We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Austrian quality"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Auersperg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Auersperg to your Saves list
Hotel Auersperg
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Auerspergstrasse 61, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Golden Tulip Hotel Auersperg)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Cologne, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“"Austrian quality"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I cannot repeat enough how spacious and homely the rooms are. Many hotels try saving money when it comes to things like hotel rooms. The Auersperg upholds a high level of quality and manages not to make outrageous prices.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    147
    24
    18
    3
See reviews for
136
248
22
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, England
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Small and homely with really excellent rooms. Have stayed once in the separate villa and once in the hotel. Rooms in the main hotel were more spacious but all are well equipped and include nice touches like local guide books. Well placed short walk from river and old town without being in the middle of the tourist honey pots. As a result it is relatively quiet. Would now have this as my first choice in Salzburg.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

A fabulous breakfast and some good points (bar, games, DVDs). But the welcome desk was not helpful and we were located in the separate building which is disappointing since we were not warned. We had an old dirty sock on the heater when arriving in. The hotel is not so close from the center. So if you come, make sure you are in the main building and during the summer to anjoy the terrasse.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at this lovely hotel in January 2014. It was beautifully located in a quiet area 2 blocks from the linzergasse, and about 10 minutes from the old town. Our room was in the Villa next door to the main hotel. It was a top floor room, and I felt as thought I was in a very upmarket studio apartment. We were 2 adults and 2 children, so the kids were on a sleeper sofa. The room had lovely high ceilings, and felt so luxurious. There was a Tivoli radio, with a selection of CD's and books. A separate walk in closet was nice, as was the entrance, where you could hang up coats etc. The breakfasts really were outstanding, with a huge selection of fresh, organic food, and eggs to order. It was very busy when we were there, and so it was sometimes difficult to find a table, and the staff were very busy. The little snack bar was nice and relaxing - we twice had a small meal there in the evenings, after a busy day of sightseeing. The menu is limited, but food very good. I really enjoyed the goulash soup. We found the receptionist a bit cold and not overly helpful, when asked for advice. Everything else about the hotel was outstanding, and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

My wife and I visited Hotel Auersperg in September 2013 and finally got around to posting the review. It is a very nice hotel in a secluded part of Salzburg. Although it may be walking distance from the main train station as others have noted, for us it was too far with large luggage.

Although it rained most of our time in Salzburg (3 days), the hotel has a nice garden, very tranquil. If the weather was better it would have been a great spot to have a drink or tea. The breakfast is great with plenty of healthy options and eggs cooked to order. It never felt busy, and the service each day was always great.

The room, suite we had was comfortable, clean, and modern. Spacious in my opinion for European standards. Only issue is the bathroom is kind of small and the shower tends to wet the entire floor. There is an espresso machine and a kettle and they always left water each day.

The atmosphere is very soothing, the staff was friendly, and the location was great for us. If in Salzburg again, we would not think of staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I tried to decide how to rank this hotel. My wife gave it 5 stars. I had an issue booking the room and the person checking us in did not show where the room was but a manager saw us wandering the halls with very heavy bags, showed us our room (apologized) and from that moment we had a great time. The rooms are nice and clean. The breakfast as everyone else stated is very good. The hotel has parking. However, the hotel is a couple of blocks from the center and the old town, but we are walkers and did not mind the extra couple of blocks of walking. I can't wait to revisit in the Spring or summer and enjoy the garden and the bikes. Salzburg is a great city and we enjoyed the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the garden and away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We were a family of 6 adults traveling from Australia for Christmas.
We found Hotel Auersperg a great little hotel close to the city center about a 10 minute walk .
We had two double rooms with a single bed in each. The extra beds were a proper bed not a roll away and were very comfortable. The breakfast was outstanding probably the best we experienced during our trip of Europe. The front of the desk staff were very helpful.
We had drinks each night in the bar downstairs the service was a little slow and snacks were limited however a very pleasant spot to sit after a long day of exploring the city of Vienna.
I would highly recommend the hotel if you want to be away from the hustle and bustle of central Salzburg.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Auersperg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Auersperg

Address: Auerspergstrasse 61, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Golden Tulip Hotel Auersperg)
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#6 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#7 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#7 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Auersperg 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refreshing energy, perfect service and contemporary elegance in an old Salzburg villa: the Auersperg is the ideal hideaway for a wonderful weekend in the city of Mozart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Otel, Escapio, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Auersperg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Villa Auersperg
Auersperg Hotel Salzburg
Golden Tulip Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Auersperg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.