We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Auersperg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Auersperg to your Saves list
Hotel Auersperg
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Auerspergstrasse 61, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Golden Tulip Hotel Auersperg)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 135 Hotels in Salzburg
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Superb Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

If you are looking for a family operated boutique hotel with all the comforts of a large chain hotel, then look no further. Staff are very friendly and are keen to assist you to make your stay most enjoyable. Great attention to the small things. Hotel has a great outdoor garden. Is well located within a short easy walk to the old town, but away from the busy streets. We met Bettina, one of the owners over breakfast and shared our stories.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    146
    24
    18
    3
See reviews for
136
244
21
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Europe & Asia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Check in and welcome: My husband arrived at the hotel at 10am, a while before the ordinary check in time; he was welcomed very friendly and could move into our room after having a coffee (20 minutes), which was really great.
Room: Has been updated with design furniture, great colors, very tasteful and elegant; Mattress was very hard, but sheet and linens were great; unfortunately there was no body lotion in the bathroom, we asked the house keeping for one, but it never arrived in our room; Our room was towards the street, so there was noise during night, when the windows were opened.
Breakfast: Recently lots of high end hotels save on their breakfast menu, but this hotel is really an exception. Great quality and variety, lots of organic food (the vanilla sheep yoghurt was really great), excellent cheeses and breads, home made fruit salad and drinks, ... The staff is also exceptionally friendly.
Resume: When going to Salzburg, this is the place to stay. We will definitely come again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the inner courtyard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We spent one night at Hotel Auersperg - stopping over on our car trip from Munich to Vienna. We found the hotel delightful. Don't expect a 5 star room. The rooms are comfortable, big and have everything you need. The bathrooms are nice and large with lots of storage space if you are staying longer. Downstairs off the lobby is a wonderful bar and restaurant. Both have all the cosiness you expect in a small hotel with wonderfully warm and friendly staff. The waitress at the bar suggested we go to a local tavern for dinner, which we did, and it was just wonderful and it was great to go and eat where the locals eat, rather than a tourist restaurant. The reason we went out is that the hotel restaurant does not serve dinner, however, light meals are available at all times in the bar. Breakfast is included with the room rate and what a great breakfast it was. Lots of healthy local foods with fresh made juices, eggs cooked to order and the best yoghurt I've ever eaten. Drink prices and light snack prices at the bar are very reasonable. Car parking is complimentary in the hotel's carpark which has security gates.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We absolutely loved this hotel. The staff was very friendly and professional. We were warmly welcomed by the staff and they seemed genuinely happy to see us. Which was amazing since we looked like a complete mess after our planes, trains and automobiles experience in 90+ degree heat (I think that is something like 35 degrees for my European friends).

Nonetheless, we immediately felt relaxed and happy with our choice. We stayed in the Villa and the accommodations were beautiful. Our room was spacious and efficiently organized. The only issue was there was no soap in the bathroom and believe me I needed a shower. The rooms lack air conditioning and were very hot. More on that later.

The hotel is located in a safe residential area and is a couple blocks away from the main tourist area. It is a very easy walk to dining and entertainment. There is a café and market nearby for any items that a traveler may have forgotten. The train station is also walkable if need be.

After a night of joyful festivities, we walked back to the hotel and enjoyed the quiet calm of the area. The room was still very hot so I needed a cold shower prior to bed. A fan was provided by the hotel which helped a little bit but I still woke up a little grouchy and sweaty. Back in the cold shower I go. A full continental breakfast was included in our rate and it was wonderful. The shady garden setting was perfect. I immediately forgot about the heat and was back to feeling like I was home. Everything was so fresh and delicious. Eggs were made to order and spot on. Again the staff was so welcoming and friendly. A very pleasant experience for sure.

There is a rumor the hotel will get A/C, and if true, there is no other place to stay in Salzburg for a quiet and relaxing vacation. The staff here is first class all the way. Thank you all.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the Villa. Book early (like Jan/February) if traveling in August. Salzburg Music Fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Initially concerned because this hotel wasn't in the center of everything, this turned out to be the best part. We loved that the hotel provided a respite from the crowds, but was easily within walking distance to all major sights.
The rooms are immaculate and spacious enough for a family of 4.
The breakfast was outstanding! You can't imagine all the different delicious choices.
The courtyard is a wonderful, peaceful place to decompress in the afternoon.
The staff was friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humlebaek
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The hotel is small enough to be cosy and big enough to provide all you need. Nice Nordic design atmosphere in the topquality rooms and a tempting breakfast buffet with lots of local biofood. Homemad end delicious. Try the "Guglhupf" - promise! The garden is simple like a private garden, but filled with comfy deckchairs and lots of candles in warm summernights, so you can rest outside with a glas of wine after a busy day in Salzburg.
Nice and friendly staff, free bikes for you to use and a great location at the rim of the city-action, so you have silent nights, especially if you aks for a gardenroom. Excellent Value for Money indeed.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden room. The street is not very busy, though, but the garden side is absolutely peacef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I was in Salzburg for 3 nights and really enjoyed staying in this hotel. I booked for a single room, but was given a double in the villa. The room included TV, DVD player (DVDs available at reception), guide to Austria. The room was clean, modern and pleasant to spend time in when, which is important for me as I was travelling alone. The staff at reception were very helpful, recommending places to walk (giving me maps) and also places nearby to eat.
One evening, I used the spa and was the only person there. The Spa is open (clear windows from showers and sauna so people in buildings opposite can see in), which I wasn't expecting, so if you are quite private, you may not like that. But honestly, it was beautiful, with free fruit and drinks and magazines. There was also a lovely view of the mountains.
The hotel is a short distance from the town centre, but it was just a pleasant walk. I had trouble finding a cash machine nearby, so make sure you get your money when you are in the town centre.
Absolutely recommened for anyone wanting a bit of luxury and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Villa room was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Auersperg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Auersperg

Address: Auerspergstrasse 61, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Golden Tulip Hotel Auersperg)
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#6 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#7 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Salzburg
#7 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#8 Business Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Auersperg 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refreshing energy, perfect service and contemporary elegance in an old Salzburg villa: the Auersperg is the ideal hideaway for a wonderful weekend in the city of Mozart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Otel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Escapio, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Auersperg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Villa Auersperg
Auersperg Hotel Salzburg
Golden Tulip Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Auersperg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;