We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good price, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Goldenes Theater Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Goldenes Theater Hotel to your Saves list
Goldenes Theater Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Schallmooser Haupstrasse 13, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 137 Hotels in Salzburg
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good price, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Good value, friendly staff - the gentleman at the reception gave us advice on nearby restaurants, and gave us directions. The location is great, 5 minute walk to the city center. No problems with the metered parking on the street. Good breakfast with an overaverage choice things to eat. Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Zagreb
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

TO BE SHORT ...
Location: perfect (10 min walk from central Railway Station, 10 min walk to the Old city )
Sightseeing: perfect for walking tours, everything in reach, a lot of stores an restaurants as well as bars nearby!
Service: friendly staff, rooms offer a lot of space, bathroom and interior clean, design not the newest but acceptable, breakfast more than recommendable (plenty of choice, good coffee, a lot of tea)
Price: perfect!
One does not need to spend more money for a hotel room - spend it on nice food, entrance, gorgeous Austrian wine - the city offers a lot of culture and good shopping!

Room Tip: Any special wishes or questions regarding the reservation can be placed by mail and will be answered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TintiZagreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Great hotel for the price. Room was spacious with lots of storage. Comfortable bed and linens. Wood floors were a nice surprise. Bathroom was clean with lots of counter space. The only negative was the moldy shower walls which is a shame because it could have been easily cleaned with a little more effort from the cleaning staff. The complimentary breakfast buffet was also very nice with excellent choices and served in the wonderfully set dining room. Location was also very good, though not very close to old town it's just a 10 minute lovely walk down the street past markets, boutiques, cafes etc. and connected to the bridge to old town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We had no problem walking to the Goldenes Theater Hotel from the train station (15 minutes). Its distance from the old town was a concern at first, but the walk to the river was much shorter than it looked on a map, and the many shops lining both sides of the street kept the journey interesting. The staff at the front desk was very friendly on our arrival and departure, even suggesting sights suited to our tastes (history v. art, etc.). Amenities are limited (no microwave, tableware for eating in), but the hotel bar staff was eager to help when I asked for some silverware. Breakfast was good, though I would have liked to see more variety (I'm just not a deli meat and cheese kinda guy at 9am), but there was always something to eat, even towards the end of the buffet (7:30-10), and always plenty of seats. The hotel has its own parking garage, though I didn't use it, so I don't know what the cost/conditions were. But I'd say if you plan to spend most of your time walking around the city, this is a great home base! Taxi fare to the airport was around 16 euro.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms, 900-918 are right inside the door, if you have a lot of luggage (or just loa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TubaBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was not the best Hotel in the World, but I had planned to keep my costs reasonable and spend more money on food, touristy things, not on a Hotel.

The Hotel has a nice bar, a big TV, complimentary internet access on their PC and Wi-Fi throughout which works well. One very attractive Front Desk attendant acted like I was an inconvenience to her, the rest were very polite/helpful and willing to speak English. The Complimentary Breakfast was good, they cook onsite, a wide assortment of breads, meats, eggs, veggies, cheese, and more, the coffee was good.

The rooms were clean and spartan in appearance, but fine. The White/Yellow coloring shown on their website makes the rooms look rich, but in reality with the fluorescent lighting was a slightly different story... sort of blah and washed out. Heating was good, hot water was good, in Austria the windows/doors work a different way, at first i thought I broke the big door/window facing the street, tried to open it a crack and it seemed to fall towards me, well this is a 3 position door of sorts, after I figured it out, was quite ingenious.

The TV worked fine, small fridge/minibar which I didn't use, had a queen bed with plenty of open space and room to unpack my stuff.. location is a reasonable walk to the main Downtown further distance to get across the River to that side of town but I enjoyed the walk.

Oh, I forgot to mention... the Queen Bed was really 2 twins packed together.. but was the most comfortable Tempurpedic style mattress I have ever experienced at a Hotel... if anything, this put this Hotel above others in its price range if you value a very comfortable bed and a great nights sleep.. a bit of noise in the room from the busy street below, something to keep in mind.

Room Tip: Fantastic Mattresses... rooms overlooking the sidestreet or facing the interior courtyard are more q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Booogiemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talladega, Alabama
Level Contributor
227 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The hotel has a dated look, but is clean and comfortable. We had a quad room which ended up being a small apartment- one bedroom, sleeper sofa in living area with table and fridge, and one bath. Great for our party of 4. Our windows looked out onto Kapuzinerberg Mountian. It was a 10-15 minute walk from the train station and about the same walking down a shopping street to the river and old town. There was a computer in the lobby and a small lobby bar. Breakfast was good with a wide choice of teas, cereal, eggs, breads, fruit, yogurt, etc. There is hot water available in the lobby all the time if you have your own tea or coffee. We enjoyed getting lunch at Bistro-Cafe Pepita on the main street as you walk to the river.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel-Seal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The location of the hotel is very comfortable for sightseeing. Rooms are small, but clear and nice. The service is of a high quality thought the hotel doesn't pretend to be an upscale. Good for families.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Svetlankak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.2 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#34 of 137 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 1,048 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#17 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg
Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg
#58 of 137 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 579 reviews
0.7 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#24 of 137 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 651 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atel Hotel Lasserhof
Atel Hotel Lasserhof
#75 of 137 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goldenes Theater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldenes Theater Hotel

Address: Schallmooser Haupstrasse 13, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 137 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Goldenes Theater Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable privately owned hotel in the centre of Salzburg. Enjoys a quiet position although in the centre of the town. Within easy reach on foot to all of the historic and interesting points of the city: e.g. Mirabell Castle and gardens, theaters, churches and museums, congress house, central train station and of course not to be missed the famous old Town Centre with its historic buildings and monuments. Parking available on the street free of charge weekdays from 7pm to 9am, all day Saturday, Sunday and Bank Holidays, or in garage opposite to us 14 Euro per 24 Hours. Cancellations/Amendments/No Show with no charge will be accepted only up to 48 hours prior to date of arrival (02Pm local), after this time limit 100% of reservation value will be charged. Until 10.30 buffet Breakfast is served. Rates include all taxes and Services. Children up to 10 years stay free when sharing existing beds in room with parent's (max 1 allowed in double/twin room only). Free wireless internet in all rooms and in the lobby free use of hotel computers too. Air-conditioning if not booked extra charge 10 Euro per day, not available in all rooms. We book your tours and provide free hotel pick-up. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Goldenes Theater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordial Theaterhotel Hotel Salzburg
Salzburg Cordial Theaterhotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing