We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Europe feel at a great price and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bristol Hotel Salzburg

Save Saved
You added Bristol Hotel Salzburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Makartplatz 4, Salzburg 5024, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 135 hotels in Salzburg
Texas
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Old Europe feel at a great price and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

We stayed here for two nights. Great location across the river from the shops on Salzburg. Salzburg is VERY walkable....so don't worry that it is across the river from the main shopping and dining area. Next to the beautiful park where "Sound of music" was filmed. Clean, comfortable, and the staff spoke English well. Rooms are large for a older European Hotel. I think this was once a very nice hotel...it has a very old elevator (slow, but adds to the ambiance of the facility), but take the stairs at least once...great staircase too. Sitting area in the bar is wonderful for a drink after a walk around the city.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    292
    68
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
66
199
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2009

We are an Australian family who have recently returned from a six week holiday in England and Europe. Our 3 night stay in Salzburg at the Bristol Hotel was definitely one of the highlights of our trip. The hotel is beautifully maintained and clean. The staff are very friendly, happy to speak English and very efficient. The location is excellent and hearing the church bells ringing just added to the atmosphere! The breakfasts were delicious.

  • Liked — Spacious, clean and decorated to suit the age of the hotel
  • Disliked — Couldn't fault it
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2008

We found this hotel to be in an excellent location.

The staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

Our room was on the top floor commanding an excellent view of the Fortress and the square below on one side and on the opposite side the Mirabell Gardens.

Our room was large and very well appointed with a comfortable bed and also it had an excellent bathroom.

Breakfast was well catered in a fine dining room.

I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2008

I had a very happy stay at the Bristol with an English group. Everything about it was excellent - food, rooms, service, Madame.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2008

We loved this hotel. The room was beautiful with a view over the square. Hotel was spotlessley clean. Breakfast was delicious. Staff were very friendly and very efficient great location for the old town and Mirabell Gardens. Would deffinately recommend for a short break away x

  • Liked — The Location and quality
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2008

The corridors might be a bit worn, but we stayed in a beautifully furnished large room, which looked out, over well tended geranium boxes, through double french doors, onto the life and colour of Markatplatz. with Mozarts Wohnhouse directly across the little park, a beautiful domed church, and every now and again horse drawn carriages carrying tourists along the street below. It really was romantic, beautifully appointed, and a marvellous location to explore all of Salzburg on foot. The breakfast was wonderful. IT is a family run hotel, and we felt very personally valued there. All of the staff were lovely. Only two quibbles. THe restaurant isn't my first choice for dinner, the food was a bit too pricey and overcooked. There are heaps better restaurants a 5 minute beautiful walk across the river in the main old town. The other was lack of parking. We parked about 800 meters away, which is a long bag carry, but they have more expensive (30 euro per night) slightly closer car park for valet parking only if you wish. A small quibble though, for a wonderful experience.

  • Liked — atomsphere and location
  • Disliked — evening meal in restaurant was only fair
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2008

I was expecting a really nice hotel after reading the previous reviews, but I was disappointed. It is an old hotel which is fine by me, but it had a very tired and worn appearance to it. Our room was especially dilapidated. The carpet was old and stained. The furniture was also old and beat up. I also felt that the room could have been cleaner. There was dust caked onto the AC unit and dust in the crevices of our headboard. Speaking of the AC, it struggled to properly cool the room. We did have a nice location on the top floor with a great view out the front. The bathroom was average, not exceptional and needed some minor repair work. The dining room was also dated. The breakfast was okay. Car park is on the street out front, but at least it was free. The best part of the hotel was its staff. The doorman, front desk, and restaurant staff were professional and helpful. The location of the hotel was also quite convenient. Some major remodelling would make this historic hotel shine like a star.

  • Liked — Location and staff
  • Disliked — Room condition
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bristol Hotel Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Hotel Salzburg

Also Known As:
Salzburg Bristol Hotel
Address: Makartplatz 4, Salzburg 5024, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#3 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#5 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bristol Hotel Salzburg 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Bristol Hotel Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bristol Hotel Salzburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.