We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spoiled Ourselves” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Auersperg

Save Saved
You added Hotel Auersperg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Auersperg
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Auerspergstrasse 61, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Golden Tulip Hotel Auersperg)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 135 hotels in Salzburg
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Spoiled Ourselves”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

In the 17 years we have been together my partner has always wanted to come to Salzburg and do the Sound of Music Tour, so I decided lets spoil ourselves and stay at a nice hotel.
We both loved Hotel Auersperg from the moment we walked in the door, the big reception area, the brightly colored breakfast area the garden and outdoor area and there was a lift (so no lugging heavy bags up the stairs), and our room was so spacious and clean and light, we had windows that opened out to the front of the hotel which kept our room warm in afternoon when outside was getting a bit chilly, there was a mini bar and room service.
Don't get me wrong there were a few negative things about Hotel Auersperg, firstly in the room the fan did not work in the bathroom so got very steamy after a shower (we told reception and was told "it should work" it didn't for the 3 days we were there, the bath is a bit awkward to get in and out of as it's very high and the shower and taps are half way down the bath. In the hotel itself the only negative were the staff, the older lady on reception treated us like we should be greatful she was talking to us, she was rude and arrogant and could learn from the younger ladies there how to treat paying guests, my biggest issue was because I do not overdress I was treated differently wearing my shorts and hoodie, to when I got dressed up to go to dinner,
The barman took a little while to get to know us and by the last day was very helpful and friendly.
Don't get me wrong I would stay here again if we were lucky enough to get back to Salzburg, We gave Hotel Auersperg 5 stars because we did not want to leave.
My only regret is I didn't get up to the spa.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    371
    128
    20
    15
    2
See reviews for
106
213
17
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Villa side rooms were very nice and fresh. Sauna department/garden on the roof amazing! Breakfast was very good quality, big and tasty, favourites were the freshly pressed beetroot-apple-sellery-juice and salmon... Friendly staff everywhere, and the breakfast guy was very effective :) Location good, a little walk to attractions.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Loved our stay in this hotel, stayed in the Villa side of the hotel, onsite parking is very convenient and one of the nicest breakfasts of our holiday. Nicely appointed rooms, great bathrooms and friendly and efficient staff. Not far to walk to the centre of Salzburg and nice and quiet so a good sleep is possible.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

After traveling through 3 countries and receiving warm greetings at each hotel we were terribly disappointed in our check-in and reception at the villa and hotel. The young woman at registration barely picked up her head when she handed us our key, which turned out to be to a wrong room. After lugging our suitcases and finding the key didn't work we had to find the clerk again and ask her for help. The hotel was clean but our room had a stained couch and so were the rugs in the hall. After flying and then driving several hours we were excited to arrive but were sadly disapointed that no one cared that we chose their hotel. We had made dinner reservations with the help of the hotel prior to arriving but were not given help to locate these. The bed was adequately comfortable but the street noise and warm room did not allow for a very good night sleep. On the positive side the bathroom had a heated floor and the organic food was delicious The spa photos are misleading. Overall I think our disappointment was in the lack of helpfulness and the misrepresentation of personal service. I think this hotel should work to train their employees better. We chose to check out early and find another hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The Auersperg is a well appointed, comfortable hotel within easy walking distance of the historic centre of Salzburg, a range of passable restaurants and public transport. It also has onsite parking. The staff are friendly and efficient and the service is excellent. Our double room in the adjacent Villa, was well equipped and appointed, quiet, of a reasonable size, had a very comfortable bed, a mini bar and a bathroom with a bath. The breakfast was good, a well stocked continental buffet, cereals, porridge, breads, boiled eggs and bacon and eggs to order. The bar provides afternoon tea and cake as well as a range of cooked snacks. The house red wine is very good. The wifi is free and the hotel has computer facilities for guests use. The only drawback is that it is quite expensive - partly due to the £/euro exchange rate.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for one night on our bike trip from Munich to Salzburg to Geneva in late August 2013. We loved it. The hotel is close to the center so we could walk to dinner and the river; the rooms are large (we were in the villa building) and really nice with big new bathrooms with over-sized showers. The breakfast in the morning was gorgeous and just what we needed to get us on the road to Innsbruck. We'll be back to Salzburg someday soon and we'll stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAMMAM, SAUDI ARABIA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I enjoyed with my family 3 days Stay in the Hotel
+ves:
- Front Disk (Fast Check in, and out) (Helpful)
- Cleanliness
- Room Service, and Housekeeping.
-ves:
- Location is a little bit far from the downtown, about 20 to 30 minutes walk, and 10 minutes by bus.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Auersperg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Auersperg

Also Known As:
Hotel And Villa Auersperg
Auersperg Hotel Salzburg
Golden Tulip Salzburg
Address: Auerspergstrasse 61, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Golden Tulip Hotel Auersperg)
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#4 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Auersperg 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refreshing energy, perfect service and contemporary elegance in an old Salzburg villa: the Auersperg is the ideal hideaway for a wonderful weekend in the city of Mozart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Escapio, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Hotel Auersperg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Auersperg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.