We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good price, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Goldenes Theater Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Goldenes Theater Hotel to your Saves list
Goldenes Theater Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Schallmooser Haupstrasse 13, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good price, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Good value, friendly staff - the gentleman at the reception gave us advice on nearby restaurants, and gave us directions. The location is great, 5 minute walk to the city center. No problems with the metered parking on the street. Good breakfast with an overaverage choice things to eat. Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    181
    89
    27
    16
See reviews for
116
130
30
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

TO BE SHORT ...
Location: perfect (10 min walk from central Railway Station, 10 min walk to the Old city )
Sightseeing: perfect for walking tours, everything in reach, a lot of stores an restaurants as well as bars nearby!
Service: friendly staff, rooms offer a lot of space, bathroom and interior clean, design not the newest but acceptable, breakfast more than recommendable (plenty of choice, good coffee, a lot of tea)
Price: perfect!
One does not need to spend more money for a hotel room - spend it on nice food, entrance, gorgeous Austrian wine - the city offers a lot of culture and good shopping!

Room Tip: Any special wishes or questions regarding the reservation can be placed by mail and will be answered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Great hotel for the price. Room was spacious with lots of storage. Comfortable bed and linens. Wood floors were a nice surprise. Bathroom was clean with lots of counter space. The only negative was the moldy shower walls which is a shame because it could have been easily cleaned with a little more effort from the cleaning staff. The complimentary breakfast buffet was also very nice with excellent choices and served in the wonderfully set dining room. Location was also very good, though not very close to old town it's just a 10 minute lovely walk down the street past markets, boutiques, cafes etc. and connected to the bridge to old town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We had no problem walking to the Goldenes Theater Hotel from the train station (15 minutes). Its distance from the old town was a concern at first, but the walk to the river was much shorter than it looked on a map, and the many shops lining both sides of the street kept the journey interesting. The staff at the front desk was very friendly on our arrival and departure, even suggesting sights suited to our tastes (history v. art, etc.). Amenities are limited (no microwave, tableware for eating in), but the hotel bar staff was eager to help when I asked for some silverware. Breakfast was good, though I would have liked to see more variety (I'm just not a deli meat and cheese kinda guy at 9am), but there was always something to eat, even towards the end of the buffet (7:30-10), and always plenty of seats. The hotel has its own parking garage, though I didn't use it, so I don't know what the cost/conditions were. But I'd say if you plan to spend most of your time walking around the city, this is a great home base! Taxi fare to the airport was around 16 euro.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms, 900-918 are right inside the door, if you have a lot of luggage (or just loa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was not the best Hotel in the World, but I had planned to keep my costs reasonable and spend more money on food, touristy things, not on a Hotel.

The Hotel has a nice bar, a big TV, complimentary internet access on their PC and Wi-Fi throughout which works well. One very attractive Front Desk attendant acted like I was an inconvenience to her, the rest were very polite/helpful and willing to speak English. The Complimentary Breakfast was good, they cook onsite, a wide assortment of breads, meats, eggs, veggies, cheese, and more, the coffee was good.

The rooms were clean and spartan in appearance, but fine. The White/Yellow coloring shown on their website makes the rooms look rich, but in reality with the fluorescent lighting was a slightly different story... sort of blah and washed out. Heating was good, hot water was good, in Austria the windows/doors work a different way, at first i thought I broke the big door/window facing the street, tried to open it a crack and it seemed to fall towards me, well this is a 3 position door of sorts, after I figured it out, was quite ingenious.

The TV worked fine, small fridge/minibar which I didn't use, had a queen bed with plenty of open space and room to unpack my stuff.. location is a reasonable walk to the main Downtown further distance to get across the River to that side of town but I enjoyed the walk.

Oh, I forgot to mention... the Queen Bed was really 2 twins packed together.. but was the most comfortable Tempurpedic style mattress I have ever experienced at a Hotel... if anything, this put this Hotel above others in its price range if you value a very comfortable bed and a great nights sleep.. a bit of noise in the room from the busy street below, something to keep in mind.

Room Tip: Fantastic Mattresses... rooms overlooking the sidestreet or facing the interior courtyard are more q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talladega, Alabama
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The hotel has a dated look, but is clean and comfortable. We had a quad room which ended up being a small apartment- one bedroom, sleeper sofa in living area with table and fridge, and one bath. Great for our party of 4. Our windows looked out onto Kapuzinerberg Mountian. It was a 10-15 minute walk from the train station and about the same walking down a shopping street to the river and old town. There was a computer in the lobby and a small lobby bar. Breakfast was good with a wide choice of teas, cereal, eggs, breads, fruit, yogurt, etc. There is hot water available in the lobby all the time if you have your own tea or coffee. We enjoyed getting lunch at Bistro-Cafe Pepita on the main street as you walk to the river.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The location of the hotel is very comfortable for sightseeing. Rooms are small, but clear and nice. The service is of a high quality thought the hotel doesn't pretend to be an upscale. Good for families.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Goldenes Theater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldenes Theater Hotel

Address: Schallmooser Haupstrasse 13, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Goldenes Theater Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Hotel located in town center, 1/2 mile from train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Goldenes Theater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordial Theaterhotel Hotel Salzburg
Salzburg Cordial Theaterhotel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goldenes Theater Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.