We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Goldenes Theater Hotel

Save Saved
You added Goldenes Theater Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Goldenes Theater Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Schallmooser Haupstrasse 13, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 135 hotels in Salzburg
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
“Nice Hotel to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

This hotel is very close to the pedestrian area of the old town, just few minutes walk and you are in the heart of town. It is very clean, calm, has nice spacios rooms with adequate bathrooms. The wifi is free of charge as the breakfast too. Very rich by the way.
Nice place to stay alone or with family and friends. Also has parking.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    161
    82
    24
    14
See reviews for
103
122
24
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Goldenes Theater Hotel in Salzburg is a nice place to sleep, cheap hotel with good free breakfast, nice rooms and spacious bathroom, both very clean. Friendly staff and easy parking, the hotel offers free Internet wifi use. I recomend this place to all readers who want to visit this wonderful town.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Had just the day in Salzburg. The staff is very helpful and the location suited us. The hohensalzburg fortress is at a walking distance and so are places like the Mozart house. The amenities are basic but no complaints at all.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

We Liked the location. 15 minute walk to shops and sights. Grocery store right across the street. Restaurants right outside door of hotel. Clerks at desk all nice and helped us without hesitation. We were in a triple room and it was clean and included a refrigerator. The sheets were soft and bed was comfortable. We asked for firmer pillows and given without problem. Parking down the street only a block away. Staff can provide a discount coupon. We parked on street two days, as it's free between 6 pm to 9 am, and we arrived around 3 pm first day and were out at the lakes the entire next day, so only used the garage our last day. Parking garage is pricey at 14 euro a day. Smoking allowed right at entry of building, so feels like a smoking lobby. Breakfast was okay and plenty. Brotchen, cereal, coffee, eggs, bacon, juice, cake, tea, cheese, veggies, and meats. Weather was hot during our visit and no AC, so room got hot and stuffy. Windows were open, but people mill around the streets all night, so noise is heard and interrupted our sleep. Oscillating fan was provided. Frig and safe were available in the room which was nice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

I had done research on where to stay in Salzburg and we were terribly disappointed with this hotel. We have a family of 4 and this hotel has one room that can accommodate 4 of us in one room. It cost 145EURO and was not worth it.

As far as location, it is fine - about a 15 minute walk to the old part of the city over the bridge. But the hotel was not clean. It looked like it had not been remodeled in 25 years. The beds were old, the bed linen was old and the towels were the size of wash cloths.

We ended up leaving a day early because we were so uncomfortable there.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

We had triple room consist with 1 double bed and 1 big sofa bed , kitchen at the corner+dinner table , big bath room (old fashion dryer that we saw for the first time ! + alarm above the bath which we were thinking for what ) . it is around 10-15 mins walk to here from train station and from hotel walk to old town around 10-15 mins also . Well , we stayed 1 night -- had tight sleep and good time here . Recommend !

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

The Goldenes Theater Hotel is an easy home base for Salzburg, and if you feel you are getting a 4-star hotel, it seems quite a bargain.

Each room is named for a classical composer, and there is an operatic theme throughout the hotel.

I stayed here in May 2011 as a solo traveler for about €65/night, which provided an immaculately clean, generous-sized room with a pair of twin beds abutting one another and a television (including an English CNN channel), small refrigerator, both an open and enclosed closet, and a room safe.

My bathroom was fairly large but contained only a shower (no tub). The wall bracket intended to hold the hose-attached shower nozzle was not up to the task. (Indeed, the nozzle fell while I was in the shower and almost conked me in the head.) After that close-call, I simply used the hose/nozzle combo as a hand shower.

The breakfast buffet was generous and satisfying every morning. Scrambled eggs and bacon were always available, yogurts, juices, various cheeses and fruits, and a selection of breads. Coffee was placed in insulated urns on each of the tables. Guests can eat indoors, which at times seems a bit crowded, or in good weather, on the hotel's patio.

The location was convenient. I walked almost everywhere from the hotel, including to and from the train station (although that's a bit of a hike). The Mirabel Garden, the Mozart Wohnhaus, and Die Weisse beer garden/restaurant (highly recommended) are all nearby. And if you want to economize, a grocery store is located across the street.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side street or the courtyar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Goldenes Theater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldenes Theater Hotel

Address: Schallmooser Haupstrasse 13, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 135 hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Goldenes Theater Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Hotel located in town center, 1/2 mile from train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Goldenes Theater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordial Theaterhotel Hotel Salzburg
Salzburg Cordial Theaterhotel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goldenes Theater Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.