We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience in a truly special hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Auersperg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Auersperg to your Saves list
Hotel Auersperg
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Auerspergstrasse 61, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Golden Tulip Hotel Auersperg)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Ireland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience in a truly special hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We are just returned from a two day visit to Salzburg where we stayed at the very special and lovely Hotel Auersperg. From the moment of our arrival all cares and concerns drifted away, and we were treated with great warmth, friendliness and helpfulness by all at the hotel. It was genuinely difficult to leave.

Salzburg is a beautiful small city that straddles the Salzach river. The abundance of Salz in names comes apparently from the association of the city with the nearby salt mines, but it is music, culture, and Mozart and the Sound of Music in particular that drives the city now. The Hotel Auersperg exhudes an air of calm in an already tranquil city. It is a short and pleasant walk to the old city, which my 81 year old mother managed with ease. On our first night we saw students waltzing for fun at traffic lights, and during our stay we found throughout Salzburg a feeling of good humour and well being. I have seldom if ever been in a city where everyone is so pleasant, mannered and good humoured.

Of our hosts at the hotel, Ann-Sophie deserves a special mention. We had many requests, tickets for a sound of music tour, restaurant recommendations, reservations, taxis, umbrellas, massages to be organised etc and all were arranged effortlessly with a smile, warmth, exacting precision and efficiency. Of note was my request for a restaurant recommendation on our first day. At first I was puzzled by the range of questions that I was asked, what type of food, what price range and so on, until I realized later that Salzburg has seemingly close to 250 eateries. Ann-Sophie's recommendations which we took on both of our two nights stay were absolutely exceptional. On our first night we ate at "Brunnauer im magasin". The restaurant is actually within a mountain, in an old magazine where presumably explosive was once stored. This meal was the highlight of our trip to Munich and Salzburg. The food was extraordinarily good, and the service wonderful from start to finish. We floated warmly from the restaurant that night with full bellies and light wine filled minds. On our second night we visited "Schloss Aigen" which is on the outskirts of the city, but well worth a visit. This provides a more traditional offering, though of equally outstanding food. The owner greeted us as we entered and waived us off as we left. I understand he goes to great lengths to source high quality ingredients and the tastes are wonderful. Again we were treated with great warmth and generosity (I was given seconds without asking).

Breakfast at the Hotel Auersperg was a lovely experience. The breakfast room is beautifully airy, bright and classical in style, and the selections of juices, cheeses, hams, breads and cereals are perfect. Eggs can be ordered if desired. The hotel (and there is also a Villa) wraps around a garden complete with fountain. Blessed with sunshine, an afternoon was spent in our room with the windows open to the garden as the sunshine slanted inwards and a light breeze drifted in. Listening to the sounds of water trickling and small bird song, reading and snoozing blended into one. Our room was expansive, really a small suite, with nice touches such as a Nespresso machine and music player with classical CDs provided. It was extremely clean and comfortable. As we were a party of three, we had two rooms identical in all respects, which were numbers 17 and 19 as I recall.

So it was with a little sadness that we left this lovely haven in a wonderful city, but we promised we would return, and while such promises are often made, on this occasion it will be kept. Thanks to all at the Hotel Auersperg for treating us so well, we hope to see you all again soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    154
    24
    18
    3
See reviews for
140
258
24
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
santa barbara
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel is very nice. The rooms are modern,comfortable and clean. The staff is friendly both at reception and for breakfast. Speaking of breakfast, it is great, with fresh bread and fruit salad, organic yogurts and müsli. The wellness area with sauna and steam room is also wonderful and very clean, I especially liked the terrace on the roof.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

A short and pleasant walk to the centre of town, then over the bridge to the old town. Hotel is stunning and modern with the most comfortable beds ever. Breakfast is fresh, organic, continental. Good value for money.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We booked to stay here for Christmas after reading the TripAdvisor reviews. Hotel is situated in nice and quit area within walking distance of nearly everything. We had a superior double room with a balcony and a nice view of the mountains. The breakfast was delightful with wide choice of muesli, cereals, bread, cheeses, cold and hot meats and sausages, fruit, etc. What a nice way to start your morning before exploring the city of Salzburg! The spa is not to be missed! It’s located on the second floor, has excellent facilities and a nice view of the mountains from the terrace. The staff are attentive and helpful. Excellent service! We’d stay here again without any doubt.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We (three adults) stayed in a room in the Villa which is immediately next door to the hotel. It has modern fixtures and fittings, the rooms are spacious and bright and everything works, with one exception, being the wifi. At times it was difficult to make a connection and only worked in certain corners of the room, although once connected properly it remained reasonably quick and stable. Breakfast was a very good range of food. All of the employees were very helpful and friendly. The bathroom was spacious and well fitted out with a good shower head.

It's a short walk to most main attractions (5-15 minutes).

Our main complaint was the quality of the single bed made from the couch for the third adult. Whilst the main queen size bed was very comfortable, the single bed was very hard and uncomfortable. I would only recommend this room for two adults maximum.

We did not get to use the steam room (not a spa) and sauna.

A Nespresso is available in the room at a cost of 1.50 Euro a capsule.

Also, most stores and many restaurants in Strazburg are not open between midday on Saturday until Monday morning, so plan around this.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Wonderful all around. Great staff, spacious room, fabulous breakfast, and a super staff. Only there for one night, but loved every minute. They also graciously kept our luggage after checkout so we could enjoy the day before our train was leaving. Great place!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We didn't care much for Salzburg the city as a tourist but enjoyed our brief stay at the Auersperg and recommend the same highly. I will encapsulate as follows -

- We were a family of 4 (children 9,5) and payed Euro 245 inclusive of taxes and breakfast. Parking was Euro 12 extra.
- Rooms - we had a nice family room which was reasonably sized and was modern and newly done up with a nice cherry veneer everywhere. The room was on the top floor and hence we had a good view outside. It was also very well accessorized with a nice heritage floor fan, lamps and a beautiful desk.
- It had a DVD player and the hotel had a DVD collection which kept the kids busy with DVDS that they wanted to watch.
- Had 2 nice shower and bathroom areas with an excellent choice of toiletries.
- The breakfast was very nice - lots of fresh fruits, yogurt, jams, breads, cheeses and more, A very vast selection to chose from - all set up in nice cutlery - very away from the regular chain hotel set up. You also had a choice to sit indoors and eat or eat in the patio overlooking the garden.
- Its a 10 minute walk to the old city but away from any noise as its on a side road and not on the main road where there could be traffic noises.

Its a pity we didnt like the city of Salzburg as tourists but this is a nice hotel to stop by in when in Salzburg.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Auersperg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Auersperg

Address: Auerspergstrasse 61, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Golden Tulip Hotel Auersperg)
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#4 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#7 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#7 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Auersperg 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refreshing energy, perfect service and contemporary elegance in an old Salzburg villa: the Auersperg is the ideal hideaway for a wonderful weekend in the city of Mozart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Escapio, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Auersperg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Villa Auersperg
Auersperg Hotel Salzburg
Golden Tulip Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Auersperg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.