We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xmas Market Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Goldenes Theater Hotel

Save Saved
You added Goldenes Theater Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Goldenes Theater Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Schallmooser Haupstrasse 13, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 135 hotels in Salzburg
Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Xmas Market Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We chose this hotel firstly by cost and then by location and were very pleased by our decision. The hotel accommodation is not 4 star but the beds were very comfortable and the room extremely warm! Disappointing that we had to take up plastic cups of hot water from the foyer and buy tea bags to get a drink in our room. We felt that those facilities are really standard these days, but not here! The walk to the old town was a pleasant stroll and mainly through a pedestrianised section with some very nice windows to look in! As others have mentioned, breakfast really was very good and certainly catered for every nationality. Even bacon and scrambled eggs for the English! Salzburg is just lovely and the Xmas Markets really delightful. If going with young children, beware of Krampus during Advent as he scared the wits out of us with his grotesquely masked helpers - and we're in our 60's! Travels through town at about 5pm in the evening. We don't know about him in the UK!

Room Tip: Noisy road if you like to have a window open!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    161
    81
    24
    14
See reviews for
102
122
24
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Had a pleasant three night stay in a comfortable hotel. The breakfast in particular was excellent with a range of fresh produce and selection of bread and yoghurts. There is a trade off in that it is a 10-15 minute walk from the city centre although the surrounding area has plenty of shops if you feel like browsing. On the plus side the distance lowers the price for a room.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Excellent hotel, excellent people, excellent prices, excellent breakfast and excellent location, free WiFi.

I was very much impressed by the good service and the very rich breakfast.

I was offered a car park in the hotel at a reasonable cost. This was very convenient, since finding a parking area in Salzburg City Centre is a bit of a problem.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Arrived at the hotel with an excellent greeting from a gentleman offering assistance with parking and booking in. Entrance to the garage is around the side and very secure. We stayed for two nights with our first night being very uncomfortable due to no air conditioning although there was a unit on the wall. We complained (Our first Mistake). We were greeted with rude confusion and the claim that there were no air conditioners in our room. When further complaints were made, it was suggested that we could be transferred to another room. (Our second Mistake). We were required to bring our suitcases to reception and leave them there whilst went touring the city. On return we were given another room which was worse than the one we started with. Air conditioner didn't work and made enough noise to drown out a Jumbo. There were different coloured curtain tie backs. There was paint on the curtains. (We made sure there wouldn't be a third Mistake) The Hotel is dated and in need of a good makeover. Now for the good part. The hotel is perfectly located with a magnificent breakfast and secure parking. Within walking distance to the river and over the bridge to the attractions

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed 3 nights and were not very happy with it. First when you enter the room you feel like in an hospital, everything so sterile! It was no heat, we complained about the cold and they said that before the 15th of October it was on only for a few hours!!! Room was supposed to be non smoking, we could smell the smoke from the rooms next door. Bathrooms needs big update and you could see through the towels!!!!
The people who work at this hotel, work hard long hours and were very helpful but still I wouldn't recommend this place.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I chose this hotel as it seemed to be the most reasonably priced hotel for its location and was not disappointed!

We travelled into Salzburg via train from Vienna and it was easy enough to find the hotel, thanks to the Information Office at the station who provided clear directions. We took the number 2 bus from the train station and had to walk another 5 minutes to the hotel, alternately you could wait at that stop for the number 4 bus which stops outside the hotel.

The hotel itself is lovely, we were on a multi city break, so had stayed in Ibis hotels which offered a modern and familiar feel in each one. The Goldenes Theater rooms also offered a modern feel but maintained its own character and charm to the rest of the hotel. I read reviews that it looked dated, but I don’t agree, it had its own character, which added to the charm.
The rooms were clean and spacious with loads of storage space and the WiFi access was a bonus.

Breakfast offered a varied selection and the staff were very welcoming and friendly, ready to accommodate any of your needs.

As we were on a short stay we had an idea of what we wanted to do, but the receptionist was really helpful and it was easy to book excursions with the hotel and all information and maps provided.

As I mentioned we were city hopping and had previously booked the Ibis hotels in the those cities but the Ibis was fully booked in Salzburg and as much I love staying in Ibis for short stays, I am glad we ended up booking with the Goldenes, it matched the Ibis but added to the charm of staying in Salzburg, it was slightly more expensive than the Ibis but still value for money for the amenities, rooms and location.

Location wise, if you follow the road down, it’s about 10 minutes into the centre, passing loads of charming shops and restaurants. There is a supermarket across the road from the hotel, I bought some chocolates to take back home from here.

The Mirabell Palace and Gardens are about 5-10 minutes’ walk away, and well sign posted, alternately you could get the bus as the main bus station is opposite the gardens. It’s a small city you can easily get around on foot, if you get the Salzburg card you can travel for free and worthwhile for the attractions outside the city centre. We purchased the card for 24 hours and we visited Unterberg Mountain, using the number 25 bus (you can catch the bus from the centre), which included the cable ride up the mountain. We also visited the Hellbrunn Palace and Trick Fountain and the Hohenesalzburg Fortress, which provided free access to cable and tours with the Salzburg card.

For a short stay, this hotel is perfect for your stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Spent only one night with my husband and son, but would do it again! The room was large and clean. The staff were friendly, making tour reservations and recommending great restaurants. Breakfast was fine -- lots of choices! And it was a convenient walk from the train station, and easy to get into Old Town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Goldenes Theater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldenes Theater Hotel

Address: Schallmooser Haupstrasse 13, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 135 hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Goldenes Theater Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Hotel located in town center, 1/2 mile from train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Goldenes Theater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordial Theaterhotel Hotel Salzburg
Salzburg Cordial Theaterhotel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goldenes Theater Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.