We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and a calm room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Goldenes Theater Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Goldenes Theater Hotel to your Saves list
Goldenes Theater Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Schallmooser Haupstrasse 13, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Osaka
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good location and a calm room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Goldenes Theater Hotel is located near old city of Salzburg. It takes only 7 or 10 min on foot to oldcity. I stayed 4 night and enjoyed walking around old city or watching marionette of "Sound of music". Marionetten Theater is walking distance too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    180
    89
    27
    16
See reviews for
115
130
30
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Late July, we just arrived. It was +40 C outside. We found we had to pay 10 euros per day for Air Conditioning! Outrageous... My wife complain a lot she got a table fan for free...
Cleaning is poor. Beds are just ok...

Location is good, not the best...

To be fair... We've got two rooms for the price of one, that was awesome. Breakfast is great.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

A great find for families, as the room for four is actually two rooms: one bedroom and one living/dining room with a comfortable sofa bed. A dining table for four would make eating in the room very comfortable if needed. Breakfast was good and plentiful, with an added bonus of being able to sit outside on a quiet terrace. My only concern with this room was that the shower wasn't really a shower. The bar to hold up the handheld shower head had been placed too far from the taps to reach so it was just a handheld shower. This could likely be easily remedied just by moving the bar 18 inches closer to the taps, which would have made my rating a 5.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I’ve stayed here several times and I’m posting another review to call attention to the superb staff, which is the primary reason I return here. They are as friendly and helpful as could be and they will do everything they can to guarantee a pleasant experience in Salzburg. The location is good, but you need to be willing to walk a little bit to get close to the main attractions. Excellent breakfast, big clean rooms. For families or small groups, the triples/quads are actually two rooms (living room with fold-out couch and bedroom); the apartments are even bigger and have basic kitchen facilities.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were on a concert tour and had no control over where we stayed. This was our home base for day tours for 14 days. Things you might not notice in a short stay, were obvious over the long haul. The beds were ok, but daily cleaning service was minimal. We frequently did not get clean glasses and somtimes not clean towels. Towels were poor quality. Laminate floor was never mopped and seldom vacuumed.Nothing was ever dusted. No evidence of any mops in cleaning cart, so am not sure how or if bathroom floor was cleaned. By the time we left dust bunnies abounded and the bottom of our new slippers were filthy. We had to ask to have burned out bulbs replaced - even in the bathroom - which should have been obvious to the cleaning crew.The plug in the bathroom sink was broken. My husband took it to the desk to show them what was wrong. The next morning they had left a new one in our box for us to install.Our first shower head was cracked and sprayed water all over the bathroom. Fortunately, they didn't expect us to fix that, too. The breakfast was the same for all 14 days. The week day desk clerks were much more helpful than those working the weekend shifts.

Room Tip: We didn't know until the day before we check out,that there were some rooms available with AC...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights. The rooms are quite small, but well equipped and clean. Comfortable bed, but I couldn't work out if the air conditioning was functional. A good size bathroom (though the shower was a bit old seeming) - one real bonus was the room had an entrance foyer with lots of space for luggage and a good size wardrobe.

It's within comfortable walking distance of both the Neues and Altes Stadts, and the train station is less than 15 minutes away. The breakfast was pretty good (but the coffee was awful).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bosnia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We got a small room, double bed could be split in two, there was noise from the street. Upper part of the window wasn't functional. Air conditioning costing additional 10€ per day. WiFi working fine. Breakfast was good.
Definitely not a 4 star hotel as they advertise.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Goldenes Theater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldenes Theater Hotel

Address: Schallmooser Haupstrasse 13, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Goldenes Theater Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Hotel located in town center, 1/2 mile from train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Goldenes Theater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordial Theaterhotel Hotel Salzburg
Salzburg Cordial Theaterhotel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goldenes Theater Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.