We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb place to stay with your dog” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Auersperg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Auersperg to your Saves list
Hotel Auersperg
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Auerspergstrasse 61, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Golden Tulip Hotel Auersperg)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Longmont, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Superb place to stay with your dog”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

This place is wonderful. The staff were excellent and very helpful to our needs. Booked in advance and told them we were coming with our Jack Russell, Thor. When we came into our room there was a dog bowl, bed, and some towels waiting for him. Our room had a very nice balcony overlooking the garden. We were there after Christmas so could not use the balcony, but we will hopefully return someday in Spring or early Fall to enjoy Auersperg again. The hotel is within about 10 minutes easy walk from The Old City Center. An easy walk from the train station as well. Breakfast buffet was very very good with plenty of choices. We highly recommend this place to anyone coming to beautiful Salzburg.

Room Tip: Get one with a balcony overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    148
    24
    18
    3
See reviews for
136
250
22
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Needed a hotel before a flight home Sunday morning and glad we chose this one - staff were very helpful when we arrived early, looked after our bags while we went out and had taken them to the room for us by the time we returned from walking around Salzburg. The old city is a fair walk away (10-15 minutes depending on your speed !) and there are not too many obvious nearby restaurants but the hotel itself more than compensates. There is a small but cosy rooftop Sauna area (with good views) open from 5 to 10, the bed itself was very comfortable and the superb breakfast next morning would be hard to fault - huge selection of breads cheeses meats fruit juices etc etc. Even the taxi ordered for us by the hotel was there in minutes. First rate. We will be making this our no.1 venue to stay when next in Salzburg.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yoho National Park, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Simply Excellent for the three nights we were there.
We stayed on a B&B basis.
The breakfast was excellent. Even the coffee was great. The service was excellent.
The room was a little dated but spotlesses clean. The bathroom was brand new and perfectly functional.
We stayed in the old villa which we loved.
It was just far enough to be right on the edge of the hustle and bustle.
There are a few restaurants near by. Our first night we tried The Weiss, a two minute walk away. It is a brewery with a restaurant on sight. Excellent beer and excellent food. The place was packed on a Wednesday night; a sure testament to its quality.
We will stay here again and would recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: Try the back of the hotel for a little quieter room if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights in early December for the Christmas markets. Fantastic city and hotel was brilliant- very friendly, welcoming and clean. Rooms were spacious and comfortable. Free use of internet and computer making it easy to print boarding passes for flight home.Roof top sauna very relaxing. Bar offered free gluhwien for an hour each evening. Breakfast was just amazing- a buffet of cereal,fruit,cheeses, cold meats etc.
Would definately return here, like to come back in summer.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

A gem tucked away from the hustle bustle but easy walking distance to old town....great for burning calories from the munching at the Christmas Markets!! Staff could not have been nicer.The champagne toast around the Christmas tree with real candles was totally unexpected and set the tone for the evening.I can't think of anything to complain about!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

This hotel is near enough to eveything, but peacefully situated. The rooms were comfortable, warm, clean with generous bathrooms and good storage. Stylish television and blu-ray player and Muji music player on the wall. Library of dvds etc downstairs.
Upstairs is a spa which seemed unused except by us, with a delicious steam room and sauna, showers and beds. Apparently as a rooftop facility, it is open to the skies in summer.
The breakfast offered a tasty and generous range of foods - I enjoyed the smoked salmon and prosecco. The bar was open till late.
Lots of nice touches - organic apples arranged in bowls on each floor to be taken and enjoyed. Notes explaining what was happening in town. A Christmas Eve reception with gifts for each room.
The staff were amazing helpful and very fluent. This came as part of a tour we booked, but I would go back instantly!!!

I didnt like the lampshades - but that's probably just me!!

Room Tip: Both our rooms, on 1st and 3rd floor were peaceful and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

My family and I stayed at Hotel Auersperg over the Christmas holidays and couldn't have had a more pleasant stay. We especially loved the tree lighting and champagne toast they held in the lobby on Christmas Eve. It was a very nice, unexpected gesture that set the tone for the rest of our stay at the hotel. Here are the highlights:

+ extremely friendly, knowledgeable staff who accommodated all of our requests
+ delicious breakfast spread which included gluten free bread, soy milk, and a few other alternative options; plus, you could order eggs w/bacon, ham, etc. if you wanted them
+ nice bar with fun reading materials (interesting coffee table books, guide books, etc.) and quality music (no elevator music!); bar was also open late and offered free hot wine and punch in the evenings
+ spacious room (just the right amount of furniture and great luggage storage space) with good lighting (lots of sunlight through the windows and well placed lamps)
+ hard, but comfortable mattresses with not one, but two pillows per person
+ great shower that didn't get water all over the bathroom floor
+ nice bath products, especially the rose scented bath salts
+ relaxing spa area with steam room and sauna plus chaise lounges with complimentary water, tea, and fruit (such a nice perk!!!); great for the $$$
+ good location--far away from any tourist areas, but not so far that you can't walk to the old town

- you can't walk between the hotel and the train station easily especially if you have lots of luggage, but there are buses and taxis
- spa hours aren't long enough; wish the spa were open a bit earlier

Room Tip: Garden view is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Auersperg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Auersperg

Address: Auerspergstrasse 61, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Golden Tulip Hotel Auersperg)
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#6 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#7 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#7 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Auersperg 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refreshing energy, perfect service and contemporary elegance in an old Salzburg villa: the Auersperg is the ideal hideaway for a wonderful weekend in the city of Mozart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Otel, Escapio, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Auersperg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Villa Auersperg
Auersperg Hotel Salzburg
Golden Tulip Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Auersperg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.