We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Centre to your Saves list
Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fanny-von-Lehnert-Strasse 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

This hotel has a very good location just steps away from the train station and shopping center with supermarket and fast food restaurants. If you don't mind walking you can reach city center in 10-15 minutes.

The room is nice and cozy and looks like on the pictures on the web site. The mattress was little soft to my taste but still ok for a good sleep. There is a spacious wardrobe and a mini bar available in the room with some drinks and refreshments but no coffee/tea maker. You can use free wifi internet in the room but you have to ask for the login and password from the front desk. The downturn is that the access is supposed to be valid for 24 hours but only with your computer on otherwise you need a new login. The only thing which was not up to 4* standard was the bathroom which was also missing vanity mirror but on the hand had super soft towels.

Breakfast is very good with plenty of varieties of pastries, jams, cereals, juices, fresh fruits... if you prefer English breakfast it wouldn't be a full breakfast but definately something for you too.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SZGZA, Manager at Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 24, 2011
Dear Milusa,

Thank you very much for your feedback in relation to your stay with us.

With pleasure I shared your motivating feedback on the breakfast with our chef.

Regarding your comment on the internet system I am very pleased to inform you that we are currently checking the possibility to provide easy access to the internet and I trust that a solution better than the password will be found soon.

And finally, as far as the tea and coffee making facilities are concerned I can confirm that all missing items have been replaced and all rooms are equipped with a kettle along with a choice of coffee, tea and hot chocolate. This service is provided free of charge to help our guests feel at home away from home.

Dear Milusa, again thank you for the time you took, it is by acting on feedback such as yours that we can improve our services even further.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to the Radisson Blu Hotel & Conference Centre in occasion of your next stay in Salzburg.

Katja Dietz
Resident Manager
The Radisson Blu Hotel & Conference Centre, Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    258
    114
    33
    27
See reviews for
140
188
31
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Nice, modern hotel. It's a bit of a walk (or else bus trip) to the cultural part of town. The hotel very close to the train station.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

BED BUGS..!! BEWARE..!!
I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights and got bitten by bed bugs. I ended up with hundreds of bites, my hands and neck were swollen and unbearably itchy. I thought it was due to food poisoning until I caught few of the bed bugs crawling on my hand on the final night. What a horrible experience..!! I had to throw away my luggage and few of the bed bugs followed me home. The hotel gave me a refund but refused to pay for my medical expenses and compensate for my losses. I had nightmares for few weeks and still have scars all over my hands and neck. DO NOT STAY IN THIS HOTEL..!! VERY FILTHY..!! THE WORST HOTEL I EVER STAYED IN MY LIFE..!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SZGZA, Manager at Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Centre, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Dear Regina,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

Since we care about the hotel and especially about our guests we take remarks such as yours seriously and take the necessary action right away.

In your particular case, you reported being bitten by bed bugs after a five nights stay in the morning of your departure. As you might remember - the receptionist called immediately a doctor and the corresponding bills were paid by the hotel.

After your check out, we have locked the room and called a certified pest control company that has dismantled and professionally inspected the room in detail. The pest control company reported and guaranteed that neither signs nor further indices of bed bucks could be located in the inspected room. Nevertheless - and purely precautionary - we had the hired company completely disinfect the room.

Further, documentation issued by the above mentioned company and available to
a third party confirms an excellent and high quality standard of the room with no indices and evidences of any bugs or further vermin.

The Radisson Blu Hotel & Conference Centre, Salzburg is one of the most sophisticated and well established hotels in town. One of the reasons certainly is due to the consistent maintenance of our high standards of hygiene and safety through scheduled complex security measures.

Our focus is the well being of our guests and all necessary actions of precaution have been taken.

Dear Regina, after all we honestly hope that this message reaches you in good health and hopefully, we see you, your family and friends soon back in our hotel in occasion of your next stay in Salzburg.

Please do not hesitate to contact us. We will be pleased to assist you with the reservation.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
The Radisson Blu Hotel & Conference Centre, Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011 via mobile

Large hotel.. Staff friendly and helpful..location good. Close to train station and walking distance to Old Town.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Location great. 2 minute walk from central train station. Large, clean and modern rooms. Good sized bathroom. Business hotel so don't expect anything unique. Only 10-15 minute walk to main centre. Friendly staff. A little pricey but reasonable for Salzburg. Breakfast was OK - not fantastic but certainly hit the spot. I would definitely recommend for those needing close proximity to the station and don't mind a short walk into the city.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for two nights starting Sept. 18. It’s a nice hotel, and just about 10 minutes walk from the main railway station. We stayed in room 603, which had a bit of a view of a distant castle and some roads, nothing extraordinary. The hotel is vast and didn’t seem to be brimming with people, except during breakfast hours. We were greeted at the check-in by a trainee, who did all the explanations quite well. The room is well appointed, spacious and they offered us free wi-fi use for 120 minutes. The room is big, has a nice LCD TV, comfortable bed, place to keep suitcase, a desk etc. The hotel staff were helpful whenever you had a question about the local region. It was raining quite heavily when we were there in Salzburg and the hotel staff was kind enough to lend us umbrellas every time we asked.

The only two minor issues we had were: 1.) I think they charged us additional 50% for laundry in the name of express service. They didn’t give it back in 3 hours as per the guidelines of their express service, but charged me 50% extra, although the laundry paper in the room said otherwise. 2.) Minor one -- We had to remind the hotel four times to get two mugs sent to our room.

The breakfast is nice and offers a wide spread. The staff are very helpful as well, although you can’t expect Asian service in Europe.
Access to travel within Salzburg isn;t a problem from this hotel at all. Everything is nearby. There is a Burger King, an Italian food outlet, a Subway, a Kebab place and McDonald's nearby as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor with a view of the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed 1 night here because we wanted to be close to the train station. It is just 2 blocks from the train station and there is a Migros, Mcdonalds, and Burger King a block away. The hotel is a conference center but was very quiet when we were there. Rooms are well equipped and comfortable. We walked to Mirabell Gardens and the Old City which is about 15 minutes. The staff were very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Centre

Address: Fanny-von-Lehnert-Strasse 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#6 Spa Hotel in Salzburg
#26 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Wyndham, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel And Conference Centre
Renaissance Salzburg
Salzburg Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.