We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Austrian Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Schloss Monchstein

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Schloss Monchstein to your Saves list
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Monchsberg Park 26, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 135 Hotels in Salzburg
Holbrook, New York
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Austrian Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Where does one start?

Decor - Nothing short of regal.

Room - Amazing. Probably one of the nicest rooms I've ever had despite not having much of a view from it. Clean, spacious and obviously well maintained.

Service - Stellar. Wolfgang was easily the most engaging and pleasant maitre d' I've ever met. Despite admittedly working very late the previous night, he was more than welcoming to us and offered every bit of valuable insight he could about the city as well as Austria. The front desk staff was very helpful with suggestions and making reservations for us.

Location - Perfect. Just a short, wonderful walk through the woods to the elevator that brings you right into the old town area. The views from the hotel and museum area are nothing short of breathtaking. It is also a wonderful hotel just for staying in & relaxing when you need to get away from it all.

Restaurant - Wonderfully prepared food and great service both at dinner and breakfast.

My only regret was not staying here longer - worth every euro.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view if possible just to enhance the experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    13
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
138
9
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The views of the city from the hotel and grounds, especially at night, were awesome. But this hotel is not about the views, but the service. We were upgraded to a suite (for our wedding anniversary) and it just kept getting better. Upon arrival we were wisked off to a waiting area and given champagne. Check-in came to us. The luggage was delivered to the suite. A handwritten note with a bowl of fruits and a loaf of the best tasting cake/bread was waiting for us. The room was huge, the bathroom all marble, top to bottom. The closet was bigger than most european hotel rooms. The gormet breakfast was on white linen tablecloths with anything you ever wish for in a European style breakfast. You could place a special order if you so desired, like an omlette with bacon for example.
We reserved the "Smallest restaurant in the World" for our anniversary dinner. We were able to work with the chef, prior to arrival, to design our own menu. Aside from being a bit warm in the tower for dinner, it was a "Bucket List" experience. We were given a personalized menu listing what we had chosen for dinner. After being spoiled by the staff for 2 days, all our other european hotel stays for the next 2 weeks were all downhill. This place is in a class of its own.

Room Tip: I can't imagine them having a bad room in the whole place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed here several nights for the Salzburg Festival, and we had an unforgettable experience. The hotel is an easy walk to the festival venues: 300m to the Museum der Moderne elevator and another 300m from the elevator to the venues. (Google Maps is somewhat misleading because it doesn’t show the elevator shortcut.) As close as the hotel is to the Altstadt, its location on Monchsberg makes all the difference! The hotel became a refuge away from the frenzied activity of all the visitors to Salzburg in August. Instead of taking the funicular up to Hohensalzburg, we walked the wooded trails with spectacular views. We also ended up renting a car for daytrips from Salzburg, and we were able to park our car right at the hotel. I’m not sure we would have been able to do so had we stayed in one of the hotels below.
We ate in the hotel restaurant for several breakfasts and one dinner. We enjoyed the restaurant terrace with its views of Salzburg. The breakfast buffet was quite extensive with cheeses, cold meats/fish, breads, pastries and homemade jams. Hot egg dishes were also available to order off the menu. We dined early at the hotel restaurant one evening prior to attending a festival performance. The food was excellent. We would have enjoyed it more had we started our meal earlier and not felt rushed to get to the performance on time. However, the restaurant staff knew we were attending a performance and were very helpful in trying to expedite our meal.
From the on-line reservation to checkout, the hotel staff exceeded my 5 star expectations. I had asked about transportation options to Munich airport when I made the hotel reservations. A few weeks before my arrival, the hotel emailed me to check if I needed any additional assistance with getting to the airport. At the front desk, the staff would retrieve my key as I was walking through the front door without me having to state my room number. Throughout the hotel, staff greeted English-speaking guests in English and German-speaking guests in German. Everyone was so gracious that I felt more like a guest in a home rather than a hotel. I have almost finished the chocolate jam the hotel gave us as a present as we were departing. We will definitely return to Schloss Monchstein when we are in Salzburg.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ascona
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This hotel is very conveniently situated outside the old town, so you can reach it without problem by car, and it is not far (just 300 meters) to the lift which takes you downtown. During Festival time the city center is closed to traffic from 10am to 2pm. The rooms seemingly are all different so we reserved a superior one. The one we were assigned, Nr 24, had a stunning view, a modern comfortable bathroom, but the room itself was too small for two persons. We kept being in each others way and hitting ourselves on the bed, the chair,etc. We had dinner twice at the restaurant and the meals and the service were excellent. Breakfast on the terrace with view of the city is lovely in good weather. The staff in general was very forthcoming. All in all we enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel, but next time we would reserve a suite so as to be more comfortable in the room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Although we did not stay at this hotel, we did venture up to it for breakfast. The offerings were extensive and all were superb.

The hotel is situated so that you can see out over Salzburg and the river. The views enhance the dining experience. If the weather permits, sit outside.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

My wife & I spent 2 nights here on our 25th wedding anniversary trip around Europe. Everything about the hotel was great. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were treated so very well by every member of staff. We had a package that included dinner - what a special treat that was! We were fortunate that we had the restaurant to ourselves and therefore the undivided attention of the staff. Do eat there if you stay in this hotel. We had a luxurious room with a magnificent bathroom overlooking Salzburg. I had to request a fan as it was so very hot and the ac unit in the room was barely coping. The hotel provided us with the use of a ticket enabling us to used the lift down into the old town. My wife was pleased to see enormous Mozart chocolates on her bedside table each night

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

A great location away from the tourist centre. Very attentive and informative staff, excellent restaurant, Wolfgang will look after you. Highly recommended . Whilst the motel s away from town there is left tat rates you to the hub in several minutes,but the secluded location really adds to the reason to stay there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Schloss Monchstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schloss Monchstein

Address: Monchsberg Park 26, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 135 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Schloss Monchstein 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HOTEL SCHLOSS MONCHSTEIN*****s boasts a panoramic view overlooking Salzburg and offers 24 rooms and suites. It lies in the middle of the city Salzburg on a hill. The competent staff of our gourmet restaurant awaits you. Our MonchsteinSpa fulfils all our guests' wishes. We offer the possibility of a civil marriage in the GOTHIC CHAMBER or a romantic dinner in the SMALLEST RESTAURANT IN THE WORLD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Schloss Monchstein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Schloss Monchstein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.