We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As every Year - an excellent stay !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Auersperg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Auersperg to your Saves list
Hotel Auersperg
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Auerspergstrasse 61, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Golden Tulip Hotel Auersperg)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 136 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
vienna
Level Contributor
91 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“As every Year - an excellent stay !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Biohotel Auersperg - a New Direction ,of the oqners and the Team, iis going more healthy into the Future.the Auersperg had improved over the years its Infrastructure,(the parking, and the nice gardens),the rooms have been completely renovated in the Villa and Hotel.the breakfast ,which allways had been great,has been upgraded with Ayurvedic warm breakfast meals. All the Ingrediens and foods which are used for the breakfast are sourced locally from quality Producers .
What I really Love here are the wonderfull linnens and the nice eiderdown quilts.
The best of the Hotel are the wonderfull Employees and the Perfect Service !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    187
    26
    19
    4
See reviews for
174
324
25
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We had a shockingly terrible experience with a front desk staff member. We asked her to book dinner at a restaurant. She said that the restaurant was closed and booked another restaurant for us. After some brief online research we realized that the restaurant she recommended had received horrible reviews. We called back within 5 minutes and requested nicely that she cancel that reservation for us, as we could not do so ourselves. Her response was that of utter disgust. She scoffed, "The restaurant won't be happy and I don't like to cancel reservations."

Baffled that we were paying almost US$300 a night to be treated like dirt, we went downstairs to talk to her in person. We specified that her mistake was telling us that she did not like to cancel reservations and hesitating to cancel the reservation that we had not chosen. We further explained that while she is of course entitled to her opinion, it is not necessary for her to convey that to a paying guest, because it is rude and unseemly. Her emotional response was thinly veiled; her eyes rolled back and she finally blamed it on us being American. This cop-out argument ended shortly as the phone rang and she decided to answer it while we were talking to her. The entire time, there was nary a mention of "sorry."

The lack of service and courtesy extends to the kitchen. On the first and second mornings, they offered cut grapefruit. On our third and final morning, we realized that there was no grapefruit out and we asked if we could have some grapefruit. The waitress's response was, "If we have any in the back," as if she were doing her paying guests a massive favor by scouring the kitchen for fruit that they had been offering every morning we were there.

We have both traveled extensively and one of us has actually lived in Italy. We have never experienced this level of rudeness anywhere else in the world. We also stayed in other places around Austria and did not experience such rude behavior.

If you are in Salzburg, take your money elsewhere. The rooms are on the lower end of the four-star scale and certainly not nice enough to redeem any potential rudeness you might face. Also, the wi-fi is very shoddy and you are lucky to get more than five minutes of continuous use at any given time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We spent a very enjoyable 3 night's at the Auersperg just after Christmas. We stayed in one of the Villa rooms which proved to be very comfortable with plenty of storage space and an excellent bathroom. Breakfasts are superb. The Sauna and Steambath facilities are highly recommended after a day's sightseeing. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed here with our two boys between Christmas and New Year's, based on solid Trip Advisor reviews. Hotel Auersperg is in a great location - a nice 10 minute walk to Old Town and most major sites in town. Villa rooms are swankier but we liked our room in the hotel just fine - especially for the value price. Our room was attractive, clean and spacious with windows that opened for a peek at the mountains. The bathroom was also nice and a good size. Plenty of closet space and shelves for storage. Several hooks for our winter coats were a nice touch. Beds and linens were super comfortable. Breakfast was good and served in a nice window-lined room. We enjoyed late evenings in the cool, small lobby bar, where even our kids felt quite welcome to enjoy massive mugs of hot chocolate. We appreciated the golf umbrellas on rainy days and the free DVD library that kept our boys from getting restless while my husband and I rested up between site-seeing. Kind of wish we stayed longer to enjoy the spa and that the weather would have allowed us to enjoy the nice courtyard garden. The staff were the friendliest and most helpful we encountered during our two weeks in Austria. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

New Year seems to be a pretty expensive time to stay in Salzburg. Therefore we were pleased to find the Auersperg and book a Villa Superior Room for just EUR 215 a night (incl. breakfast). The hotel proved out to be a true gem.

The Room - First of all, please do book a room from the Villa. We did not get a look at the hotel rooms, but at least judging by the pictures, they are nowhere near the Villa rooms. Our room (# 223, 3rd floor) was very spacious and had a separate walk-in closet. The decoration was very modern and stylish with e.g. wooden floors, a leathery BKF chair and comfortable bed. Also there were Tivoli Audio, books and cd's available. The bathroom was equipped with floorheating and a rain shower. The Villa has no separate reception, but it is more like a regular (but very stylish) apartment building. We felt really at home, like we were living in Salzburg. A minor letdown was that there is a Nespresso machine in the room but they charge you EUR 1.50 for the capsules.

The Location - Although the Auersperg's location is not as central as with some other hotels in the city, everything is just a short walk away. One of the main shopping areas, Linzergasse, is a couple of blocks away, and it takes just approx. 10 minutes to walk to the Aldstadt. Also the Hauptbahnhof can easily be reached by foot, although you can also take the bus.

The Breakfast - The breakfast area is charming, with views to the street and the garden. The breakfast itself is very extensive with different kinds of breads, sausages, cheeses, pastries, fruit etc. Eggs are made to order. On the New Years Day the breakfast was extended to 1 pm and they had also wonderful prosecco available.

All in all, the Auersperg is a good option to all of those Altstadt hotels and can truly be recommended to anyone staying in Salzburg.

Room Tip: Book a room from the Villa and you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

First thing you need to know is that if you can not get a room in the 'Villa' you will probably be underwhelmed with the 'Hotel' rooms. We booked a superior room in the Villa which they double booked us for so offered us a Superior room in the Hotel ... not nice. Plastic fake floating floors, tiny 70's bathroom, poor quality furnishings, not at all what we expected. When we insisted on something in the villa we were offered a downgrade to a double which in actual fact was an upgrade as the room was significantly better. Wooden floating floors, modern bathroom, great sofa, funky coffee table ... overall fantastic for EU165

The breakfast is of great quality with gluten free and lactose free options available as part of the normal spread (worth noting as this is the first time I have seen this in Europe). Coffee and Eggs are made to order and there are about a dozen different bread choices with a wide variety of toppings and condiments.

The location is great just out of old town (which keeps the price down) but still only a 10-15 min walk to any where you would want to be at night.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the Hotel Rooms. We were put in the top level hotel room and it did not come...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Rooms were clean and spacious, beds comfortable. The lobby was warm and inviting and the hotel staff was friendly, and on a particularly rainy evening we enjoyed the free DVDs available from the small hotel library. The breakfast buffet was very nice and included a large selection of high-quality items in a well-appointed breakfast room. The hotel is in a great location as it is a short taxi ride from the train station and within a 10-minute walk of the main old town attractions.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#5 of 136 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 910 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
#1 of 136 in Salzburg
5.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Wolf-Dietrich
Hotel Wolf-Dietrich
#20 of 136 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
#7 of 136 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 501 reviews
0.6 mi away
Art Hotel Blaue Gans
Art Hotel Blaue Gans
#9 of 136 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 337 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Auersperg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Auersperg

Address: Auerspergstrasse 61, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Golden Tulip Hotel Auersperg)
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#3 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#6 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Auersperg 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refreshing energy, perfect service and contemporary elegance in an old Salzburg villa: the Auersperg is the ideal hideaway for a wonderful weekend in the city of Mozart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Auersperg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Villa Auersperg
Auersperg Hotel Salzburg
Golden Tulip Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Auersperg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.