breakfast is expensive: 19Euro, but there are cafes/bakery at the station and nearby shopping centre. Weights room, gym and small pool and sauna which was very quiet when we went. If you buy a Salzburg card to visit attractions it includes bus fares too. Many buses within 5 min walk and it's ~25mins to walk to the middle of the old town and very easy route to follow.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, NJ
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2009

Our room at the Renaissance was very nice and up to the standards we expect in a four star Marriott brand hotel. However, the best part about this property is the very friendly and very helpful staff. This was our first trip to Salzburg and we needed some assistance in planning our activities. The front desk provides the concierge services and we were very pleased with the help we received. They provided detailed information on everything from the local transportation system, to site seeing tours, and restaurant recommendations. We were traveling by car so we found it very helpful that the hotel had a parking garage.
The Hotel is located less than two blocks from the main transportation center. There is also a small Mall at this location. Very convenient for shopping and includes some restaurants, Grocery, and even a McDonalds. In addition to trains there are buses that provide routes to all the area attractions .The buses are clean, prompt, and inexpensive. The main attractions in Salzburg are in the Old City. This is a 20 to 30 minute walk from the hotel. We took the bus several times to the Old City and our fare was included in the Salzburg Pass which included admission to most of the attractions. We acquired our Salburg Pass from the Hotel Concierge and we highly recommend this Pass for visitors.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

The hotel's a bit out of the way, but just around the corner from the Central Train Station, so maybe that's a plus, as you can drop off your luggage right away as opposed to hawling it around the cobbled streets of the old town. From the train station, the Numbers 1, 3, & 5 trolleybuses take you to the center of the old town. The staff were quite nice, i.e. quick to provide us with a tea kettle. The room was really big, and had the softest beds I can remember in recent memory so I slept like a baby. If I had to complain about something I'd gripe about the minifridge not being very cold and the ice machines only being on even numbered floors while my room was on the 3rd floor, but that's the only thing I can think of.

Do take a tour of the Mozart Birthplace on Getreidgasse, unlike most apartment museums in Austria everything is in German AND English so it really is quite informative. Also, take the number 1 trollybus a few stops to the Stiegel brewery (Brauhausstrasse stop), I didn't bother with the tour but the brewpub is fantastic. The Xmas markets in the old town center is especially charming, nice souvenirs and great food and pastries [but then you'd probably have to look very hard to find bad food/pastries in Austria].

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

It's out of the city center, but walking distance if coming in from Salzburg Hautbanhof, which is where buses start their routes. We didn't get breakfast but there are places to eat around it and you can get coffee in the lobby every morning. Nice, clean, spacious rooms - American style. Someone commented about restaurants to the left or right of hotel, but actually the hidden gem are the restaurants inside the bldg. right in front of the hotel. There's a gym in the bldg., but while looking for restaurants, we noticed signs about Chinese and Italian restaurants. We got in the bldg., and true enough there were clean, cozy, restaurants inside ! They need to advertise that bldg more. I can return to that hotel, esp. now I know where to eat. Though we tried the cheaper Kebab places near the station for lunch too. I don't think there was A/C, or do they turn it off after summer ?

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Centre

Address: Fanny-von-Lehnert-Strasse 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Salzburg
#8 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#26 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#28 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel And Conference Centre
Renaissance Salzburg
Salzburg Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.